Jason Graham's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Big Glasgow Comic Page Reviews: 47
8.5Avg. Review Rating

5.0
Big Trouble In Little China #11

May 26, 2015

I feel Big Trouble in Little China #11 is for die-hard fans of the movie or for fans of Eric Powell who is good at fantasy horror writing but i feel he's not getting to do his full magic in this book. I may have caught the series on an off issue and normally love movie and television tie-ins but this doesn't hit the mark for me, which i find a shame as Jack Burton is a legend.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Blackcross #3

May 13, 2015

Project Superpowers: Blackcross #3 isn't bad but is nothing overly spectacular either and i don't like saying that about Warren Ellis's work but as i haven't read the first two issues and have only had minor encounters with the Golden Age characters in this book, which is a shame as i do enjoy the Masks series and the issue of Legenderry: Green Hornet i read is a lot of fun, showing that Dynamite can make the Golden Age characters work. I have faith that the final three issues will be sterling in their execution.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
D4VE2 #1

Sep 18, 2015

The positive aspects of D4VE2 #1 is for the best part the artwork it far outshines the story. The negatives of the book is the annoying vulgar humour which is even weirder with robots. I haven't read the first series so I'm giving the book the benefit of the doubt and the last page did throw a few questions out that I'm intrigued to see answered. It's just this issue reads like a bad drama with a few swear words thrown in to make it seem funny. Not a great start to a series for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Doc Savage: The Spider's Web #1

Dec 4, 2015

The healthiest man alive returns in a new series where events from his past resurface.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Fistful Of Blood #1

Oct 22, 2015

Remastering of Simon Bisley classic, babes, guns and zombie & vampire cowboys. Nuff said

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Fistful Of Blood #2

Nov 25, 2015

Fistful of Blood #2 continues on with the mysterious stranger in town making her presence felt.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero #215

Jun 23, 2015

As a hero falls, a new one must rise to take his place. G.I. JOE mourns Snake Eyes and prepares for what comes next"

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero #216

Jul 22, 2015

G.I. JOE: A Real American Hero #216 As G.I. Joe continues to mourn the loss of one of their greatest members, Cobra consolidates its power and brings long-departed villains back into the fold"

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero #217

Aug 18, 2015

Very heavy on the words from the world of G.I. Joe. More power point than power struggle.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
John Carter: Warlord of Mars #10

Aug 26, 2015

The positive aspects of the story in John Carter: Warlord of Mars #10 is that it's a nice wee tale with big pages of art and focuses on Tars Tarkas with nice art and character building. The negative side is that the tale may be too simple and of no relevance or consequence to the Barsoom universe rather than to remind folk what a badass Tars is and that Woola is not to be trifled with either. I can't dislike this story even for its simplicity as i have a respect for Edgar rice Burroughs and his Barsoom world and the ingenuity of his world building that was created over a 100 years ago and how it stands the test of time and is better than some efforts that appear in the sci-fi genre today. There is i feel still a place for the old-fashioned good versus evil, bright and bold heroic stories without them resorting to dark, gritty and depressing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Legenderry Vampirella #4

May 19, 2015

The character of Vampirella has been on the go since 1969 and crossed several publishers but is still going strong and looks to show sign of faltering and this interpretation is a fine addition to an already mighty bibliography .

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Legenderry Vampirella #5

Jun 11, 2015

It all ends here with Vampirella versus everybody and a few surprises thrown in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Legenderry: Green Hornet #4

May 12, 2015

The only downside with Legenderry: Green Hornet #4 is no recap at the beginning as i only reviewed this issue and now really want to investigate the Legenderry world and see the steampunk reimagining of Dynamites Characters and also what came before, including the other spin offs. This book is a blast, fun and good entertainment and i hope the conclusion in the next issue is as enjoyable as this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Legenderry: Green Hornet #5

Jun 25, 2015

The Green and Brass Hornets have a big showdown in an even bigger building. Fighting ensues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Masks 2 #1

Apr 9, 2015

Classic heroes in action and intrigue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Masks 2 #3

Jun 1, 2015

Masked crusaders fighting crime through time

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Masks 2 #4

Jul 1, 2015

The time travelling Masks meet and the threat of the Red Death is explained. She then shows them why she is not to be messed with.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Masks 2 #6

Sep 3, 2015

Good issue, time hopping and ass kicking.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Masks 2 #7

Oct 9, 2015

Masks 2 #7 is the penultimate issue of this time hopping adventure. Let the showdown commence.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Masks 2 #8

Nov 19, 2015

A nice finish to the mini series with our classic crime fighters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Power Up #1

Jul 23, 2015

It has been foretold that four noble warriors of incredible strength would be gifted with cosmic abilities at a moment of planetary alignment...which, yeah, something definitely went wrong here. Amie is a disaffected twentysomething with a lot of attitude, Kevin is a washed-up athlete way past his prime, Sandy's a mother of two teenagers, and Silas...is a goldfish. Just a normal goldfish. Are we sure we read that prophecy right?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Power Up #2

