Zakarya Anwar's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 9
6.8Avg. Review Rating

7
Cold Blooded Chillers #1

Nov 7, 2008

Heske delivers what you sets out to do, and if you pick up this comic for what it suggests from its cover or name, you will not be disappointed. Artwork fits in well, and the number of pages make it a value and a good buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Cold Blooded Chillers #3

Feb 9, 2009

For more information on Cold Blooded Chillers, click here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Conan the Cimmerian #0

Jul 4, 2008

A great read for those of us who are familiar with the poem and/or the character and world of Conan, and also a great place to start for new readers of the mythos. Conan the Cimmerian #0, though painstakingly short, is brilliant read from cover to cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Hack/Slash #1

Oct 17, 2008

Worth picking up if you want someone to introduce you to Cassie. Good cover, good art, good writing. Blood, goth chick in her underwear, violence, torture, a little more blood, goth chick in her underwear. A lovely yarn. Just lovely.

View Issue       View Full Review
4
Spooks: Omega Team #1

Jul 10, 2008

Overall, I didnt really like this comic all that much. However, to be fair to Hama, I was never really a big fan of G. I. Joe. If you like G. I. Joe, youll probably like this. It has the same attention to military detail. Otherwise, I would say thee nay.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Star Wars: Legacy #26

Sep 19, 2008

Ostrander, Duursema and the Legacy series. You dont really need a review to know its worth picking up. For those of you who do need one: its worth picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Warhammer: Crown of Destruction #1

Oct 6, 2008

A solid first issue. Not too adventurous, but not pants either. Art is good, writing is good, covers are good. Its all good. People more familiar with Warhammer mythos will enjoy this far more than those who are not however, although you wont need any previous knowledge of the mythos to enjoy the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
X-Men: Kingbreaker #4

Mar 17, 2009

So does it fulfil expectations? If you've been following Kingbreaker since its first issue, then the answer is "Hells yes, it does." The story arc is brought to a semi-close and the ending throws out a decent-sized revelation. If you haven't been following the story though, I'd advise you to steer clear of this. In true X-Men fashion, it's so deeply immersed in its own story that it would drive the newcomer to tears of confusion. As it is, for those of you who want to buy it for War of Kings' sake alone, it's not that important. I'm sure you'll get all of this in "the story so far" section anyway.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
ZMD: Zombies of Mass Destruction #1

Jul 19, 2008

Good writing, good artwork and a great premise, held back somewhat by the actual amount of time it takes to read it, ZMD #1 looks set to be the first issue in a great mini-series. Worth picking up, if only to know what's going on in #2.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More