Alan Donald's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 15
7.6Avg. Review Rating

6
2000AD #1323

Jan 17, 2003

Slaine should need no introduction, the character has become part of comicbook lore. Slaine is a Celtic warrior king with the ability to warp spasm into an even fiercer warrior. Over the years Slaine has changed, as have the tales. I am not a fan of the current story line, I'm afraid. It seems to be a pure hack and slash fest. The art is glorious but...well perhaps I'm not being fair this isn't my favourite type of tale. Also I'm always remembering the Slaine I remember from the past. Many of the stories that Mill's has presented before have been magnificent, intelligent and bloody. We've walked through Celtic legends and glorious renditions of both battles and landscapes. This might appeal to you though so don't be put off by my review. I will wait for Mill's next offering which could well be another to whet my appetite.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
2000AD #1324

Jan 24, 2003

I think I said it all last week. This series continues to show the right mix of action and character development. This is a character and a writer that have really grown together. Great fun, great build up and we're left wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
2000AD #1341

May 21, 2003

I don't want to do any comichops out of business (most UK ones don't stock it as the newsagents do) but I heartily recommend Rebellion's subscription service as there's nowt as good as the feeling you get when you realise that in amongst the bills there lies your weekly dose of Thrill Power.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
2000AD #1351

Jul 30, 2003

Which brings us neatly to the last thrill in the ish, Strontium Dog. Great work here from John Wagner and Carlos Ezquerra. As always this is fast-paced with a high action quota. Not much I can say about Johnny and Wulf to be honest, this is a Stront tale in the finest tradition, great for new readers and old hands alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
2000AD #1352

Aug 14, 2003

View Issue       View Full Review
9
2000AD Extreme Edition #2

Dec 17, 2003

What we have, in short, is a collection of tales chronicling PJ Maybes life. Some are better than others but as a collection this is great and for just 3!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
2000AD Megazine #209

Jul 30, 2003

The final word goes to Gordon Rennie who saps his bile duct for our amusement. Little touches like this have really added to the latest incarnation of the Megazine and its a good read too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Judge Dredd Megazine #202

Jan 17, 2003

This is a one page quickie that very nicely introduces the characters and has a twist payoff at the end. Fun and amusing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Judge Dredd Megazine #210

Aug 27, 2003

All in all a good issue. I think that this is excellent value for money, you may not enjoy all that it has to offer but you should find more than enough to justify the cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Losers #4

Oct 9, 2003

Damn thats suckywho gives a shit, its what I feel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Megazine #204

Mar 18, 2003

There a quick overview and that's missing out a few sections too. A good read that should still be available in UK newsagents or globally at your comicshop via Diamond.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
New X-Men (2001) #138

Mar 18, 2003

We end with sex, passion and...well you go read it for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Punisher (2001) #21

Mar 18, 2003

This is a fun issue with a good running joke that leads to a satisfying conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Filth #13

Oct 9, 2003

Still dont have a fucking clue what any of it was about.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
X2 Prequels: Wolverine & Nightcrawler #1

Mar 18, 2003

All in all two good reads that'll hold off many a fan's desperate desire for the film for another week (either that or it'll make it worse). Enjoyable and entertaining.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More