Dave Robbins's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Brazen Bull Reviews: 8
7.6Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Aquaman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

I hate to damn Abnett's Aquaman with faint praise, but not being much of an "Aquafan" myself, I find little on these pages to cause me to get too excited. Not bad, but given all there is to read, this doesn't go on the top of the pile.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Bloodshot: Reborn #0

Mar 22, 2017

Bloodshot Reborn #0 earns a 6.5 out of 10 because there is too little menace and too much cute.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
James Bond #1

Mar 1, 2017

Dynamite's James Bond: Black Box #1 is an exciting start to an encouraging series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Magdalena (2017) #1

Mar 22, 2017

There's no shortage of comics about demonic possession these days, but this one is a clever addition and worth checking out. Nicely done with a promise of better to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Man-Thing (2017) #1

Mar 10, 2017

So far, I have to say I'm on Team Gerber, not Team Stine. I'm curious how this might pan out, so I'll give it another shot. The issue ends abruptly with a surprising encounter and standard punch out followed by a throwaway short "weird tale."

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rat Queens (2017) #1

Mar 6, 2017

With artwork of excruciating detail and manic energy, Gieni captures the spirit and personality of the Queen with a beauty and simplicity that is easy to enjoy. Wiebe gives us sharp dialogue and expertly turns our expectations upside down.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Sex Criminals #17

Mar 17, 2017

The story blends action and irreverence with humor. My biggest complaint is that the writers have a tendency to intrude in the narrative just a little too much. WE GET IT! We wouldn't be here otherwise.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Underwinter #1

Mar 22, 2017

A classic story told well and leaving me wanting more. I thought it was over too soon, and it left my anticipation for the next chapter so great as to be uncomfortable.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

April

5th

March

More