Dusty Good's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 132
6.6Avg. Review Rating

8.0
2000AD #2003

Oct 20, 2016

The lads across the pond have been doing comics up right for years now. It is a wonder that this kind of quality finds its way to market every week! It left me happy, smiling, and wondering if America will ever be able to catch up in the great comic's race.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Action Comics (2016) #964

Sep 30, 2016

While the story might feel a bit stale, there is enough life in these pages to keep me coming back and checking out what this creative team has in store for the last son of Krypton. Let's just hope that something new lies in wait"which judging by the last panel of the book, it looks like something big is on the horizon.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
All-New All-Different Avengers #5

Feb 16, 2016

hope that the creative team can be given the room they need to maneuver this book into a position that will get readers invested. Right now though" This is better left on the shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
All-New X-Men (2015) #4

Feb 15, 2016

This is a solid read and a story that I want to see continue. Like I said before, this is the strongest offering that has come out of the recent relaunch, and it treats the characters with respect and depth. It's hard to pass this title up when you can see how much care has been placed into it. A strong recommend for X-Fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-New X-Men (2015) #16

Dec 19, 2016

You could do better than this book"but you could also do a LOT worse than this middle of the road comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-New X-Men (2015) #19

Apr 4, 2017

While this series was a solid outing I'm not saddened to see it end. I look forward to the future and what the next round of mutant titles have to offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #5

Dec 28, 2015

I can't in good faith recommend this title. As a Marvel fan I want to, but as a bigger fan of good comics…this one is best left on the shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #2

Dec 16, 2016

I guess you can say that it's a Marvel Christmas miracle! Happy holidays everyone!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
American Monster #5

Oct 27, 2016

While I'm unsure if this series has the gusto to go into the same category as 100 Bullets I do know that it is a solid offering from a great team of creators. I'm intrigued to see where the series is heading.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Angel Season 11 #1

Jan 18, 2017

The art is solid on this book, the story however is stilted and a little hard to follow; not a good sign with this being the first issue and all. I expected a bigger bang for my buck with this re-launch. It looks like I over estimated Angel.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Archie (2015) #13

Oct 25, 2016

This series is all heart, nothing but heart. It deserves the accolades that it has received from across the industry and from outside media. This series continues to build a well-crafted and well told tale of youth, love and now loss. A must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Archie (2015) #14

Nov 18, 2016

I can't overstate just how good this comic is. From cover to cover this one is worth every cent you spend on it. Waid and his creative team have raised this book from the edges of obscurity and brought it back to the forefront for a whole new generation to discover. This may be the most successful relaunch I've read since Snyder and Capullo took over Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Archie (2015) #21

Jun 26, 2017

Woods has been on my radar since his work with DC's Superman. His characters and facial expressions are the perfect balance for a teen-drama series like this. I think that he is the ideal artist for this comic and Archie and the gang have rarely looked better.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Archie Meets Ramones (One Shot) #1

Oct 5, 2016

A weird quirky little comic that somehow satisfies. An oddity that proves that you never can tell what is going to work.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Avengers (2016) #2

Dec 12, 2016

At the end of the day this book feels like it's still trying to find its feet and its voice all at once. I'm not sure if fans will stick around long enough to find out if either happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Back to the Future #12

Sep 28, 2016

The story was well written. The characterization was strong. The plot moved at a satisfying clip. The art was decent. All of these things are usually enough to add up to a great grade, the one thing that is working against this title is that I don't think the BTTF hype is strong enough to garner this book much attention, which is a disservice to the creative team involved. This was a really good origin issue, that if you plug-in any other comic franchise, people would be talking about. Unfortunately, this creative team is going to have to continue toiling away unnoticed.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #11

Jun 19, 2017

All in all this was a decent comic. It's not a book that you should go out of your way to read, but if you pick it up you should be satisfied with the overall story and art. I place this comic firmly at average.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #21

Apr 21, 2017

This book is an homage to the history that has come before, yet willing to strike out into an exciting new direction. I don't know what any other company has in store for this summer, but right now it looks like DC will be running the show. Kudos to the creative team for an excellent read!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #1

Oct 31, 2016

Final Thoughts- The cover says issue one, but it's difficult to read this comic and not feel like you're missing part of the story. It's like walking into a movie when you've missed the first ten minutes" it doesn't ruin your ability to follow the film, but you sit there the whole time feeling like you missed an important piece of information that wasn't shared with you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #2

