David Ferguson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geekery Magazine, Comic Crusaders Reviews: 17
7.7Avg. Review Rating

10
4 Kids Walk Into A Bank #4

May 17, 2017

This is a must have for any pull list, not to mention that this will only run for five issues therefore, it is an easy jump on title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aliens: Dead Orbit #1

Mar 26, 2017

This was a fantastic read, The background art was intricate which lent to a very claustrophobic feel, and the character design was innovative. The writing was spot on, although most of the issue was our protagonist alone, I was able to interpret perfectly what Stokoe was portraying. I think it will be a challenge to tell the story I would like to read in only four issues, but that means we will not get any "filler" issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aliens: Dead Orbit #1

Mar 29, 2017

This was a fantastic read, The background art was intricate which lent to a very claustrophobic feel, and the character design was innovative. The writing was spot on, although most of the issue was our protagonist alone, I was able to interpret perfectly what Stokoe was portraying. I think it will be a challenge to tell the story I would like to read in only four issues, but that means we will not get any "filler" issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amerikarate #1

Feb 21, 2017

The story was a bit disjointed but, they have so many places to go here. I can't wait to see where Kalman and McKinney take us next, and with Roth materializing their vision I expect many laughs to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Big Trouble In Little China / Escape From New York #6

Mar 2, 2017

This Series was funny and fun, with a little social commentary, a deep question of space and time, and nostalgia, nostalgia, nostalgia.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Blood Blister #1

Feb 3, 2017

As the story comes to a close you are less surprised as Brandon becomes ensnared in the most predictable of all places, where he must begin to answer for his exploits and indiscretions. Although this story concludes with a predictable contrived ending that leaves you unsurprised, I would still give this title at least one more issue to surprise me. The fantastic visuals and the odd backwoods family you are quickly introduced to in the beginning inspire me to want to find out where Brandon may end up after his first cliff hanging situation. This title does offer some skin crawls and icky feelings, therefore as I wait for issue 2 I give this title 3 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cosmic Scoundrels #1

Mar 1, 2017

I would definitely give this title a go, especially if you are looking for a decent science fiction comedy, with a fantastic creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cougar and Cub #2

Feb 21, 2017

Although this is a very sophomoric story, it is a tongue-in-cheek comedy meant to make you laugh and be lighthearted that is where this creative team succeeds.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Courier #1

Apr 11, 2017

Tthe character development was fantastic and the art was more in-line with what you would expect from Image Comics book, Lazarus (Michael Lark, Greg Rucka). I'm not adding it to my pull-list but if it's available at my local shop I will pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Failsafe #1

Apr 19, 2017

This issue is mostly setup, DeSanto and Farmer introduce our protagonists motivation to enter the world of hunting Insurgents. The evil Insurgent underground (my words) will begin to organize, and a malfunction will bring this all to the forefront. Are the Insurgents bad? Can John Ravane handle this new and unveiled contingent? Will John's secret be exposed to the one he loves? These are just a few questions you may realize after this inaugural issue of FAILSAFE.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fissure #1

Feb 7, 2017

Fissure provided a great premise to many possible story paths and the initial issue has me thirsty for more. I highly recommend this book and will be giving the story at least 3 issues. Should the story goes where I think it might, this is going to be one heck of a ride. I give Fissure 4 stars out of 5 stars and I look forward to what happens to the people of El Sueo.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Forever War #1

Feb 15, 2017

The answer to my initial question, "can Titan deliver a pulse pounding, intense tale?", Yes they can. Iam on board for the retelling of the 1988 Belgian graphic novel, of the same name, by Joe Haldeman and Marvano. Should you enjoy this book as much as I, there has been a modest amount of chatter about the possibility that this story may be adapted to a live-action movie. Big names like Ridley Scott, and Channing Tatum have been attached to this project however, it seems the project can not sustain itselfand has typically stalled with every attempt.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Galaxys For Hire #2

Mar 30, 2017

I truly have enjoyed this miniseries thus far, and with only 2 issues left the publisher, Devils Due 1first, has a finesci-fi choice for their fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Idolized #0

Feb 8, 2017

This limited run of six issues looks to offer a beautifully illustrated world and an angst driven story. The zero issue does not disappoint as it outlines the premise instantly, and captures the reader with gorgeous artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mindbender #1

Mar 15, 2017

This is a pull-list must add, for any enhanced human, horror-esque, mystical, thriller comic enthusiast.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Spirit Hunters #5

Feb 15, 2017

With a bullpen full of story creators and the writers Ralph Tedesco (Charmed), and Pat Shand (Charmed), you think that a book that promises to offer "horrifying haunting's in every issue", might attempt to materialize something scarier.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Weapon X (2017) #3

May 16, 2017

As this is the third issue in this run I have found this title to be a necessary must readfor any Marvel or X-Men fan. I give this title 4 1/2 stars out of 5 stars. This has definitely made my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More