Anne's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Project-Nerd Reviews: 21
8.6Avg. Review Rating

9.4
Aliens vs. Zombies #1

Jul 13, 2015

So in conclusion, go buy Aliens vs. Zombies and read it right now! Seriously, right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Ashes #1

Sep 26, 2015

Overall though, Ashes was a skillfully-told story with realistic and believable characters. Matt's struggle was no Sisyphean labor by any means, but still maintained a very believable level of strife that served to keep Matt's attitude justified. Ashes is a heartwarming tale that I'd especially recommend to anyone who's overcome (or is still overcoming) their own struggle(s) in life, because you don't need to be an injured firefighter to relate closely to Matt Terwillegar.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Britannia: Lost Eagles of Rome #1

Jul 30, 2018

Overall, Britannia: Lost Eagles of Rome has definitely caught my attention, and I'm pretty excited to read the next issue that comes out later this year!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Goldie Vance #1

Apr 13, 2016

I feel like Goldie Vance is the kind of comic that can be enjoyed by just about anybody. The story is fun and light, though it does hint at a possibly deeper story arc in following issues. I would especially recommend Goldie Vance to fans of '50s/'60s vintage-style, fans of teen mysteries, and/or fans of comics starring smart and independent young women.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Grimm Fairy Tales: Halloween Special #2015

Oct 6, 2015

Like most dark adaptations of fairy tales, Grimm Fairy Tales is not suited for younger readers or anyone expecting a happily every after, but it was far from the goriest thing I've ever seen. I'd recommend the Grimm Fairy Tales Halloween Special for fans of dark fantasy and fairy tales or even anyone who likes a good supernatural action story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
How To Talk To Girls At Parties #1

Jun 21, 2016

I would recommend How to Talk to Girls at Parties to fans of supernatural and speculative fiction, readers who enjoy a little unsolved mystery, and of course any and all fans of Gaiman's writing and Moon and B's artwork. How to Talk to Girls at Parties takes something as mundanely intimidating as a teenager attempting to talk to a member of the opposite sex at a house party and turns it into a strange and unforgettable occurrence that no one involved could ever forget or even attempt to explain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Itty Bitty Hellboy: Search For the Were-Jaguar #1

May 23, 2016

I enjoyed Itty Bitty Hellboy: The Search for the Were-Jaguar. Maybe not as much as I've enjoyed Balthazar and Franco's other series, Tiny Titans, but I found Itty Bitty Hellboy to be cute and funny nonetheless. If you're one of those hardcore fans who only likes seeing their favorite characters being taken completely seriously, this isn't for you. I'd recommend Itty Bitty Hellboy for all the younger comic fans out there, as well as any adults who don't mind (and would enjoy) seeing the Hellboy gang on some silly, more lighthearted adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Kennel Block Blues #1

Feb 5, 2016

Overall, Kennel Block Blues was an enjoyable comic to read. This first issue didn't delve too far into Oliver's "prison" experience, but I look forward to seeing just how well this cheery, space cadet of a dog learns to cope and survive in what is to him, a foreign environment. Don't let the bright and colorful cover fool you: this isn't really a comic aimed at young readers. I'd recommend it to anyone who enjoys comics with slightly different art and storytelling styles, and definitely to any dog people. Cat people"maybe not as enjoyable for you guys.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Leaving Megalopolis: Surviving Megalopolis #1

Jan 12, 2016

Honestly, thought, I kind of like it that way. The sheer oddness of the situation kept me on my toes and made it so that the story wasn't obvious or predictable. I'd recommend this comic to anyone who enjoys subverted superhero stories and/or post-apocalyptic survival stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Lone Wolf 2100 #1

Jan 2, 2016

I would definitely recommend Lone Wolf 2100 to anyone who's a fan of post-apocalyptic action comics, but I also think it has the potential to go deeper and appeal to a wider audience. Being that this is only the first issue, it still has time to reveal more about the overall plot and Daisy's key role.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Lords of the Jungle #1

