Bob Moser's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 21
7.8Avg. Review Rating

8.0
1602 #6

Jan 21, 2004

Marvel 1602 isn't for everyone. It takes a certain degree of patience and love for the characters from which it draws its inspiration. The initial hype is that the limited series is supposed to have some impact upon continuity, but even if that's oversold it's still a story which stands on its own merits. For those that may have been reading it and dropped out, go back and pickup what you missed. For those not reading it, pickup the trade, after all it's a limited series and its long-term sales put it under no danger of cancellation.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Avengers (1998) #75

Dec 16, 2003

If youre a completist like me then pickup a copy of Avengers #490, if you want to save $2.25 then skip it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain America #21

Dec 7, 2003

Hopefully this is the beginning of a new relevance in Captain America, and if so I plan on being there for future issues. Jump onboard now if you want to see where this train is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Conan: The Legend #0

Nov 20, 2003

Conan the Barbarians return to four-color glory for only two bits. Need I say more?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Crimson Dynamo #4

Dec 7, 2003

If you enjoy titles like Invincible Iron Man or stories about technology-based heroes that sound plausible within the realm of suspended disbelief then check out Crimson Dynamo. With the demise of the EPIC line of Marvel Comics, I expect this title to be the sole survivor to cross over into the mainstream Marvel Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (1998) #55

Dec 22, 2003

I read a lot of negative comments about David Macks arc on Daredevil and can see validity in the complaints, but given the story in total and the resolution in Daredevil #435, I think the story deserves a second look. For those of you who may not agree, Brian Michael Bendis and Alex Maleev will be back next month from their much deserved break.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Dr. Fate #4

Nov 16, 2003

I am luke-warm about this comic and would advise that if you invested in the first three issues of Dr. Fate then go ahead and pick up the last two.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Dr. Fate #5

Dec 11, 2003

DC in Focus, the feature of upcoming projects at the end of DCs comics, invites readers to let them know if they want to see more Dr. Fate stories (although I dont know where readers would send them, seeing as there was no email or snail mail address). I for one would like to see more Dr. Fate stories, but good ones, not like this or the previous four issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
G.I.Joe: Cobra Reborn #1

Feb 2, 2004

G.I.Joe: Cobra Reborn is a double sized one-shot and carries the double-sized price tag of $4.95. If you are a fan of G.I. Joe and its universe of characters I would recommend giving this comic a look just to see the origin of Cobra Commander and his cast of cronies.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Gotham Central #14

Dec 11, 2003

If you enjoy crime noir or police drama with a smattering of superhero action then Gotham Central is the book for you. If you suffer from bouts of depression and melancholy then I would recommend reading something a bit more cheery, like Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
H-E-R-O #10

Nov 16, 2003

This is a great issue and a title that deserves a chance to tell the stories beneath the surface of the DC Universe. Issue eleven will be a standalone story and I advise anyone with an extra $2.50 in their pocket to give it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
H-E-R-O #11

Dec 12, 2003

If you want to read a great standalone story purchase a copy of H-E-R-O #11. Its a book that fans of independent titles should appreciate and despite its lack of a time-tested iconic character a comic that most lovers of standard superhero fair should enjoy as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
JSA #55

Dec 12, 2003

Rare are the Christmas stories in comics that are both touching and lacking in cheese-corn. As a stand alone issue JSA #55 is a great story of friendship and will be treat for fans of golden-age DC characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Losers #6

Dec 16, 2003

If you like stories of espionage and lots of violence check out Losers, and if youre not old enough to get past the Suggested for Mature Readers label, have your mommy buy it for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Marvel Knights 4 #1

Feb 15, 2004

Despite its lack of traditional superhero action and adventure, Knights 4 is better than the well-heeled Fantastic Four. Many may avoid this title based upon the rancor associated with the on-again off-again firing of Mark Waid by Bill Jemas, but dont let that prejudice you against an honorable and admirable effort by the Marvel Knights team.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Outsiders #8

Jan 27, 2004

DC continues to prove that it publishes some of the best superhero team books, and Outsiders may be the best DC publishes. Great characters, both old and new, written in a way that is both fun and accessible coupled with stellar art and some of the most underrated bad-ass villains in the DC Universe. This issue is a great jumping on point, because next issue the fight is ON.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman/Batman #4

Dec 4, 2003

Unlike Marvel Comics, DC has made a concerted effort to maintain their youth readership with titles like Scooby Doo, Power Puff Girls, Justice League and other cartoon based properties. Superman/Batman is the next logical step for those youth readers that want to move into the continuity based superhero universe. The stories are well crafted, accessible and fun; which will please both new youth readers and old-timers who have a love of the style typical of pre-Crisis DC Comics stories. Cotton candy comics, sooo good.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2003) #5

Nov 16, 2003

For those not familiar with the characters in the Teen Titans past or present, it doesnt matter. For an ongoing title I have found Teen Titans quite accessible and engaging under Johns keyboard and would recommend jumping in anytime.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Eternal #6

Dec 5, 2003

If you want to read a 1980s EPIC style comic buy this issue and all the others that came before, I doubt there will ever be a trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimate Fantastic Four #1

Jan 4, 2004

If you didnt jump onboard for the other Ultimate titles, then here is your chance to redeem yourself. In fact buy two copies so you can auction one later to the Johnny-Come-Latelies. Marvel really should sign this crew to exclusive contracts before DC steals them away.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimates #12

Dec 11, 2003

Since issue one, Ultimates has been a solid read both in prose and art. My only complaint is that it doesnt come out on a more regular basis, although it is a pleasant surprise to see it in my subscription from my local comics retailer. I think of Ultimates in the same way I do Christmas, it takes a long time to get here but when it does its always worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More