Nov 28, 2016

The plot thickens, but there wasn't much here to begin with. Just get to the good part and bring the Joker back! It's time for future Batman to go toe to toe with the Bruce's worst enemy.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batwoman: Rebirth #1

Feb 20, 2017

This concept had a ton of potential at the start. Rebuild Batwoman from the ground up; and let a pair of talented writers really delve in deep into a character that fans still know little about. DC needs to invest in Kate Kane. There is comic gold there; they just have to be brave enough to go after it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Brik #4

Oct 27, 2016

There is potential in this series, but the dry plot drags the book down. It's easy to see where the plot is going before it gets there. Interesting in its own way, but far from the breakout hit that it has the potential to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 11 #2

Dec 23, 2016

This title has flat lined. It's just a matter of time before Dark Horse pulls the plug.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.4
Bullseye (2017) #1

Feb 6, 2017

I went in really wanting this comic to be amazing. Instead I got stuck with a book that came off as second-rate. A terrible debut for a new series and one that fans should avoid in favor of better classic tales.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cannibal #6

Jun 14, 2017

This comic has the ability to really take hold if the readership turns out for it. So far I'm impressed with this title and the creators involved and will definitely be checking this book out again. Final Score: 4 out of 5 Stars

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain America: Sam Wilson #14

Oct 24, 2016

The current climate of politics is volatile to say the least. I'm surprised that Marvel is wading into the mix with this title. As always with politics you'll lose half your audience when you take a stand. It'll be interesting to see just how committed Marvel is to continue down this current path.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Captain America: Steve Rogers #6

Nov 1, 2016

. The story line is now so convoluted I'm unsure if Spencer or anyone else at Marvel can write their way out of this nightmare. The sooner this series comes to a close the better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Champions #4

Jan 6, 2017

After reading quite possibly one of the worst Marvel books in my recent memory, (Seriously, avoid U.S. Avengers at all costs) this was a much-needed reminder of what talent can accomplish. I can't wait to see what lies in store for the team next. This one is going on my monthly pull list for sure!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Civil War II: Kingpin #3

Oct 4, 2016

Final Thoughts: "Fighting issues" as I've come to call comics that hinge a bulk of the book on one-on-one fights, can come off like rock 'em sock 'em robots when done wrong. But when a creative team takes the time to install the right amount of story and stakes this type of issue can be ultimately satisfying. This book delivers and then some. The Kingpin comes off looking like the brutal beast that he really is and that should be the goal for a self-titled mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Civil War II: Kingpin #4

Oct 24, 2016

This is how Wilson Fisk should always be in comics. Brutal. Brilliant. Bloody.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Cyberforce: Artifacts #0

Jan 4, 2017

The simplistic approach to this issue isn't worth the cover price. This would have made a perfect Free Comic Book Day offering. A quick and easy read that wets the whistle of fans that have been missing the cybernetic heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Cyborg (2016) #5

Nov 28, 2016

This book has a lot of untapped potential; instead it's bogged down in the traditional approach of a hero in the hood. It's just too bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2015) #14

Dec 20, 2016

This title is running on full cylinders and with more folks looking at DD for the first time thanks to the hit Netflix series, this is a great way to hook in new fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Daredevil / Punisher: The Seventh Circle #2

Mar 17, 2016

The art is great and moves along nicely with the story, but as I stated at the beginning it was a story that moved way too fast, but then again, when the plot revolves around two characters like Daredevil and Punisher…what do you expect. You get what you would want out of a comic like this, so I guess it's mission accomplished for all parties involved.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #3

Mar 1, 2016

I get more depth and emotion from my Alex Ross wallpaper than this title will everachieve. Face it Frank, it's time to hang it up.You've become a parody of your ownBatman. You're old, out of touch, and well past your usefulness. It's time to passthe torch and let the younger guns leave their mark. You were great, but you needto stop. You're just embarrassing yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #7

Jan 2, 2017

It's time to give up the ghost. This series is just another thing that 2016 killed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Deadpool & The Mercs For Money (2016) #4

Oct 11, 2016

Fun. Fun. Fun. This comic was strong all the way around. If you like Deadpool then you're going to love this.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Deadpool (2015) #6

Jan 26, 2016

I'm not sure if Marvel is just killing time before the Deadpool movie launches or if this storyline is going to tie up some hanging plotlines. (I'm guessing no on that one) One thing is for sure, this can NOT be the book that new fans discover after they leave the cinema, they will leave this title faster than they picked it up. Changes better be in the works at Marvel… and I'm not talking 2099 kind of future either, I'm talking a major overhaul.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Detective Comics (2016) #946