Mar 26, 2016

Overall, it was an okay comic. I can't say that I found it particularly riveting, but it was interesting enough to keep my attention. Without giving away any spoilers, the ending did hint at a larger, sinister plot afoot, but other than that I didn't think the storyline or plot stood out particularly in any way. As I mentioned, fans of general action and pulp-style comics are likely to enjoy Lords of the Jungle, but if you're looking for a story with more complexity or a more involved plot, this probably isn't for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Lumberjanes / Gotham Academy #1

Jun 7, 2016

In conclusion, I enjoyed reading Lumberjanes/Gotham Academy #1. It was a fun, light-hearted adventure tinged with some sinister supernatural happenings (that are largely yet-to-be explored). It's a comic that can easily be enjoyed by readers of all ages, and I'd recommend it to fans of both existing series, as well as any new readers looking for something fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Lumberjanes / Gotham Academy #2

Jul 26, 2016

Overall, the comic series is developing nicely. I may not have enjoyed #2 as well as I did #1, but I still think it's worth the read. It's a fun comic with well written young characters of both genders, and it toes the line of the 'mystery-solving teens' genre without crossing over into any super-campy Scooby-Doo territory. I know I'm definitely looking forward to the release of Lumberjanes/Gotham Academy #3!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Over The Garden Wall #2

Jun 3, 2016

So in conclusion, if you enjoyed the animated Over the Garden Wall series, you'll probably enjoy the comic. (Though how much you'll enjoy it depends on what your favorite elements from the show were, I suppose). If you haven't seen the series before, you could probably still get through the comic without too much confusion, but I doubt you'd get as much out of the comic as someone who had seen the show.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Pirouette #1

Jul 25, 2016

Overall, I really enjoyed Pirouette #1. The story's protagonist is plucky and relatable and elicits sympathy through her (frankly) rotten "home" life. If you enjoy the frightening allure of old-timey circuses, strong heroines overcoming adversity (from both her family and peers in this case), or even a character's journey to self-discovery, then Pirouette is definitely for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Power Cubed #1

Sep 19, 2015

All in all, I would recommend anyone interested in light science fiction to pick it up. Power3 looks to be a very promising series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Power Up #1

Jun 29, 2016

Overall, Power Up is fantastic. It's got action, humor, and can be enjoyed by audiences of all ages. As an extra-special bonus, the characters are a diverse bunch of people, from lovably-round, brown-skinned Amie and the gay couple who are her friends and neighbors, to tan, athletic bachelor Kevin (who seems pretty comfortable straying from strict gender norms), to white, middle-aged, mother-of-two Sandy. Seriously, if you haven't already gone to get yourself a copy, what are you waiting for?!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Symmetry #1

Dec 15, 2015

Overall, I really enjoyed reading Symmetry, and definitely want to find out what happens next. I'd recommend it to anyone who's a fan of sci-fi. For those of us who prefer a focus on characters and plot, the story itself doesn't get bogged down by all the little science details. However, for any readers who do enjoy the extra information, the writer has included a "science class" at the end of the issue where he goes into more detail about the world within Symmetry, so there's enough to keep everyone happy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tales Of Honor: Bred To Kill #1

Jun 16, 2015

Overall, I thought the comic was very nicely done: exceptional artwork partnered with what became an interesting story (once I got past the exposition).So whether you're an enthusiast for space adventures or a fan with a passing interest in sci-fi, Tales of Honor: Bred to Kill is definitely worth the read, and holds enough appeal that I want to read more and find out what happens to Captain Harrington next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
The Shadow: Midnight In Moscow #1

Aug 20, 2015

I'd probably recommend The Shadow to anyone who's a fan of 1950s-era detective or espionage stories, though I can't say it was necessarily my cup of tea.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Two Brothers #1

Oct 19, 2015

Two Brothers is not a graphic novel for a reader seeking some nice escapism, and definitely not for anyone looking for a happily ever after. That said, I really enjoyed it. It was a little confusing to grasp who's who and everything that was going on in the beginning, but as the narrative filled in all the events that led up to where it had started, the story really came together. Overall, Two Brothers is a compelling tale of family, desire, loss, and the human tendency to ignore uncomfortable truths until it is too late.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

6th

June

More