Katie Spencer's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Sirens of Sequentials Reviews: 9
9.6Avg. Review Rating

10
DC/Looney Tunes: Catwoman/Tweety and Sylvester #1

Dec 26, 2018

If you're looking for something fun and silly to read, this book and the rest of the DC Meets Looney Tunes line are highly recommended. It's a crossover that really shouldn't work but absolutely does on so many levels.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #1

Jan 24, 2019

DIE is a weird recommendation for me because I'm not usually big in the goth or horror genres. I don't know if I would have picked it up if I wasn't interested in Dungeons & Dragons already, but I'm glad I did. The fantasy and horror elements come together so well, and the worldbuilding keeps my attention. If tabletop RPGs and horror are your thing, check this series out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #3

Feb 13, 2019

Once again, if fantasy, RPGs, or horror interest you, you'll find something to love in DIE. Issue #3 is the best yet and a great time to get onboard with this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Die #4

Mar 19, 2019

Once again, DIE remains high on my pull list, and I've run out of friends to recommend it to. Horror, fantasy, spectacular art, and personal stories make this book something special and worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Die #5

Apr 10, 2019

DIE is a great read whether you're a fantasy veteran or someone just getting started. The long wait before the next issue is the perfect time to catch up with what has quickly become one of my favorite comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Life Is Strange #1

Dec 17, 2018

I do recommend playing the game or watching a long play of it before adding the comic to your pull list. If you're already a fan of the game, issue 1 shows a lot of promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Life Is Strange #2

Jan 3, 2019

I still recommend playing the game before reading the comic, if for no other reason than to have a better idea of what's going on. The significance of the deer along with Dana having a baby may be lost on those new to the franchise. However, if you're a fan of the games, Life Is Strange is a wonderful followup that continues the pathos and mystery.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Life Is Strange #3

Feb 4, 2019

Life Is Strange has been a welcome surprise. Usually video game tie-in comics are of…not great quality (I may have to track down a copy of the 1996 Doom comic for review), but this series has been a joy to read. I don't know if there are any plans to continue beyond the four-issue story, but there are definitely storytelling opportunities in this universe and with these characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Life Is Strange #4

Mar 5, 2019

I really enjoyed this arc as a fan of the games, and I hate to say that those who played the game will get the most out of the comic, so this recommendation is going to be two part. If this series sounds appealing to you, give the game a shot first. It's easy to play, it has pretty simple game mechanics, and it's very story-driven. The game is $20 in most places and it often goes on sale. If you're just not a gamer or you don't have any way of playing the game, maybe look up a longplay on Twitch or YouTube. It's a great 15-20-hour story that will catch you up on everything you need to know before picking up the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More