Dec 20, 2016

By the end of the issue the question stands " Are the people who fight alongside Bruce better off or worse for having taken up his cause? I guess it will be another issue before we start to get our answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Strange (2015) #12

Oct 11, 2016

This is a series that has solidified Strange as a man as well as a magician. I fully believe that this current run will be the new measuring stick that is used to judge Doc Strange for decades. The rules of Stephen Strange are being rewritten as we speak and it's one hell of a thrill ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Who: The Twelfth Doctor: Year Two #9

Sep 29, 2016

A fun story that is accentuated by the artwork, making for a great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Drax (2015) #11

Oct 3, 2016

The art on this book was always a draw for me. Scott Hepburn deserves more credit than he's received. Always a pleasure to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Escape from New York #13

Dec 23, 2015

This is a universal story of a man coming to terms with who he is, who he was, and who he is destined to be. It is a tale about retribution and redemption. So many times in comics we get the story of the warrior riding off into the sunset but rarely do we get to see what happens when that sunset is not enough. The old saying goes “old habits die-hard”, but what do you do when your entire life has been the habit of fighting; be it for survival or personal gain? Some answers never come easy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ether #1

Oct 26, 2016

This is a solid offering from an accomplished team of creative individuals. I can see that this series is one that has some lasting power and that we all will be diving into the Ether over and over again for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ether #2

Oct 26, 2016

Not knowing if this is real or a dream has me questioning everything that Kindt has shown me. As a reader he has me off-balance, but in a good way, a way that will keep me coming back until I get my answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Evil Heroes #2

Sep 28, 2016

Pass this comic over and move on to a better title that is offered by Zenescope.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Extraordinary X-Men #8

Mar 17, 2016

For the first time in months I'm excited to see where an X-book is going to go next. This all might be a build up into a story featuring Apocalypse (Just in time for the Fox movie kids! YAY marketing!) but regardless I've got to say that I am intrigued.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Fissure #1

Dec 26, 2016

This is the start of something special, perhaps not this exact title; but this company. There is too much care and execution being placed into the final product to just be one time effort. I expect that in a few short years we will all be talking about Vault. This is what a winner looks like in small publishing folks. Go get your copy today and let your friends know that this is the beginning of the next wave of independent publishing. I'd bet my career on it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Flash (2016) #9

Nov 1, 2016

This is just a middle of the road offering for DC fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #14

Jan 18, 2017

Artwork is eye-catching, the plot is filler for the next action packed issue, but did provide some needed insight to the lives of the rogues outside of their crime filled ways.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Geek Girl #4

May 1, 2017

While this comic is not reinventing the genre, it is a decent start for this team and their character. Given time to mature and add some experience; this title has potential of becoming an interesting female entry into the struggling hero drama. I'm curious to see where this title will lead.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Generation X (2017) #1

May 18, 2017

I came to this title with such high hopes. I left very disappointed. I don't see this title lasting long and I won't be surprised when it gets cancelled. There's just not much here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ghostbusters Annual #2017

Jan 18, 2017

The artwork in this annual is great, but Dan Schoening's cartoon style stands heads and shoulders above the rest. The guy is incredible! The stories are what you expect in an annual; short to the point and self-contained. If you're a fan of the Ghostbusters then this is a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Giant Days #12

Mar 2, 2016

I have never handed out a perfect score on comiccrusaders.com before. I was saving it for a special title that caught me off guard and wowed me. GiantDays did that and then some. I give this comic the highest of recommendations.5 stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Go West #3

Mar 16, 2017

Quick Hit- There is a lot to love about this comic, but there is also a lot to hate.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Godzilla: Rage Across Time #5

Nov 28, 2016

I guess if you like Godzilla and action than this is the comic for you!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Gotham Academy #15

Feb 17, 2016

This may be a book for kids, but it's also a book for anyone who is still a kid at heart. High mark for this school.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Grand Passion #2

Dec 21, 2016

All kidding aside, Robinson and Feister have built a bizarre story of mystery and lust. For every page that seems to give the reader a straight forward plot there are two more pages giving you a curve. There is no way to guess what is going to happen next and that is ultimately the best-selling point of a title like this. This is a comic custom-built for fans of thrillers, heists, and everything not so nice.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #11

Nov 28, 2016

The art is sharp in this title and it's a quick read, but in the end this book just feels like filler waiting to get to the main plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #20

May 15, 2017

Anyway, fans will love it and haters will hate it. I've got to place this one right in the middle of the road.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #8

