Eric Brown's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 15
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Doom Patrol (2016) #10

Feb 2, 2018

If you like the seminal Grant Morrison run of Doom Patrol or just the bizarre kind of comics that came out in the glory days of Vertigo, this book is for you. I love the Doom Patrol, and I look forward to every issue of this book. I am excited to see where Young Animal goes next. Great read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Milk Wars: Doom Patrol/JLA Special #1

Mar 1, 2018

Another weird entry into the Milk Wars, but one that is very fun and fills in a lot of gaps in the overall story. Essential reading for the Milk Wars, and all around a solid issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Milk Wars: JLA/Doom Patrol Special #1

Feb 4, 2018

This issue is full-on weird, but more importantly, fun. It's very cool to see these Young Animal books finally meet the DC Universe proper. I feel like this event could have some very real and lasting impact on the Multiverse. I very much enjoyed it and am looking forward to reading the rest. While it's a little out there and leaves a lot of questions hanging, this event is definitely worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Milk Wars: Shade The Changing Girl/Wonder Woman #1

Feb 17, 2018

While perhaps not as strong or weird as the preceding two issues, this is still a fun and interesting issue. I liked the concepts in the issue, but it was missing something. Definitely worth a read through.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Milk Wars: Mother Panic/Batman Special #1

Feb 16, 2018

While not tipping the event's hand much, the Mother Panic/ Batman Special delivers a fun and wacky take on the characters that you can enjoy even outside of the event. The Milk Wars rage on and consistently deliver forcibly good, clean fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Milk Wars: Doom Patrol/JLA Special #1

Mar 7, 2018

The Milk Wars have been a wild and sometimes confusing ride, but this issue ties everything together beautifully. The perfect closer to a very fun event, full of twists and genuinely touching moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Paper Girls #19

Jan 10, 2018

Brian K. Vaughn weaves a rich and rewarding tapestry of time travel with characters you will absolutely love. Throw in the amazing art by Cliff Chiang, and you've got a real winner of a book. Paper Girls delivers, time after time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Paper Girls #20

Feb 15, 2018

While not the most action-packed or plot heavy issue, this one was full of nice character moments and ends with a fun reveal. Like most issues of this, I don't feel like I have the full picture, but I'm not supposed to, which gives the series a good air of mystery. I can't wait to see what is next!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sherlock Frankenstein & The Legion of Evil #3

Dec 29, 2017

Lemire prepares for a fantastic conclusion in an equally fantastic miniseries that I am sad will be over soon also on the edge of my seat to see. I absolutely love Sherlock Frankenstein!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sherlock Frankenstein & The Legion of Evil #4

Feb 1, 2018

My only disappointment with this book is that it is over. I love these characters and I would read so much more of them. I'm sure we'll probably see more of them in future issues of Black Hammer and its miniseries. Whatever the wait is, it will be too long. I love Black Hammer and I love this book. Nobody builds a universe like Jeff Lemire.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Swamp Thing Winter Special #1

Feb 13, 2018

2017 was a rough year for Swamp Thing fans. To lose Bernie Wrightson and Len Wein in the same year was hard. This Winter Special is the core of what makes Swamp Thing work, and what has kept this shambling moss monster in people's minds and hearts since 1971. I loved every bit of it, and I'm sure somewhere in the Green, Bernie and Len are smiling Thank you, Tom King,, Jason Fabok, and of course Kelley Jones.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Demon: Hell is Earth #2

Jan 4, 2018

While I don't think it's going to be winning any Eisners, The Demon is a damn good time and a hell of a lot of fun. It's a good read for old and new fans of Etrigan alike.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Demon: Hell is Earth #3

Feb 1, 2018

The Demon: Hell is Earth continues to deliver a fun and fresh take on a character which has had a little bit of an identity crisis in his history. This miniseries delivers on the aspects of the earlier runs of the Demon that I liked, but also gives me things I always wanted from the character but never saw. One hell of a fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Demon: Hell is Earth #4

Mar 20, 2018

While slower than the last issue, this one delivers a lot of character development and shows a humanity in Jason Blood that we don't often see. In a series this action-packed, it was nice to catch up with the characters themselves. A good issue, and a good addition to the Demon lore.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Demon: Hell is Earth #5

Apr 1, 2018

This issue lays the groundwork for a big spectacular ending, but also delivers a few wild surprises of its own. All in all a very fun issue that really helps build excitement for the end. I'm excited to see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More