Aug 19, 2015

The weirdness continues when the four strangers see how they have powered up.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.4
Power Up #4

Oct 30, 2015

The day to day lives of powered up everyday folk and its as exciting as it sounds

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sherlock Holmes: The Seven-Per-Cent Solution #1

Aug 27, 2015

Hidden secrets of the super sleuth. Cracking first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Sherlock Holmes: The Seven-Per-Cent Solution #2

Sep 9, 2015

The plot thickens in a cracking send issue of the comic book adaptation of the Nicholas Meyer novel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Solar: Man of the Atom #12

May 14, 2015

Solar: Man of the Atom #12 the final issue from a stand alone point of view is fast, fun, dramatic and emotional which is not bad considering there where 11 issues prior to this but can still be enjoyed, i think i will be picking up the collected books as this is a character i have always been intrigued by.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Color Classics Vol. 3 #7

Jul 8, 2015

In "City at War, Part Five," the TMNT and their allies must face their personal doubts, motivations, and mortality as the war for New York continues to explode out-of-control around them!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Tet #1

Sep 10, 2015

A first issue that fizzles more than starts with a bang.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
The Shadow (2015) #1

Aug 6, 2015

The Shadow Vol 2 #1, Has a ruthless cabal of magicians searching for the secret to the Last Illusion, and they'll stop at nothing to achieve their goals. But the person who knew the most about the mysterious rite is dead, and he shared his secret with one man -- the Shadow! Now, the Shadow faces some of his strangest foes as he engages in a deadly game where he might be the hunter... or the hunted.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
The Shadow (2015) #2

Sep 4, 2015

Nice plot driven issue. The Shadow is put to the test.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
The Shrinking Man #1

Jul 29, 2015

Richard Matheson's exploration of shrinking manhood is brought to vivid life in this comic-book adaptation! Scott Carey, reducing 1/7" per day, faces tension big and small as his body continues to shrink away"

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
The Shrinking Man #2

Aug 12, 2015

Wee Scott Carey's wee man syndrome/Napoleon complex goes from bas to worse in this cracking little story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Shrinking Man #4

Oct 28, 2015

Great wee Story with big issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
UFOlogy #2

May 21, 2015

In conclusion UFOlogy #2 is an intriguing thriller and well written, and the next four issue should be a captivating read to see where the story takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
UFOlogy #3

Jun 25, 2015

The strangeness in Mukawgee continues with melting men and weird alien goings on.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
UFOlogy #4

Aug 5, 2015

UFOlogy #3 has Malcolm recall a fond memory of his long-gone mother which leads to he and Becky bond and finally team up to investigate the alien technology he found the night before. But someone is wise to their activities and looks to remove them from the equation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
UFOlogy #5

Sep 15, 2015

UFOlogy #5 is a cracking book in the series and well worth the wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
UFOlogy #6

Nov 4, 2015

UFOlogy #6 brings the alien weirdness to an end or is it? Great stuff

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Uncanny: Season Two #1

Apr 1, 2015

A fast paced thriller.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Uncanny: Season Two #2

May 7, 2015

All in all Uncanny Season 2 #2 is above average and is a start of a story arc, so the build up is necessary but not always as exciting and intriguing as it could be. None the less its still a good story with good characters and interesting plot and universe

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncanny: Season Two #3

Jun 3, 2015

Weaver and Co start a mission and good and bad is a growingly grey area.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Uncanny: Season Two #4

Jun 30, 2015

Holly sees the light and Weaver finds out about his childhood from his Father.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Uncanny: Season Two #5

Aug 13, 2015

Its all coming to an end in this cracking issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Uncanny: Season Two #6

Sep 2, 2015

The good points of Uncanny: Season 2 #6 is that this chapter brings to the end a continuing arc over the past two seasons and questions are answered with some nice justice being dealt. The downside is that more questions are asked and new plot threads introduced and the season ends on a potential cliff hanger, so i hope this is an indication of more to come or i will not be happy with Mr Diggle even if he did say on Facebook that he felt like writing something Losers style. Thorough enjoyed season 2 as the book has a nice action adventure feel to it and they characters are more human than stereotypes, although the bad guy is a mean SOB.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Vampirella (2014) Annual #1

Oct 1, 2015

In conclusion the Vampirella Annual 2015 was a pleasant surprise with cool characrters and great wee story, nothing ground breaking but well put together, entertaining and funny with great art and the potential to make a good team book with some of the horrors most iconic characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Will Eisner's The Spirit #4

Oct 21, 2015

The 75th anniversary of the iconic Will Eisner character continues in good old fashioned style.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Will Eisner's The Spirit #6

Dec 25, 2015

In conclusion Will Eisner's The Spirit #6 is a nice wee book with the hero being a vigilante of the old school, who doesn't belong to some para-military or government organisation, does good for the sake of doing good and has a sense of humour and is confused by woman. This is how comic book heroes should be. I enjoyed the book and don't really have anything negative to say, this story arc is half way through and the reemergence of the shadow has happened so the villain and their motives have to be revealed now.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More