Rebecca Benson's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Pastrami Nation Reviews: 18
8.2Avg. Review Rating

10
Autumnal #1

Sep 22, 2020

The Autumnal #1 is the perfect book to welcome in the change of seasons. I know I am definitely going to be enjoying this series!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Autumnal #3

Nov 22, 2020

It's as if I'm watching a horror movie and encouraging the main character to always look behind them and to pay attention. I am impatiently waiting for all of this to play out in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Deep Beyond #1

Jan 17, 2021

Mirka Andolfo (W) & David Goy (W), Andrea Broccardo (A), Barbara Nosenzo (C), and Fabio Amelia (L) have created an exceptional piece.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Hollywood Trash #1

Jul 20, 2020

Typical movie characters are coupled with recognizable real-life people, both from reality TV shows"and their hosts"to Netflix series. The juxtaposition of career spectrums, living the dream in Hollywood vs. being a hero in everyday working-class life, adds another dimension to this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Knights of the Golden Sun #11

Mar 14, 2021

You can't go wrong when writer Mark London masterfully weaves stories straight from the Bible with his own imaginings.!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Mooncakes OGN

Jul 26, 2020

Working with the Deaf and Hearing and Hearing community myself, it's great to see a portrayal of the strength of having to rely on other senses. I enjoyed the novel's depictions of different family dynamics. It shows that all families are held together in distinctive ways; that love and acceptance are at the core.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
My Little Pony/Transformers #1

Aug 6, 2020

Friendship in Disguise is a terrific, easy read for anyone of any age.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Origins (2020) #1

Nov 8, 2020

For me, I greatly enjoyed and appreciated the subtle details. I urge readers to pay particular attention to the poses of statues, the words on the buildings, and the artifacts and displays at the Museum. There are many allegories and much symbolism at the Museum, where the Search Team has set up their home base. There is a story being told there as well"as one of the characters aptly foreshadows, Your past is your future. I hope to find out more answers throughout this series!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Origins (2020) #4

Feb 9, 2021

They have been able to captivate their readers fully. The storytelling is phenomenal, and the artwork! I've said this before: I absolutely love it when there is a balance of dialogue, narration, and art only panels. I very much felt as if I were there with our trio: looking for answers, fighting the good fight, and watching the world around me go up in explosions. "Origins" truly does not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Origins (2020) #5

Mar 17, 2021

The literary aspect Writer Clay McLeod Chapman works into the storyline always reminds me that comics are so much more than just panels and paper; They command words, colors, and passion. This is why I truly admire "Origins." It has a sort of poetic quality to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Pantomime #1

Sep 15, 2020

I am awed and amazed byPantomime! As aforementioned, I was slightly skeptical at how a reader would be able to read American Sign Language. However,Pantomimedelivers! This comic permeates into both the hearing and D/deaf worlds. Neither community is left out"which also appears as one of the many themes inPantomime. The same goes for readers; one does not need to know ASL to enjoy this comic! Teen to adult readers are in for great pleasure in reading this one!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Pantomime #2

Dec 6, 2020

With a final plan to secure their freedom, will the group have what it takes to see it to fruition? Hopefully we find out in Pantomime #3!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Pantomime #3

Jan 10, 2021

A great way to start the new year! Don't miss the opportunity to be immersed in this fantastic story!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Pantomime #4

Feb 17, 2021

What sets this issue apart from the others"kudos to Christopher Sebela"is that the story utilizes more narration. But don't get me wrong, it is far from boring. It serves as a perfect way to keep the story going.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Stairway Anthology (2020) OGN

Oct 7, 2020

If youre looking for a variety of stories and art in one album, check out Stairway: Anthology.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Down River People OGN

May 27, 2021

Wow. This story really hits home with its deep-seated themes: family, mental health, personal beliefs, loyalty. It astounds me how the creative team has tackled these issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
They Fell From The Sky #1

Dec 16, 2020

This issue features iconic scenes brought to life: the group riding their bicycles to Tommy's encounter with meeting an alien in the woods. However, "They Fell From the Sky" is different enough; that it isn't just a retelling of the same story. It'll be intriguing to see how Tommy adapts to his newfound situation!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Villainous #1

Sep 3, 2020

As a novice, I am quickly becoming a fan of Mad Cave Comics! Villainous does not disappoint. I appreciate the implicit details this comic incorporates, from being able to hear the story being told to boldly seeing the lineup of characters of the Heroes and The Shadow Order. I greatly admire that all readers can enjoy Villainous! I relish in the feeling of delight of getting wrapped up in an exceptional story!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More