James Miller's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 14
6.6Avg. Review Rating

8
Anchor #1

Oct 15, 2009

This is a great read, quick to get through, yet immense in its imagery. BOOM! Studios has been putting out some quality work, which, for being such a young company, is awesome. Ive begun to look forward more to what theyre putting out next than what larger companies are doing with their established characters. Keep it coming!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Angel: A Hole in the World #2

Jan 7, 2010

Get the first issue first. You can get by without it, but I think there may be more of an emotional impact with the whole story to flow together. All in all, its an alright comic, there just isnt really a whole lot of draw to it. I can fully understand transferring a piece of literature to film, but the other way around? It seems redundant unless youre adding something to the story--something important, which this is not.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Army of Two #1

Jan 16, 2010

Bottom Line! I was quite indifferent to this comic. I hoped for something more, but, as with the game, I was a little disappointed. They have potential to move this series beyond the average shoot-em-up-heroes-always-win story by touching on current world issues and dynamic character relationships, but I have a feeling theyll play it safe and just have the good guys shoot everything until they somehow win. Pity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? #4

Oct 12, 2009

Dick wrote this story 40 years ago and it rings true even more today than it did then. Back then it was just science fiction. Frighteningly today its looking more and more like reality.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Faction #0

Aug 21, 2009

What we've got with Faction is a classic tale of good versus evil with all the regular trappings of a fantasy story and a bit of sci-fi tech thrown in for good measure. There's nothing really wrong with any of the above, except that it feels as though it's been done before, and, unfortunately, better.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
FVZA: Federal Vampire and Zombie Agency #1

Oct 26, 2009

If you havent been vampired out by the super-saturation of the undead this Halloween season, pick it up, if for nothing else but the art. Just please dont forget the days when vampires still had their fangs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hard Drive #1

Sep 10, 2009

For more information on this comic, see cyberpunkcomics.com

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Irredeemable #6

Aug 31, 2009

Overall, this comic was very good, earning a solid three and a half bulelts. The writing alone would earn 4 bullets, but the art, again well done apart from the story, detracts from the storys mood. Pick this one up and enjoy! I think it'll be worth while.

View Issue       View Full Review
2
Kill Audio #3

Dec 3, 2009

Unless youve been following this from the beginning and already know whats happening, dont bother with this one, youll just be lost. The only thing I took from this comic is that they somehow manage to kill Heavy Metal, which is just wrong. Anyone who knows anything about Heavy Metal knows that you cant kill the Metal. It would be kind of amusing if Heavy Metal came back in the next issue and took his revenge. That would be awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Leather Wings: Semblance #1

Oct 28, 2009

I wouldn't say that writing is Lamin's strong point, but the captions work in expanding the image beyond the edges of the page. Truly the tales worth seeing in this book are the ones drawn, not written.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Robotika: For A Few Rubles More #3

Nov 28, 2009

Satisfying for people looking for both superficial (if serious) content and something a little more esoteric, this is a great pair of books. Light on dialogue, it makes up for that where it counts, giving the reader a definite sense of whats happening without bashing them over the head with the subtler points. Pick it up and enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Silent Leaves Exceptions to Life #1

Oct 7, 2009

Other than the proofreading errors, some confusing panels, and the gratuitous nudity this is an epic tale complete with equally grand visuals that has a great deal of potential. Im looking forward to the next volume. I just hope someone proofreads the book before sending it to the printer--and please, please, give those models a blanket or something. They look cold.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Vincent Price Presents The Tingler #1

Sep 14, 2009

Vincent Price Presents The Tingler #1 sounds a bit cheesy, but it's a good story to delve into. The story is interesting, if a bit cliched. The art isn't awesome, but isn't bad either and overall makes for a solid beginning to what looks to be a promising tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Vincent Price Presents The Tingler #2

Oct 1, 2009

The second issue carries on all the great stuff from the first issue--the dialogue and '50s horror movie camp--but lags in pacing. The last few pages had me ready for more, which is great, but with how quickly this issue wraps up it feels like they could have fit it nicely in with a whole other issue.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

July

More