Babs's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Vine Reviews: 21
7.3Avg. Review Rating

4.0
Aliens vs Predator: Three World War #4

May 19, 2010

To be honest, I may have enjoyed this issue more if I had a better background on the Aliens vs. Predator Universe. However, even with a better understanding, this issue does not do very much for the story's progression.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman #699

May 12, 2010

Tony Daniel proves that he is capable of writing a fantastic Dick Grayson as Batman in this issue, and that he works better when he isn't both writing and drawing the issue. My only real complaint was that the second part of this issue felt rushed and open-ended.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chew #11

Jun 9, 2010

It seems every time I pick up an issue of CHEW, I know before I even open it that I will be entertained. This issue is no different. Fantastic art, impeccable writing and a perfect flow make this one comic you do not want to skip out on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dazzler #1

May 26, 2010

This comic was a lot of fun to read, and it delves into the psychological elements of what makes Dazzler tick while maintaining the momentum of a superhero/action comic book (even if that second portion was a bit of a drag). You really get a lot for your buck with this issue. I wouldn't mind this being a mini series and I think it is refreshing to see a character that doesn't get a whole lot of time in the spotlight. If you are new to the character, this is a great book to pick up as it is a self contained story and you don't really need a lot of background information to understand who she is and what is going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Detective Comics #865

May 26, 2010

I really was not a fan of this issue. I think the plot could be much better and I feel like a lot of Batman's reactions to certain events were out of character for him. I feel like I have read this before. I almost wish I was still reading Rucka's Detective run, at least until Bruce returns. There is no need for yet ANOTHER Batman comic featuring Dick Grayson.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Emily the Strange: The 13th Hour #3

May 19, 2010

The story is fun, but definitely one that is targeted toward a very specific demographic. If you have a little sister and want to introduce her to something other than superhero comics, then this might be a great book for you to pick up. The characters are interesting, have a lot of personality and the issue is overall relatively well executed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Executive Assistant Iris #5

Jun 9, 2010

The story is fun, and is still one of my favorite Aspen titles. The art is great, the characters are good and the comic is fast paced with a lot of high adventure. While I would like to see a lot more character development (in the emotion department) I am glad to see we are gradually getting there. I just hope we don't have to wait a long time for the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Girl Comics #2

May 19, 2010

Overall, it is a really fun read.This series proves that women can write comics, and when they get together to do just that, they create some really awesome stuff. It is great to have a comic outside of continuity that you can pick up for entertainment at any time and really enjoy reading. While Girl Comics are written by girls, it doesn't mean they were created specifically for girls. Don't let the title fool you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellboy in Mexico #1

May 5, 2010

Clearly, I really enjoyed this issue and I thought it was a lot of fun. A fantastic, well written, self contained story that caters to the new reader. It will leave you wanting more!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Heroic Age: Prince of Power #1

May 12, 2010

This is a fun comic and caters to new readers. It is an easy read and serves as a good introduction into Marvel's upcoming Heroic Age story arc. While it was an entertaining read, I left not really caring about the characters and not really interested in what's in store for Amadeus Cho.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Joker's Asylum II: Harley Quinn #1

Jun 16, 2010

Pick this up if you want to read about Harley chasing after her "Puddin." if you don't love her character and her obsession with The Joker, this comic is not for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League of America (2006) #45

May 19, 2010

Action packed! James Robinson's Justice League of America is one of the best superhero team books out right now, and is quickly becoming one of my favorite DC titles. This coming from a reader who struggles with team books. Robinson has a grasp and understanding of his characters and it shows.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Magdalena #2

Jun 16, 2010

The thing I really like about Magdalena is that it has a strong, hard headed main female character that can kick major but. Only into the second issue and it is already obvious that there will be more to the story than just Patience kicking butt and taking names. I found myself completely sucked into this story, and I cannot wait for issue #3. If you like adventure and stories that are influenced by theology, be sure to pick this up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mouse Guard: Legends of the Guard #1

Jun 9, 2010

David Petersen does it again, with a little bit of help from Jeremy Bastian, Ted Naifeh, Alex Sheikman and Scott Keating. The issue is the first part of four. The story is so good, and I was so immersed in the universe,

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Predators #2

Jun 16, 2010

The first part in this issue is not a good reflection of what is happening in the story. I enjoyed the second story because I felt there was considerably more depth than the first, and I felt I cared about the character- which is important if you want to write a good comic. The book is not bad, however, and I will say I was entertained. It has made me look forward to the Predators film, produced by Robert Rodriguez and considering Rodriguez was directly involved with the making of this

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Sonja: She-Devil With a Sword Annual #3

Jun 16, 2010

The story is okay. The beginning leaves much to be desired, but it does manage to pick up by the time we get to the middle of the issue. Sonja's characterization seems to shift with the art. If you have never read Sonja, I wouldn't recommend this book as your first look into her character. Rather, I would direct you to Queen Sonja (also published by Dynamite). I honestly expected more from an annual.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Soulfire Vol. 3 #5

May 19, 2010

While the issue was not a jaw dropping, enlightening experience; it served as a great introduction to the Soulfire series and universe overall and acted as a prologue to the upcoming story arc which looks very promising.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Darkness and Darkchylde #1

May 26, 2010

This is by far a fun read, especially if you are a fan of the horror genre. It is a great introduction to these two characters and explains very briefly their connection to "darkness," It reads as a one-shot and is a self contained story perfect for new readers and those unfamiliar with these characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Velocity #1

Jun 30, 2010

Could this be one of my new favorite series? The art is incredible, the character is endearing and this first issue is a perfect balance of introducing the new character to readers as well as establishing a solid storyline for future issues. I cannot wait for issue two!

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Witchblade #136

May 12, 2010

While I am curious to see this issue's continuation in Artifacts #0, I am disappointed in the majority of the content of this issue. I felt that Sara's character was weakened and easily manipulated and that it was unclear just how human Aprhrodite IV is. Of the three parts that made up the 'Almost Human' storyline, this was somewhat of a let down.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Zatanna #2

Jun 23, 2010

The issue is fun, and the series is fun- but I like Zatanna as a character, and I wonder if the fact that I really like her is influencing my perception of the series. It's a good time, but it is nothing thought provoking or moving. The comic is almost silly. If you like her character, chances are you you will enjoy this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More