Dave Wallace and Thom Young's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 9
7.3Avg. Review Rating

8
Action Comics #868

Aug 17, 2008

Superman might have thought Brainiac was offering him a cup of hot chocolate to offset the coldness of deep space and the undoubtedly air-conditioned environment that is needed for all of that otherworldly technology.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Action Comics #870

Oct 13, 2008

Thom Young: Yeah, me too. I didnt enjoy the one issue of James Robinsons Superman that I read, and the idea of the two Superman titles going back to the diamond numbering system they used in the 1990s as DC essentially merged the titles into a bi-weekly series crafted by two separate creative teams is not appealing to me at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman #675

Apr 28, 2008

All in all, despite this being a below-par issue compared to the last few, Im still enjoying this title. Im still confident that Morrisons run on Batman is going to turn out in much the same way that his New X-Men run did--a well-written overall story that reads better as a whole than it did in individual installments, marred only by uneven and inconsistent art teams.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Batman and Robin #4

Sep 26, 2009

Dave Wallace: Yes, maybe the Red Hood really is just a big Nick Cave fan after all.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman and Robin #5

Oct 19, 2009

Of course, issue #2 had the high-quality work of Quitely going for it rather than the medium-quality work of Tan. Still, I suspect next issue's conclusion to the current three-chapter arc will be another four- to four-and-a-half-bullet winner (with Tan's work preventing the issue from achieving five bullets).

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Batman and Robin #6

Nov 27, 2009

Dave Wallace: Thats a very interesting bit of deductive reasoning. I like the character a little more as a result. Still, Tans design certainly pales in comparison to Frank Quitelys Prince-inspired cover image, which I think perfectly conveys the flamboyance and excess that Morrison seemed to be aiming for with the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Batman: Odyssey #2

Aug 12, 2010

Still, it is great to have some new Neal Adams artwork. Oh, by the way, did you know that hydrogen fuel wont explode when the tanks are composed of metal hydride? You see, its in a hydride, so. . . .

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Final Crisis: Submit #1

Nov 1, 2008

However, issues like this one show that its possible for such tie-ins to be executed to a higher standard than most of the Final Crisis tie-ins that weve seen so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Incredibles #0

Aug 24, 2009

On the whole, Incredibles #0 was a moderately enjoyable comic book that I picked up for my daughter, and one that I think she will enjoy--but I don't think it's on par with the film that was made to greatly appeal to children and adults alike.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More