Nov 28, 2016

If you're going to go with a story like this then save it for an Elseworld's series or a Vertigo book. I know that Palmiotti and Conner think that they are being clever, but it the whole thing came off as the same gag we all saw in the original Austin Powers movie " Twenty years ago. If you're going to take the audiences there then have the stones to go all the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hawkeye (2016) #6

May 8, 2017

There is more than enough heart here to carry this book. I'm not sure that it will reach the heights of its predecessor but it has more than enough merits on its own to make readers care and invest in Kate's adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
I Hate Fairyland #14

Jul 19, 2017

The book even comes with a surprise ending, which I won't ruin here; but is so good you'll be craving the next issue of this hilarious series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Joe Golem: Occult Detective #3

Jan 6, 2016

Mike Mignola and Christopher Golden have made successful careers out of find the humanity in monsters; Joe Golem, for all intents and purposes, might be the zenith of these two creators at their best. Patric Reynolds art is paced beautifully not one line is wasted. This is one of the best reads I have had in a while and a delightful way to kick off 2016.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Joyride #8

Dec 22, 2016

Overall this book has great art, fun characters, and is worth the cover price. I am interested enough that I would like to read the back issues and keep up with this title and in the end I don't think a creative team can ask for any more than that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Jughead: The Hunger (One Shot) #1

Mar 29, 2017

If that doesn't peak your interest this entertaining tale I don't know what will. The story was a quick read; the art was VERY creepy and moody; all helping set the perfect stage for a book that would be great to read on Halloween.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Justice League (2016) #10

Dec 13, 2016

Simple storytelling and dynamic visuals are all it takes to make me a happy camper. This is good 'ole fashion comics and it hits the sweet spot of what makes superhero comics great.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #12

Jan 9, 2017

This issue isn't so much a Justice League issue, in fact the team only appears in one page of the comic, no, this issue is devoted to the backstory of Maxwell Lord who re-emerged in the first issue of JLA Vs. Suicide Squad.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2015) #6

Dec 31, 2015

I came into this book leery of yet another “God-like” being as the main villain to the Justice League. Too many times a near omnipotent opponent is the only way to expose any weakness or fault in a team that is as powerful as any deity. But Hitch proves his writing chops as he moves the story forward at a pace that keeps the readers, as well as the characters, off-balance and searching for answers. Paired with the visuals of a master at his comic creative peak and your left with a damn fine comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
KISS (2016) #1

Oct 23, 2016

Kiss is back in comics. Given the band's history with the medium I expected more and got a lot less. This is the same band that once shut down an entire city when they put some of their own blood in the printer's ink of their first Marvel comic. That kind of showmanship is sorely lacking in this offering. While I'm glad to see that the band has returned to the medium it would have been nice to have my face rocked off by the sheer magnitude of awesomeness that is KISS. Instead I'll have to make due with an average comic and subpar coloring.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
KISS (2016) #4

Jan 18, 2017

This whole series is just silly. Not in a good way either. The art is serviceable, but rough. The story is contrived and paper-thin. This is a comic that is only built for the hardest of the hardcore KISS fans. Regular comic fans need not apply.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kong of Skull Island #4

Oct 24, 2016

An unexpected twist on the history of a cinematic legend.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Lake of Fire #2

Sep 30, 2016

I will praise the creative team for stepping outside the traditional box and giving comic fans something new, the art was great and the characterization was strong. However, the negatives of the book pull it back down when it comes to my final grade. I would have liked to see this title made more reader friendly.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mechanism #1

Apr 15, 2016

This has the potential to be one of the biggest releases that Image has had since The Walking Dead. There is more than enough here to fuel a TV series or a movie. This is a comic that you can be proud to hand your friends and suggest that they “Read this”. I think that the sky is the limit for Mechanism and its creator. I give this my highest score and my full endorsement.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mechanism #5

Nov 17, 2016

When Mechanism began I hailed it as the next big Image property. A series that has the necessary chops to become the next major franchise to rival that of The Walking Dead; I believe that now more than ever. If this comic could find its way into the hands of the right director we could be talking about the birth of the next Sci-Fi classic. Only time will tell if we ever get to see Hollywood's take on Mechanism, but comic fans have it pretty good right now getting to enjoy this amazing work unfold in front of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mickey Mouse Shorts: Season One #4

Oct 14, 2016

The art is the real selling point here. Kids will enjoy the simple stories, but parents will love the artistic design.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Midnighter And Apollo #1

