Cidnya's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 26
8.0Avg. Review Rating

8
Amethyst #1

Feb 26, 2020

This debut issue of Amethyst is an incredibly cute and fun look into how Princess Amethyst deals with being a leader to her people, as well as an ordinary earth girl. While I think there is a lot of room for growth in the writer, Amethyst #1 is a great start for a book about finding the strength to do what's right.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Asadora! #1

Dec 31, 2020

While I was expecting an intense thriller, I have come out with nothing but awe at this quietly brilliant work from mangaka Naoki Urasawa. Asadora! Volume 1 demands that you follow Asada through her adversity and root for her along the way in post-war Japan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bowie: Stardust, Rayguns & Moonage Daydreams #1

Jan 3, 2020

Bowie: Stardust, Rayguns, and Moonage Daydreams is a theatrical spectacle of passion, rock and roll, and art on paper. Horton and the Allred's created a comic that showcases the rise, growth and fame of beloved David Bowie and every musician that he encountered. Shedding light into his life in a detailed, researched manner, any fan would be enthralled to finally own such a special homage to the Starman himself.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Bram Stoker's Dracula (2020) OGN

Oct 11, 2020

This graphic novel adaption of Bram Stoker's Dracula is a great way to introduce new readers to the gothic horror genre. The interior art shines a light on how beautiful noir compliments horror. Reading this adaptation feels like a breath of fresh horror air as it sticks out from the modern realm of horror comics. In the end, there is an afterward written by Dacre Stoker (great-grand-nephew of Bram Stoker) on what inspired the creation of the novel and how Stoker wrote it. Hitting all the relevant points of the original novel and the inclusion of the iconic Bela Lugosi, Legendary Comics brings a book that not only honors the horror legacy of Lugosi but celebrates the importance of Dracula.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dark Nights: Death Metal: Legends of the Dark Knights #1

Aug 4, 2020

Legends of the Dark Knights has all of that and more with it's bombastic, campy feel, it's stylized lettering, distinct art styles, and atmosphere coloring. I may not be a fan of comic event books, but fans of Synder should pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Decorum #1

Mar 14, 2020

Decorum #1 is an intriguing first issue, split into three parts to ensure that readers become familiar with the territory before thrown into an intergalactic narrative. The entire creative team utilizes their skill sets to create a thoroughly planned and sprawling sci-fi landscape that makes for a refined and chic reading experience. Featuring minimal coloring, graphs, and monochromatic scenes, this is a book that is begging you to pay close attention to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Finger Guns #1

Feb 23, 2020

Finger Guns #1 has swept its way into my heart. It is a smart and heart-filled look into the emotional cravings and needs of teens. Reminding me of my youth and my personal refuge in music, much like protagonist Wes, I can be sure that most people will find this story relatable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Finger Guns #4

Aug 8, 2020

Overall, Finger Guns #4 dug deep into the familial issues that Sadie is dealing with. Anyone who was friends with someone who had a hard home life understands the position Wes is in. I am still so consistently impressed by debut-writer Justin Richards for scripting a poignant and realistic look into the realities of teenagehood. Vault Comics never disappoints and the team of Nalty, Halvorson, and Esposito continue to make this indie title one of my personal favorites on the shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Finger Guns #5

Sep 6, 2020

Overall, I have loved every single second of this comic and I am sad to see it come to a close. Finger Guns #5 wraps up some loose threads while cultivating a path towards emotional maturity when it, eventually, returns. It has a careful balance of exploring angst without feeling melodramatic or whiny.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Future State (2021): Dark Detective #1

Jan 12, 2021

I am not sure why Future State: Dark Detective #1 wasnt a stand-alone issue without No Future Past Part 1 because it severely detracts from how good Future State: Dark Detective #1 is. I feel deeply frustrated that this was two separate stories shoved into a $5.99 book when Tamakis 24-page intro into her depiction of Gotham was stellar. Overall, this leaves me confused and disappointed. I want to clarify that the Future State: Dark Detective #1 half is worthwhile and a great new entry in the Future State lineup, and I hope the next issues are standalone.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Future State (2021): Dark Detective #2

Jan 26, 2021

Overall, I am continuing to love the direction of Future State: Dark Detective #2.However, as a reviewer, I still found the second story from Joshua Williamson to not have as much depth or polish as the Dark Detective storyline. For six dollars, I don't think it is worthwhile to pick it up. It isn't easy to see such a great comic release hindered by another creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Game of Thrones: Clash of Kings: Vol. 2 #1

Jan 29, 2020

A Clash of Kings Vol 2 #1 is anywhere now wherever comics are sold or through our Comixology affiliate link.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Harley Quinn and the Birds of Prey #1

Feb 12, 2020

Overall, the artwork in this issue stuns in its bright and colorful adventure but tonally the script does not follow suit. This DC Black Label book is a conflicting letdown for even a devoted Harley Quinn fan like myself. It is very apparent that they used the DC Black Label to push the envelopes on how violent and crass they could make this book via its script. While I appreciated this creative team's work on Harley during the new 52, Harley Quinn and the Birds of Prey #1 fails to live up to that expectation and flounders over the push to make it more “adult”.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
JoJos Bizarre Adventure: Part 4--Diamond is Unbreakable #6

