Mercedez Clewis's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho?, The Fandom Post Reviews: 11
9.0Avg. Review Rating

10
A Sign of Affection #1

Feb 20, 2021

Fans who want to see disabilities centered and celebrated in manga would do right by themselves to pick this volume up. Get it digitally, get it physically, or be like me and double-dip. Just get it, period, especially if youre like me and want to see disabilities become normalized in manga.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dr. Stone: Reboot: Byakuya #0

Feb 25, 2021

All in all, I found Dr. STONE Reboot: Byakuya to be a really good spin-off volume about a valuable character. Byakuya is an incredibly likable character, as are the crew members of the Soyuz. Rei is a cute addition to the wide, wide world of Dr. STONE, and honestly, is the star of this standalone volume. Definitely snag a copy of this if youre any level of Dr. STONE fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Heterogenia Linguistico #1

Feb 19, 2021

As I said, fans of Delicious in Dungeon will most likely really be charmed by this series. I also think fans of Sleepy Princess in Demon Castle will feel at home here as well. In fact, Hakabas antics frequently reminded me of Princess Syalis own in the demon keep. Additionally, fans of linguistics, history, and anthropology will find a pleasant story that delves into loads of RPG-esque beasties with kindness and understanding.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Heterogenia Linguistico #2

Feb 24, 2021

Dont sleep on Heterogenia Linguistico Volume 2. Its a one-of-a-kind story thats got so much heart.Admittedly, Heterogenia Linguistico Volume 2, and the series overall, wont be for a lot of readers. However, if youre into languages, fictional cultures, and have ever asked the question, Do RPG monsters have lives?, then youve simply gotta get into Heterogenia Linguistico.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Inside Mari #1

Jan 22, 2021

In the end, Inside Mari Volume 1 is a really strong first volume in a series thats haunting, discomforting, and curious all the same. I have no clue where this story will go, though Im eager to pick up volume 2 and get current with the series. Isao and Maris body switch, as well as the mystery of why it happened, is an intriguing hook that will keep fans of mystery and drama eagerly waiting to see how things unfold.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sachi's Monstrous Appetite #1

Feb 7, 2021

Fans of the monster girl genre will find a very genuine story between its covers. I highly recommend that fans of series like Burn the Witch, and even The Promised Neverland, pick up this first volume and give Sachis Monstrous Appetite a try. Hopefully, you'll find yourself feeling as stuffed as Sachi is!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Strawberry Fields Once Again #1

Mar 15, 2021

Granted, this is a high school romance, so if youre a bit tired of teenage romances, this might not have too much appeal. That being said, I think theres something for every kind of Yuri fan in Strawberry Fields Once Again Volume 1. Give it a try, and see what you think!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Emperor and I #1

Mar 11, 2021

Folks who are looking for a nice, short slice-of-life series will find themselves at home with matos hilarious series. Fans of series like Tamamo-chan is a Fox or even Komi Can't Communicate will find similar comedic beats, even if the premises are radically different.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Girl with the Sanpaku #1

Jan 22, 2021

Fans of Komi Cant Communicate will feel right at home with Amane. I also think theres some crossover appeal for fans of Please Tell Me! Galko-chan. Even if youve never engaged with either of those works, theres definitely something here for every kind of fan, especially those who really vibe with the shoujo genre in general.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
The Witcher: Fading Memories #1

Nov 25, 2020

The Witcher: Fading Memories is a lush start to a four-issue miniseries focused on Geralt in a world where monsters are almost gone. A beautifully illustrated and colored character study, this inaugural issue is an engrossing read that you'll find yourself reluctant to put down. Sword and sorcery fans will find a solid story here, as will fans of The Witcher overall. Additionally, Witcher fans who are coming from the 2019 Netflix adaptation will still find themselves engrossed in Geralt's world as he tries to figure out where his path is taking him, as well as how to fit into a seemingly hopeless world. Overall, this first issue is worth picking up, whether physically or digitally.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tokyo Fashion: A Comic Book #1

Mar 25, 2021

All in all, Im really glad I got to spend some time with Tokyo Fashion: A Comic Book. As a comic, its a thick, enjoyable read. But as a fashion guide, thats where Tokyo Fashion: A Comic Book really excels. Its fun, its straightforward, and honestly, theres a lot of really good advice within. Nodokas advice is witty, enlightening, practical, and best of all, easy to implement into your current wardrobe with a few adjustments. Coupled with a solid, but playful translation, stylish lettering, and an overall high quality of production, Tokyo Fashion: A Comic Book is an easy recommendation.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

February

2nd

January

December

More