Oct 10, 2016

It's nice to hear that the Wildstorm Universe is coming back. The Authority was one of the best super hero team books on the shelves for a number of years and slowly faded away. With the looming return of so many interesting characters this title may be the precursor to amazing things. I say check this one out for the story, but to the collectors out there, you might want to grab a copy just in case this is the lightening rod that brings back the Storm.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Monty the Dinosaur #2

Sep 29, 2016

I think that it's safe to say that Action Lab has found a kid-friendly title that can easily appeal to little ones from all walks of life. Who knows?!? Maybe Monty will take off and be the next Barney. Every generation needs a lovable dinosaur right? Good luck Monty.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Mother Panic #5

Mar 27, 2017

This one is destined for the quarter bins if it continues this trajectory, as this is a huge waste of artistic talent. I'm giving my final score based mainly on my love of the artwork.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nancy Drew And The Hardy Boys: The Big Lie #2

Apr 17, 2017

I never thought that I would type this in a million years, but you need to go check out Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys. Wow! That felt somehow weirdly right.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Nighthawk #6

Nov 1, 2016

The story fizzles at the finish line.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ninjak #21

Nov 28, 2016

While this is a fun read the issue does feel like a slapped together conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
October Faction #12

Jan 7, 2016

This was a pleasant surprise. This book was off of my radar and I was unsure what I was getting into when I open the comic. By the last page I was eager to see where the story went next and looked forward to my next encounter with the Allan clan. Solid stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #12

Oct 18, 2016

Wolverine is the best at what he does; fortunately for us so is the creative team handling this book. This comic was a very strong offering all the way around.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Old Man Logan (2016) #17

Feb 3, 2017

If you are just now finding your way into this series, I urge you and implore you to go back to the very first issue, go back to the mini-series before that, go back to the inception of the idea that was laid down by Mark Millar in Wolverine #66 (Published in 2010)" go back and read it all. When looking at this series as a whole you begin to understand the layered tapestry that has been woven here. This is comic book perfection.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #22

May 2, 2017

Old Man Logan has been the flagship for the X-Men titles for months now, keeping the fans interested in the mutant universe while Marvel scrambled to get the rest of the comic line up to snuff. Now that the launch has happened, it might be just in time to allow the Logan team a moment to relax. This comic is still one of the best runs Wolverine has ever had, but this current storyline is the weakest offering we have seen from this writer and creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Old Man Logan (2016) #24

Jun 5, 2017

The new team of Ed Brisson and Mike Deodato Jr is taking over with issue #25. I know that both of these creators are highly accomplished in their own right when it comes to comics, but the bar has been set so high by the departing Lemire and Sorrentino that I'm not sure anyone has the chops to follow or surpass this historic run.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Plague #1

Apr 5, 2017

This is a solid outing from a publisher that I am not familiar with. Given that pop culture has run its course with vampires, zombies, and werewolves; maybe this is the precursor to the next wave. Fairies and magic. A solid book worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Popeye Classics #51

Oct 19, 2016

Final thoughts I tip my hat to the sailor who got me to eat my spinach as a kid. Love him then and love him now. Toot-Toot!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Punisher (2016) #6

Oct 18, 2016

Clunky dialog, poor plotting, and a serious lack of attitude hinder this title from standing shoulder to shoulder with its peers. While Dillon may carry the art chores in this issue, the same great artist can't cover up for all of the mistakes in Marvel's latest offering of Frank Castle.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #3

Oct 18, 2016

It's the return of Bizarro! What more could you want?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #5

Dec 20, 2016

As I said before this book is worth the price of admission for just the visuals alone, but I am starting to wonder if Lobdell is going to start getting to an over-all plot or are we locked into a never-ending action sequence? Where are the titular Outlaws? Is this entire build up going to pay off with Bizarro joining Red and the gang? I'm ready for some resolution please. I really like this series so far but I would like a bit more in the way of story to keep me interested; because if things stay the way they are right now and Dexter Soy leaves this title" I won't be far behind as a reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Redneck #2

May 26, 2017

The creative team should be extremely proud of this title as it is a front-runner for best new series of the year. I am going to gladly pass along this series to all of my none-comic friends and let them try this series on. I think it'll win over a lot of hearts and minds in the weeks and months to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Robyn Hood (2014) #18

Jan 6, 2016

To fans of this series, I apologize for the harsh critique, I'm sure that this book has its merits, and kudos to you for sticking through such heavy material, but this is a nightmare to outside readers. Unless Zenescope is going to sell this in comic shops with a character scorecard, I say pass this title up and try again when it hits shelves in graphic novel form.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Romulus #1