Aug 4, 2020

Diamond is Unbreakable Volume 6 features one of my favorite fights in all of JJBA. The two story arcs at the end seem weaker in comparison to the rest of the volume. However, they are not bad at all and they do offer a fun and nice deviation away from the central plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
JoJos Bizarre Adventure: Part 4--Diamond is Unbreakable #8

Jan 28, 2021

This volume clearly showcases how much Araki loves to play around with Josuke, Rohan, Okyuasu, and Koichi. Even though the overarching plot moves slowly, readers get to witness some fun, wacky adventures. The set up that the town of Morioh holds weird secrets and characters is thoroughly explored in the true enemy stand user of the week formula. It is entertaining and fun to watch these characters interact with the supernatural elements around them. This reviewer may never tire of seeing Araki's fighting sequences and excellent character designs. While it is frustrating to have such long, drawn-out fight sequences, they aren't a detriment to JoJo's Bizarre Adventure experience: Diamond is Unbreakable, Volume 8.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Kingdom Hearts III #1

Jan 21, 2021

Overall, Kingdom Hearts III Volume 1 is a very fun manga that adapts its source material well. It feels as cinematic as the series has always been. The artistic shift to a cutesy and softer look for our beloved characters of Sora, Donald, and Goofy feels like a treat and is different enough to make this volume feel fresh. If for some reason you felt hesitant to play the last game in the franchise, I would recommend reading this volume as it does a fantastic job at being supplemental material for new and old fans alike. It is a perfect starting point and a great return for those who want to explore more of Sora's journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
No Vampire, No Happy Ending #1

Aug 14, 2020

Overall, there are so many things I love about No Vampire, No Happy Ending Volume 1.Other vampire fans will enjoy the troupe subversions explored with Divo and see themselves in Akira. The plot is fun and silly and never takes itself too seriously.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Skulldigger and Skeleton Boy #1

Dec 15, 2019

Skulldigger and Skeleton Boy: From the World of Black Hammer #1 is a stellar first issue. Lemire, yet again, delivers a book that is enthralling and visual with the aid of his creative team of Wands and Zonjic. Complex characters and an engaging crime atmosphere add to the already wonderful world of Black Hammer and its accessible to new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Skulldigger and Skeleton Boy #2

Jan 14, 2020

Skulldigger and Skeleton Boy #2delivers on most of the strengths of the first issue. With an explosive ending to issue two, Lemire is continuing to grow the relationship between Skulldigger and his apprentice. Even with weaker writing centering on Grimjim, this Black Hammer spin-off title is a must-read for fans of crime and vigilantes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Skulldigger and Skeleton Boy #3

Feb 18, 2020

This third issue steers the story back into the cinematic storytelling that made the first issue stand apart from other comics on the stand. The blending of Lemire's tight noir script, the muted atmosphere as drawn and colored by Zonjic, and the ease of the lettering done by Wands effectively make Skulldigger and Skeleton Boy #3 an enthralling series that everyone should pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Tales From The Dark Multiverse: Dark Nights: Metal #1

Dec 29, 2020

The battle that ensues during the final act of this event one-shot is over the top and action-packed...The dialogue suffers a little with its ham-fisted music quips, but it does add a certain type of campy-charm that Synder's Metal world distinctly offers to DC fans. This one-shot will remind readers about just how enjoyable and brilliantly ridiculous Batman comics can be.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Way of the Househusband #4

Sep 3, 2020

The Way of the Househusband Volume 4 never skips a beat. Oono creates a perfect balance of comedy and sentiment throughout this volume. Being able to have more vignettes into Tatsu's relationship with Miku, provides a vast improvement from the previous volumes where she is in the background.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Vampironica: New Blood #1

Dec 3, 2019

Vampironica: New Blood #1 is a fun introduction for those who have not read anything from her character before. It is a solid debut that offers a unique take on vampire and werewolf horror. Many threads signify that this could be a stellar five-issue mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Vampironica: New Blood #2

Jan 25, 2020

Issue two of Vampironica: New Blood was able to greatly improve from the first issue. Tieri and Moreci gave further backstory to new and interesting characters. Being able to empathize and understand character motives made this issue excel in places that felt weak previously. Mok, Loughridge, and Morelli work together to breathe life to this Archie book. Veronica Lodge continues to be one of my favorite leading ladies in comics at the moment due to the creative team on this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men (2019) #9

Mar 23, 2020

Hickman's balance of scientific exposition and fun fight dialogue is an improvement on the last issue's bland exchanges between characters. Yu and Gho tag team and create a captivating backdrop for two very detailed fight sequences. Cowles' lettering enhanced Hickman's script and provided an extra layer of atmosphere and tone. Muller's graphic design work continues to make reading X-Books a fresh and refined experience. The cohesiveness of this creative team makes X-Men #9 a fun and bombastic read.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Year of the Villain: Harley Quinn #1

Dec 11, 2019

Harley Quinn: Villain of the Year #1 is overall, disappointing. There is so much potential to make this a fun addition for lovers of both Harley Quinn and some of the best villains in all of the DCU. With floundering humor and a lackluster script, this 4.99 title feels more aligned with a cash grab than a fun experience for readers who engaged in the vote.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

February

January

More