Anelise Farris's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geek'd Out Reviews: 15
9.0Avg. Review Rating

10
Archie Meets Riverdale (2022) #1

May 11, 2022

Archie Meets Riverdale #1 is a fun read from start to finish, and it's clear that the creative team has a deep love for these charactersin all their iterations. I appreciate how they carefully contrasted the two worlds in both the script and the art, while still managing to make it feel like a cohesive book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bolero #1

Jan 19, 2022

I highly recommend that you pick up a copy of this oversized introductory issue at your local comicbook shop this week; it's well worth the cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Break Out #1

Apr 13, 2022

If you're tired of the same old sci-fi invasion stories, give Break Out #1a chance!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Buckhead (2021) #1

Dec 8, 2021

On a positive note, the art by George Kambadais is fantastic. It's youthful but detailed, and the bold colors and unique patterns bring life to the story. Also, per usual, Jim Campbell's letters are easily readable. It's a shame that the narrative isn't more thoughtfully arranged. I'll probably check out Issue #2 with the hope that writer Shobo can explain what exactly is going on a bit more clearly, but, for now, it's difficult to recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Cherry Blackbird #1

Jun 9, 2021

Due to the overall narrative and the art, I wanted to like Cherry Blackbird #1more than I did. I'm intrigued enough to at least give the second issue a read, but I'll need to meet some more fully realized characters in order to convince me to continue on this demon-hunting mission.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doctor Who: Empire Of The Wolf #1

Nov 17, 2021

Doctor Who: Empire of the Wolf #1sets the stage for what is sure to be another exciting journey across time and space, so Whovians, definitely add it to your pull list!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Good Night, Hem #1

Sep 22, 2021

Ultimately, Good Night, Hemcomes across like a personal project for Jason, and it will feel personal to readers like myself who have their own special connection to this era of literature. So, if you are looking for an interesting gift for your 20th-century American literature professor, then Good Night, Hem is a sure bet. For anyone outside of this very narrow audience, skip it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
HaHa #2

Feb 17, 2021

While it would be remiss to say that Haha #2 is an uplifting read, it is a comforting read as it reminds readers that there is something wrong with all of us.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Just Roll With It #1

Dec 15, 2021

Although Just Roll With It will have special significance for those who identify as mentally ill, it's simply a good story that can be appreciated by anyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Proctor Valley Road #1

Mar 10, 2021

Proctor Valley Road #1is a strong first issue. It introduces a cast of likeable characters, a realistic setting, and an intriguing mystery. It's well-paced, and Jim Campbell's lettering really helps to move the story along swiftly. Naomi Franquiz's art is youthful, which works for our young characters, and Tamra Bonvillain's bold coloring brings everything to life. This first issue leaves me eager for more Proctor Valley Road: I want to know more about this strange road, obviously, but I also want to know if these girls get to see Janis Joplin (*fingers crossed but also envious*).

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
She Said Destroy #1

May 13, 2019

She Said Destroy #1 will be available in your local comicbook shops May 29, 2019.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #1

Apr 21, 2021

Despite this being another entry amongst a slew of comics about gods and mortals, The Many Deaths of Laila Starr #1with its compelling storyline, singular focus on Death/Laila, and Hindu roots make it worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Nightmare Brigade: The Girl From Deja Vu #1

Mar 23, 2022

Overall, The Nightmare Brigade thoughtfully explores the importance of facing our fears despite the power that nightmares can hold over us, and the end of this first volume makes me eager to continue on with Professor Angus and his mysterious cohort.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Silver Coin #1

Apr 7, 2021

With such a fully realized story, it's difficult to read The Silver Coin #1 as a one shot, but, in many ways, that format makes the most sense for this kind of story: a tale of a reversal of fortune that just consumes and consumes until there is nothing left; after all, “A curse needs to feed.”

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Virtually Yours OGN

Jul 15, 2020

Finally, there are so, so many good cameos in Virtually Yoursthat literally had me smiling/squealing with delight. I'm not going to give anything away here, because you definitely need to experience the joy that comes from the surprise like I did.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

1st

May

More