AJ Frost's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Beat Reviews: 39
7.1Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) Annual #42

Feb 14, 2018

For all my skepticism going into the book, I was quite surprised that I finished it invested in the overall story. I think a STRONG BROWSE is appropriate here. Comics fans should read the book. And with the Dan Slott-era of Spider-Man coming to a close, every new release is an opportunity to examine his work with fresh eyes and open thoughts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2018) #1

Jul 11, 2018

This is the Peter readers know and love, and even though he's facing new existential crises, this looks like a step in a good direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
America #1

Mar 1, 2017

It is admirable that Marvel is demarcating their dedication to expanding the range of their characters' identities (at least in their books. Movies are another situation). No longer is every superhero a white, cisgendered person in tight spandex. Superheroes are now reflections of a culture that is coming around the notion that virtuous people don't have to fill some pre- fabricated mold. America #1 is a testament to Marvel's role as an ink-and- paper leader for diversity in action!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Asgardians of the Galaxy #1

Sep 5, 2018

There are many individuals pieces of this book that work well, but there's just that one piece that keeps it from being a buy. Maybe future installments will change my mind, but I feel that readers who are looking for mythological/fantasy stew will find something decent in this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers (2018) #8

Sep 19, 2018

This is a great crossover book that will appeal to casual Marvel fans and regular readers alike. Not too serious, but not fluff either. It strikes the perfect balance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Conan the Barbarian (2019) #1

Jan 2, 2019

I really enjoyed the issue and thought this was a solid re-introduction to the world of Conan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Damnation: Johnny Blaze - Ghost Rider #1

Mar 28, 2018

Damnation: Johnny Blaze - Ghost Rider #1 is a tie-in that works in the all the best ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Daredevil (2015) #600

Mar 28, 2018

There's some good art and some nice running dialogue, even though the story as a whole didn't coalesce.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Darkhawk (2017) #51

Nov 30, 2017

This issue certainly lays out the most compelling case for continuing the storyline, even if its just to finish off the run. But yeah, Darkhawk is most deserving of a follow-up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadpool (2018) #1

Jun 6, 2018

Perfectly accessible to veteran readers and newcomers fresh from Deadpool 2, the Merc with the Mouth is in tip-top form here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Friendly Neighborhood Spider-Man (2019) #1

Jan 9, 2019

I really was caught up in this book, and despite its flaws, I think it displays Spider-Man at his best.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #600

May 23, 2018

This is Bendis, this is a big issue, and it's an important piece of Marvel publishing history for better or worse. I think readers should check it out if it piques their interest.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ironheart #1

Nov 28, 2018

I'll go back to my feeling that the idea of Ironheart has been more important than the execution. Maybe this issue is just a testing ground before Ewing gets a better sense of the character and takes her to fantastic new heights.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Journey Into Mystery: The Birth Of Krakoa #1

Sep 12, 2018

Take your mind off the stresses of the world and enjoy a good ol' fashioned adventure story!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Man-Thing (2017) #1

Mar 8, 2017

Even though I was never into Stine's literary oeuvre when I was growing up, I'm glad a gave this comic a chance. It's setting up for something interesting, but it just lacks a certain je ne sais quoi. All the cards are there, but it needs to show more of its hand.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Marvel Comics Presents (2019) #1

Jan 16, 2019

All around, this is a fantastic issue to pick up if you're curious about Marvel's unique brand of storytelling. There's no prior continuity to really have a grasp of.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Marvel Rising: Alpha #1

Jun 13, 2018

While the philosophy and heart behind the book are in the right place, the execution leaves a lot to be desired.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Miles Morales: Spider-Man (2018) #1

Dec 12, 2018

This is something you can throw to newcomers to learn what Miles as Spider-Man is all about, but if you've already invested any time with the character, you'll be bored outta your gourd!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #27

Feb 14, 2018

Ms. Marvel continues to be one of the most fun and enjoyable reading experiences on the comics scene today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Multiple Man (2018) #1

Jun 27, 2018

This is an off-kilter story with a lot of heart, and it's complemented by the fantastic artwork. It's a whole lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #50

Oct 31, 2018

Great mix of big action and some quieter moments, but the highlights were all in the splash pages. What this book lacks in substance, it definitely has in machismo.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man #310

Sep 26, 2018

An elegant recap of what makes Spider-Man special in the hearts of many comic book fans old and young.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sentry (2018) #1

Jun 27, 2018

I don't think it is Jeff Lemire's best work, nor is it his worst. Readers should check it out and decide for themselves.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Shatterstar #1

Oct 3, 2018

A modest book that plays against type for some surprising emotional depth. I ended up enjoying it a lot.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Shuri (2018) #1

Oct 17, 2018

I really, really wanted to love this comic and share it's greatness with the world. But, in the end, it was underwhelming and didn't live up to its potential" at least for now.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Spider-Geddon #0

Sep 26, 2018

Fans of the video game who want to explore more of what the Spidey universe looks like in its native habitat will definitely enjoy this issue; it's the perfect bridge. At the same time, the story, while straightforward, is intriguing enough to make fans of the characters pick up the book and give it some attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Man (2016) Annual #1

Aug 8, 2018

Oversized and worth every penny, this annual issue is a worthy addition to the already vast pantheon of great Spidey stories, and it does it in its own unique way.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars (2014) #50

Jul 4, 2018

There is much to admire, but also much to critique strongly. If only the art was more up to snuff rather than simply adequate, this would be a stellar book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star Wars: Lando - Double Or Nothing #1

May 31, 2018

There's much to like here while also being aware of some of the finer points of the book may be lost on readers not familiar with the larger mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Best Defense: The Immortal Hulk #1

Dec 5, 2018

I was so surprised. This book was simply stunning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Life Of Captain Marvel #1

Jul 18, 2018

I'll give this one a BUY, just because it does set up Captain Marvel in a way where readers not familiar with her can have an accessible and solid story to begin with.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #31

Apr 11, 2018

I can't wait to see what's coming up with the creative team, and I'll wait impatiently to see what Erica has up her sleeve next!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Unstoppable Wasp (2018) #1

Oct 17, 2018

While it was definitely fun and light, it didn't grab my attention in a way that made me think it was significant.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Weapon H #1

Mar 21, 2018

Greg Pak's fun story and Cory Smith's blustering pencils combine to smash your preconceptions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Web Of Venom: Carnage Born #1

Nov 21, 2018

If a reader is totally into this part of the Spider-Verse, then I think this will be a welcome addition to the collection

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
West Coast Avengers (2018) #1

Aug 22, 2018

I had a great time reading it and, even though the ending was a bit wonky, am excited to see what the next installment of the tale has in store.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
X-Men: Black (2018): Mojo #1

Oct 10, 2018

I came into this issue with my mind open, but I can't give it a solid recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #30

Jun 20, 2018

This, in the end, is a BUY from me, but only because it stands out as a great single installment of an otherwise bland run. And even if readers are annoyed by the twist, the emotional stakes of this comic are top-notch, the writing goes beyond the norm, and the art is crisp and impactful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Grand Design - Second Genesis #1

Jul 25, 2018

Do yourself a favor and pick up this book. It will be the best decision you will make all week.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More