Katie Beste's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Daily Fandom Reviews: 9
8.2Avg. Review Rating

7.9
A Sparrow's Roar #OGN

Oct 30, 2019

Not every comic has to be groundbreaking or hugely subversive to be good, and A Sparrows Roar is a prime example. While the idea of good versus evil is a little simplistic for my tastes, it is a solid story overall. So, what are you waiting for? Give it a read today and discover just what makes a sparrow roar!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Archie: 1955 #1

Sep 18, 2019

Overall, I feel this is a good introduction to this comic run. Though I have some concerns about the content going forward, this issue did a good job of setting up the story and giving the readers questions theyll want to be answered. All thats left now is to wait and see what follows for Archie and his friends in 1955.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Family Tree #1

Nov 13, 2019

With the solid base Family Tree #1 provides in our characters, I feel ready to see where their journey takes them. My questions right now are about the pot, not about trying to understand who these people are and what they want, though certainly there is more to understand about these characters. Now that the story has roots, I look forward to seeing how the Family Tree grows.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Family Tree #2

Dec 18, 2019

Though many of my questions remain unanswered, I'm really excited about where this is going. These new elements to the story really focus my questions and make me hungry for more. With danger surrounding these characters and a mountain of uncertainty, one thing is for sure; Family Tree #3 can't come soon enough!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Heart Attack #1

Nov 20, 2019

With intrigue and political upheaval, Heart Attack #1 certainly provides the baseline for what could be a really great comic series. Social movements are happening all over the United States, and this comic is positioning itself right in the heart of another one. Although fictional, I think the ideas we are beginning to see can remain applied to the world right now. Who knows how far theyll go in future issues?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Heart Attack #2

Dec 18, 2019

With what we now know about Charlie, it's clear that conflict is on the horizon for Jill. I'll be interested to see how that all plays out, and how I'm left feeling about Charlie when it's all over. I'm also looking forward to seeing how the wall impacts the story, and when we'll get to see Governor Prichard.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Noisemakers: 25 Women Who Raised their Voices & Changed the World #1

Feb 4, 2020

Stories have incredible power, and these ones are no exception. Noisemakers: 25 Women Who Raised Their Voices & Changed The World forges deep connections between readers and some of historys greatest women so far to transform our understanding of what is possible. A diverse cast of women and artists is here to teach, comfort and inspire everyone. Despite many hardships, these women prevailed. So why don't you pick up a copy of Noisemakers, find your voice, and make some noise today!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
November #1

Nov 6, 2019

While much of what November Volume I has given us so far is set up, it has me extremely excited for whats to come. With crime, terror, and violence sure to come, its not looking good for our three unlucky women, but the powerful emotions this graphic novella creates are well worth the sorrow. There are so many questions I need the answers to, and I have no doubt that with this amazing creative team its all going to pay off in the end. In the meantime, it looks like Ill just have to count down the days until March 2020, and November Volume II.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Butcher of Paris #1

Dec 9, 2019

The Butcher of Paris #1 is definitely worth checking out. With an interesting story and setting, detailed artwork, and a fascinating look at humanity, this comic will leave you thinking deeply about the human condition. If youre interested in serial killers, World War II, or true crime, the story will certainly appeal to you. With the holidays just around the corner, this is the perfect new comic to give to the murder fan in your life. So dive into some of the darkest parts of human history.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

1st

March

More