Zachary Whittaker's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AIPT Reviews: 16
8.6Avg. Review Rating

8.5
20XX #1

Dec 3, 2019

Luna and Keely waste no time establishing a relatable protagonist in Mer, and a believable and immersive world in 20XX. Together they've created an interesting piece of science fiction that allows them to investigate real issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
20XX #2

Jan 7, 2020

This is a good continuation of 20XX but I do feel like it's quite a busy issue that might be trying to do too much too soon. While this does allow for an interesting cliffhanger, I can't help but wonder if this should've been saved for issue #3 in order to give more time to better establish the two rival gangs and their members.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Artemis and the Assassin #1

Mar 17, 2020

An interesting premise for a time travel book, with positive representation and great artwork from a promising creative team. I'm looking forward to picking up the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Artemis and the Assassin #1

Mar 17, 2020

An interesting premise for a time travel book, with positive representation and great artwork from a promising creative team. I'm looking forward to picking up the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Dead Day #1

May 26, 2020

A great, different take on a zombie story, with heaps of potential that I can't wait to read more of.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Doctor Tomorrow #1

Feb 11, 2020

Overall Doctor Tomorrow looks poised to be an interesting addition to Valiant's already rich tapestry of time-travelling tales.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Faithless #1

Dec 24, 2019

Faithless is a captivating read, that's beautiful and haunting in its illustration. It's filled with unforeseeable twists and if you're into tales that merge the mundane with the surreal this is definitely for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Heavy Vinyl: Y2K-O! #1

Apr 16, 2020

'Y2K-O!' is a solid continuation of 'Heavy Vinyl', bringing back everything that was enjoyable from the first volume with an extra helping of late '90s nostalgia. With no shortage of positive representation and a great cast of characters, I'll always have time for more from this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Kill A Man #1

Mar 30, 2020

With both a strong premise that tackles important topics and an incredible creative team, Kill A Man promises to bring something new to readers, whether they are new to or well versed in the worlds of MMA and the LGBTQ+ community.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Loud! #1

Feb 12, 2020

This is exactly what some people will be looking for in a graphic novel, and if you enjoyed Faithless this will almost definitely be right up your alley.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Money Shot #3

Dec 17, 2019

If you like sex-positive comics, genuine feeling characters and ludicrous science fiction, this is the series for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Money Shot #4

Feb 4, 2020

Money Shot has been an unpredictable journey so far. It's a comedy, sci-fi, sex comic that always keeps you guessing, and if you ask me it hasn't missed a beat so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Money Shot #5

Mar 3, 2020

I've had nothing but praise for Money Shot as a series, and I believe it's one of the best comics in recent memory, bringing together comedy, sex and science fiction at every opportunity.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Outer Darkness/Chew #1

Mar 3, 2020

If you're a fan of either of the series involved, you won't want to miss this. It captures everything that's great about both Chew and Outer Darkness, whilst feeling completely natural as an unexpected crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Sex Death Revolution #1

Apr 7, 2020

Dealing with topics such as identity and the events that shape us as a person, 'Sex Death Revolution' feels like both a surreal supernatural story and a deeply personal tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Vagrant Queen: A Planet Called Doom #1

Jan 28, 2020

This feels like a good starting point for Vagrant Queen and I'm definitely interested in both continuing with the series and catching up with what I've missed. If you're into female lead sci-fi, centred around secret royalty this is definitely a series for you.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More