Dan Lix's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Impulse Gamer Reviews: 23
9.1Avg. Review Rating

5.8
Archie vs. Predator II #1

Jul 10, 2019

While I enjoyed the first Archie vs Predator series immensely, and I also liked Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, I couldn't get into this book. It didn't contain the same essence as the original series. There's a shift towards 'dark and gritty' in the comic book world these days. While it can sometimes work, as is the case for Sabrina, I feel like it's just out of place in a series that used to be more about campy parody. If you're a huge fan of Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, maybe give it a go. If you're expecting more like the original Archie vs Predator, you might be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Catwoman (2018) #3

Sep 14, 2018

Catwoman #3 isn't an edge of the seat thrill ride, but rather a slow and gradual build. It sets the stage for more to come. It's an important character building moment for Selina's new adversary, and it's interesting to see where this will lead. For now though, we're left with more questions than answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Dragon Age: Deception #1

Oct 5, 2018

Dragon Age: Deception #1 will be available for purchase October 10, 2018.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kick-Ass (2018) #8

Oct 10, 2018

This is another excellent addition to the Kick-Ass series. My only criticism is that the issue ended. I want more! I'm eagerly awaiting the next issue in this series! I guess you could say that I'm lacking Patience. "I'll show myself out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kick-Ass (2018) #9

Nov 7, 2018

Once I started reading this issue, I couldn't put it down. This issue is less about Patience's home life and more of a focus on her growing feud with the city's criminal organizations. Though she left Afghanistan behind, Patience is gearing up for another war, this time on her home turf. I'm excited to read more, and can't believe I have to wait another month!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kick-Ass (2018) #10

Dec 8, 2018

OverallThough this issue throttles back the action a bit, it more than makes up for it with what it sets up. Patience and her gang continue to hunt for Santos, and it's obvious that he's not just going to sit back and wait for her to come. This issue brings with it pacing and tension that lead to anticipation for what's to come. The story had me compelled to keep flipping pages, and once I started I couldn't put it down. Can't wait to see what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kick-Ass (2018) #11

Jan 9, 2019

This issue is filled with action, tension, and one final "oh shit" moment that had me eagerly anticipating the next one in the series. The stage is set for one hell of an explosive conclusion. A month isn't that long of a wait, is it? "is it?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kick-Ass (2018) #12

Feb 13, 2019

This issue wraps up the current story arc and brings about a satisfying conclusion. Doing my best not to spoil anything here, but the way things end hints at things coming in the next issue which may further complicate Patience's efforts to lead a dual life. All in all, this book was filled with intense action that reeled me in and kept me hooked! Great ending, and I'm looking forward to the start of the next arc!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kick-Ass (2018) #13

Apr 20, 2019

This is another excellent addition to the Kick-Ass series. This comic is a fun quick read. I meant to take my time and savor it, but the narrative had me quickly flipping pages. Before I knew it I was at the end. There's already an impressive line-up of potential nemeses for Patience! I'm looking forward to seeing how she deals with each one in turn.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Kick-Ass (2018) #14

May 18, 2019

OverallFun and engaging are two ways in which I'd describe this issue of Kick-Ass. There were a couple of small things which prevent me from giving it a perfect score, but it's still definitely a fantastic read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Kick-Ass (2018) #15

Jul 1, 2019

Things are quickly building to a head. Patience isn't going to be able to stay beneath Maurice's thumb for long, and she has some new powerful enemies to deal with. This was a satisfying read, and I'm looking forward to the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Red Sonja (2017): Halloween Special #1

Oct 25, 2018

While this Red Sonja comic doesn't exactly explore new territory, it does what it does really well. I enjoyed Curse of the Wolf quite a bit, and Hail Halcoose was a nice little added bonus. If you're a fan of Red Sonja, you'll enjoy the Red Sonja Halloween 2018 issue. If you're just looking for a fun and entertaining Halloween story, this book has you covered as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Starcraft: Scavengers #3

Sep 25, 2018

Starcraft: Scavengers #3 is a thrilling, suspenseful tale that had me gripped from the very start. This is a Starcraft tale, that is just as accessible for newcomers to the setting as it is for die hard fans. I look forward to seeing what's coming in the upcoming conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Starcraft: Scavengers #4

Oct 25, 2018

Starcraft Scavengers #4 is a chilling final adventure for the crew of the Magpie. This is where their story ends, but the narrative hints that we'll see more from at least a few of these characters. Whether you're a Starcraft fan or new to the setting, I recommend this title and this series in its entirety. I can't wait to see where they'll go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Starcraft: Soldiers #1

Jan 16, 2019

Circumstances in this story also stand to fracture the fragile peace between the Dominion and the Swarm, and I'm excited to see where that will lead. If you're a fan of Starcraft, or just good sci-fi in general, I recommend giving this book a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Starcraft: Soldiers #2

Feb 22, 2019

Despite its problems, Starcraft Soldiers #2 is a fun adventure in the Starcraft universe. It triggered all sorts of feelings of nostalgia, and I enjoyed exploring the art on each page.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Starcraft: Soldiers #3

Mar 9, 2019

Singh's taken some time to find her footing here on Cavir, but she's a far cry from the rookie lieutenant she was when she first arrived. Her efforts to force the miners off-world haven't gone quite as well as she'd hoped, and now she's sacrificing some of her principles to get the job done. She's learning what she can and can't get away with, but she's still sticking to her mission. I enjoyed watching her character growth, and this was a pretty great story set in the Starcraft universe. With the zerg threat incoming, I'm looking forward to seeing how this series concludes!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Starcraft: Soldiers #4

Apr 13, 2019

Starcraft Soldiers #4 is a fun, quick read that I'd recommend to anyone who's a fan of the Starcraft universe. Though there are still a few things that bother me about Shivani's character, I was nevertheless satisfied by this conclusion to the arc. As a long time Starcraft fan myself, I'm looking forward to the next Starcraft mini-series!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
These Savage Shores #1

Oct 3, 2018

These Savage Shores sets out to tell a tale of the supernatural and it does not disappoint. Through the vivid artwork and the excellent narration, I wanted to learn more about the characters that inhabited this very dangerous place.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
These Savage Shores #2

Dec 6, 2018

OverallThese Savage Shores #2 is another grim tale with supernatural beasts and monsters set against a historical backdrop. The beautiful artwork combines with intriguing storytelling to weave a satisfying tale that leaves one wondering what will come next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
These Savage Shores #3

Jan 18, 2019

Overall I enjoyed the first issue of These Savage Shores, but last issue's big reveal is what really engaged me. It left a huge impact, and I couldn't wait to read These Savage Shores #3. This issue is great, and it comes with its own set of impressive moments that are doubtlessly going to stick with me for awhile. I'm giving this issue a full five stars. It's just an amazing work of art!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
These Savage Shores #4

Apr 16, 2019

When I was first introduced to These Savage Shores, it was a break from my usual sort of book. I'm not typically into stories involving vampires. Ram V and his team have fully won me over with this series. I'm eagerly anticipating the next entry! These Savage Shores is as powerful as it is beautiful. The story sticks with me for weeks after I've finished reading. A stunning work of art, and a joy to read! Giving this another perfect score.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
These Savage Shores #5

Oct 4, 2019

OverallThese Savage Shores #5 is about the choices we make and the impact they have. It is a fitting final act for an amazing story. I'm excited that I had the opportunity to read it. If you like vampires and tales of the supernatural, I'd definitely advise picking this one up. Just make sure you grab the first issues if you can find them, too. It'll be worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More