Ash's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Graphic Policy, That's Entertainment Reviews: 11
8.4Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Doc Savage: The Spider's Web #1

Dec 2, 2015

At the end of the issue I was left with a burning desire to find out what was going to happen and exactly how the next set of events were going to unfold, the sign of a truly great comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #46

Jul 23, 2018

Is it my favorite Harley story? No, but it is one of the best multi-issue arcs I have seen all year. Paul Dini's 'Harley Loves Joker' fell flat. Issues #43 & #44 lost it's steam before it was wrapped up. Simultaneously, Harley is caught up in a spat with the Joker in 'Batman: Prelude to the Wedding'. With all these plot lines, this new issue of Harley Quinn has got momentum to carry it forward, and beyond. Let's see where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Harley Quinn (2016) #50

Oct 1, 2018

Classic Harley comedy, delightfully surprising cameos, and fourth wall murdering with malice of forethought. Who know where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Invasion From Planet Wrestletopia #1

Aug 8, 2018

There are qualities of this comic that remind me of Lobo, or 2000 A.D., infused with the classic wrestling banter forged by Macho Man Randy Savage and Classy Freddie Blassie. 'Wrestletopia' has set the stage for a massive brawl that will make 'Thor: Ragnarok' look like a tea party. To put it simply, I am hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kingdom Bum #1

Dec 11, 2015

Overall, this issue is the perfect combination of fun and serious, amusing and political and I really enjoyed it. I will definitely be looking out for the next issues…I need to know what happens!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Legacy #1

Dec 5, 2015

Overall, if you enjoy unusual and serious novels that reflect larger issues in society in general then this is a graphic novel that you will particularly enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Mother Panic #4

Jun 27, 2018

Whatever vigilante shenanigans Mother Panic has planned, I am all in.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Plastic Man (2018) #4

Oct 1, 2018

No spoilers, but the action in this issue is obviously leading up to a bigger battle in the future. There are subtle references, followed my overt nods, and a classic villain curtain call. Plastic Man is giving us the classic 'detective comic' storyline, but to any seasoned comic book nerd, this issue is the thunder before the storm.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #24

Jul 11, 2018

I have the issue in front of my eyes and I am not sure what I just read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Precinct #1

Dec 10, 2015

Ultimately a murder mystery set in a steampunk city with problems with mechanical monsters. Can a comic get any cooler than that?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Precinct #2

Jan 11, 2016

This issue is the perfect follow up and I am excited for the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

March

February

More