GCBTs's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Graphic Policy Reviews: 13
8.5Avg. Review Rating

9
Bad Moon Rising #5

Feb 7, 2016

Bad Moon Rising #5 is pure fun, with lots of action, a good storyline, and a host of indelible characters. The visuals are on point, capturing every snarl and bone-crushing maul in darkened vivid detail.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Brooklyn Animal Control (One-Shot) #1

Dec 10, 2015

As a one-shot it doesn't really stand alone as a must have story. Then again, who knows, if the show makes it big, it might become a collectible.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Clandestino #2

Mar 15, 2016

The dialogue is blunt and terse, overladen with invectives. Spartan in their communications with each other, the rebel couple seamlessly and violently works together to escape maybe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Faith (Mini-Series) #1

Jan 18, 2016

I highly recommend you go out and buy it. This introductory issue is a fun simple read, and sets the stage for a larger alien kidnapping conspiracy that will envelop Zephyr, aka Faith, in the exciting Valiant Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Graduate #1

Jan 21, 2016

I look forward to Hughess take on Super Hero time management, and this one is now added to my pull list. I just hope the characters get old and decrepit before I do.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hero Hourly #2

Jan 13, 2016

Im going to have to reach out to the editors at Graphic Policy to add a new rating for this one. Its not a BUY; its a BUY2. Get two copies; they might appreciate enough in value one day to be able to sell them off to pay off your mortgage to avoid The Foreclosure.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Manchettes Fatale #1

Jan 15, 2016

Maybe it went over my head, but the only good moment I can recall was the relief I felt when I saw these two words: "The End." This is at best a niche book for a limited audience of French Lit lovers of purposeless nihilistic violent endings.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ragnarok #7

Jan 16, 2016

Issue #7 is the perfect jumping point for old and new Walt Simonson fans alike, as Ragnaroks mythic second chapter beings in The Games of the Gods.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Raygun #1

Mar 11, 2016

This was a solid read, and a good story, for what may be a promising series. It's a light introduction meant for a younger audience; but if like me, you're into sci-fi, then it will prove to be enjoyable. The art is rendered in black and white, with good anime style visuals (which I hope are eventually colored). I, for one, look forward to the second issue, and the fleshing out of the rest of the supporting cast"especially the nerdy side kick.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Samurai: The Isle With No Name #1

Mar 13, 2016

Takeo, our magical sword wielding Ronin hero, is on a quest to learn more of his brothers secrets. Meanwhile, another Samurai makes his way to the same Island, as an enforcer for a feudal overlord, coming to collect theannual tariff. Every year the islanders must pay tribute should their champion(s) fail to best the Lords contractedwarrior tax-collector. To make matters worst, the island natives fall prey to a yearly plague that makes its appearance in coincidence with the annual tax. Alongside the two Samurai, we are introduced to a loving old couple: a caring wizened old man whose sickly wife lies near death. How it all connects, I surmise, will be revealed in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Tet #4

Dec 1, 2015

However, I will tell you this, issue #4 concludes this well drawn tragic love tale. Lt. Smith's and Bao's friendship is put to a finaltest, and the Lieutenant may finally come to terms with his pain. If you are a fan of smart crime noir, andgritty war comics, this one is for you. The story is heartbreaking, but overall, extremelysatisfying. Tet is a sleeper that hasnt got too much attention; butit should.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Eighth Seal #1

Dec 9, 2015

The story focuses on Amelia, the current First Lady, who battles the savage evil spirits plaguing her psyche. Each mental episode murderouslyescalates into her reality.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Voracious #1

Feb 8, 2016

As I stared at the cover of Voracious #1, I wondered how can this possibly work"dinosaurs and a cleaver wielding celebrity chef"but work it does. This book is a testament to what good writing, exciting visuals, and some well placed panels can accomplish.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

1st

November

More