Jake Vyper's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Epicstream Reviews: 11
7.0Avg. Review Rating

6
Black Panther vs. Deadpool #1

Nov 9, 2018

Overall, Kibblesmith is able to balance these totally different characters so well but after considering what's on the stake and why they're fighting, their conflict looks more like a silly scene from a Monty Python film than an epic crossover. 

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Black Panther vs. Deadpool #2

Dec 6, 2018

Black Panther vs. Deadpool #2 may offer some clever fourth-wall breaking humoronly possible with Deadpool's presence but Ortiz's messy artwork and the way the story stumbles at the end of this chapter ruin the reading experience of what could have been an epic team up. The two heroes may have successful blockbusters this year but if you think we'll eventually get a crossover movie with the pair in the future, they would need to come up with something better.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Dead Man Logan #1

Dec 4, 2018

Dead Man Logan #1 is agood start for a 12-issue series, and whileit's hard to know why we need another series to conclude Old Man Logan's tale at this point, it's good to see how the series is tying into the character's beginnings without being dragged by the character's grim future (or past?). With only a few months to live, it looks like Logan's tragic fate is already written, but I'm hoping that the rest of the story won't be a predictabledrag.Hopefully, the opening issue's lighthearted moments would reflect the ending of Logan's story. Ed Brisson, who's also one of the writers of the ongoing Uncanny X-Men, is expanding Old Man Logan's tale with a strong start by clearly showing us the main conflict but even with Henderson's well-paced action scenes, I can't help but feel the barren possibilities of Logan's future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Spider-Geddon #0

Oct 11, 2018

Overall, this is a good start to a fun Spider-Man storyline I can't wait to continue. Crain's artworks here look great, and the Gage's writing is a good, lighthearted build-up to an epic storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Spider-Geddon #1

Oct 17, 2018

Overall, Spider-Geddon #1 is a disappointing start. It's fascinating to see its massive cast of characters come together again but this chapter doesn't do much to give all of them a chance to shine individually and show what they can do as a team. Spider-Geddon #0 had more character development but things can still turn around in the next issue if Spider-Geddon finds a way to take this epic war into new directions. 

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #1

Nov 16, 2018

Overall, Uncanny X-Men #1 is loaded with some awesome superhero visuals we expect from a great X-Men title but even with 64 pages, the story fails to generate excitement because of its lack of an emotional hook, context, central conflict, and an explanation that would make us care about the mutants. The amazing artwork and fun dialogue are not enough to give this relaunch the spark it needs to rekindle the franchise. The whole issue feels more like a long extended trailer rather than a catchy beginning of a blockbuster movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #2

Nov 26, 2018

This ten-issue weekly story is just getting heated-up and I can't wait to see what the talented team of writers and artists are brewing in the upcoming issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #3

Nov 29, 2018

Uncanny X-Men #3 is an excellent X-Men issue that balances meaningful dialogue, well-paced story, and spectacular action to give us the best possible mutant experience thanks to its talented team of artists and writers. Every page, panel, and speech bubble were efficiently used to give us a cinematic story. With seven more weekly issues to go, I'm looking forward to seeing how the story of Uncanny X-Men will develop.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #4

Dec 19, 2018

Uncanny X-Men #4 may not be as epic as the previous issue but it continues to develop an epic story that raises the question: "How can the X-Men defeat a villain who's essentially like a god?" The talented team of writers and Perez are giving fans what they love about X-Men and possibly building-up to something we haven't seen in any X-Men comic or movie before.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #5

Dec 19, 2018

Uncanny X-Men #5 may have drawn attention for its controversial scene with X-Man but let's not forget to appreciate the beauty of its art and epic storyline. The fifth issue offers stunning scenes and intense conflicts but it also shows us that there's a personal side to the huge roster of characters in this series. The series' team of talented artists and writers are developing one of the best Marvel storylines we've seen yet and I'm looking forward to seeing what the key characters will accomplish in this epic war.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Uncanny X-Men (2018) #6

Jan 4, 2019

Uncanny X-Men #6 is a solid start to the climactic battle between the X-Men and X-Man and although some scenes felt rushed, the story progresses well overall. Cinar has crafted some spectacular action scenes though I wish some parts didn't happen so fast so I could see him flesh out some key actions, especially the final Sharingan-like scene with Legion. Despite the issue's shortcomings, it's still loaded with action-packed fun and surprises.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

1st

March

More