Oct 5, 2016

Unlikable lead heroine, stale plot, and no heart take all the wind out of the sails of this new series before it has even had a chance to launch. On the bright side, at least what is there is pretty to look at, but that's not enough to give this one a passing grade.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Secret Empire #0

Apr 24, 2017

The real story here is Spencer and a story that is now stale. It is going to take some real serious swerves to surprise fans. We all know that this is going to be a return to the pre-Hail Hydra status quo. I just wish it wasn't going to take all this needless effort to get there. The shock and awe of this story was spent in the first issue, now we are all just waiting for the end credits so we can move on with our lives.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Shipwreck #1

Oct 11, 2016

Mystery done well is like an addiction, the need for details and information becomes the driving force for a reader to continue pursuing the answers that elude them. Mystery done poorly is confusing and lackluster. The reader never invests enough of themselves into the plot to continue on to the next clue. I would leave this mystery alone. While it comes off as highly thought out there is something lacking in execution.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Silver Surfer (2016) #7

Nov 1, 2016

Allred is doing is typical work here, his style has always been take it or leave it for comic fans. The ones that love it REALLY love it and the ones that hate it REALLY hate it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sons of Anarchy: Redwood Original #3

Oct 17, 2016

Fans rejoice! You have another chance to ride with the Sons. While this may not catch the attention of your average comic reader, there are a lot of good things about this comic to check out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #7

Nov 1, 2016

This is just good old fashioned adventure comics at their best. I was very impressed.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Starstruck: Old Proldiers Never Die #5

Jun 13, 2017

I wish Ms. Lee better luck in her next endeavor and I hope that I see her work again, but I'm betting that Mr. Kaluta will soon become a household name.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #9

Jan 18, 2017

The art is solid, the book moves at a rapid pace, and the finale gives the reader insight into why this team is pissed off and looking for revenge.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Superwoman #3

Oct 18, 2016

There are tons upon tons of untapped potential here. I fear that we will not see this title last long enough to get out of its own way to make use of it. Wonderful art is saddled with a piss poor story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #53

Dec 23, 2015

I was surprised by the off beat humor of the book, which reminded me more of Eric Powell's “The Goon” than a kid's comic. The art also had a quarky feel to it that paired nicely with the story.The first few pages, where we are introduced to the Mutanimals, is worth a read only. All in all this was a solid outing by the TMNT crew, but I just wish I had stepped into the story a few issues sooner.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Autumnlands #13

Oct 7, 2016

Without spoiling too much plot I will say that the end of this issue will leave you hungry for the next. As usual this is a solid offering from a professional group of creators.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Black Monday Murders #4

Nov 28, 2016

This series carries a high bar of entry for new readers; this one is best joined from the beginning. As with most of Hickman's work, the multiple characters and convoluted plotting are too tangled to mess with by joining in the middle of the story. It's best to wait until this series is collected in a trade or go back and pick this up from the beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Massive: Ninth Wave #4

Mar 9, 2016

While the story hits a few action movie tropes it had me invested enough to read at a lightning pace. I could feel the tension of the crew as they worked feverishly to save their fellow shipmates. If you have a strong fear of water or drowning you better leave this book on the shelf otherwise you need to give this title a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Mighty Thor (2015) #13

Nov 28, 2016

Steve Epting is filling in on the art chores for this installment and his work looks amazing as ever. There is also the punch to the gut that the very first panel provides as we watch Jane having her hair cut off, preparing for cancer treatment. It is a stiff reminder of just what awaits this woman ever time she has to put down the magical hammer. Good Stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Walking Dead #162

Jan 10, 2017

If you thought you had seen everything that TWD has to offer then you ain't seen nothing yet. Three words- Massive. Zombie. Horde.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Tomb Raider (2016) #1

Feb 3, 2016

With the stories of the new video games fresh in the reader's mind, it seemed a no brainer tostick with what works. How or why this creative team went so far off the beaten path is beyondme. You had a winning formula right in front of you! How did this happen? I'm glad to see thatTomb Raider is back in comics, but if this is what Dark Horse is offering fans then I wish Larahad just stayed in her tomb.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Trinity (2016) #2

Oct 21, 2016

While all of this is too good to be true, it's hard not to get wrapped up in the warmth and charm that this issue brings to the table.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
U.S.Avengers #1

Jan 5, 2017

This entire series has the look and feel of being unnecessary. Not since the days of Avengers: West Coast has an Avengers title struggled for relevancy right out of the gate.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ultimates (2015) #3

Jan 11, 2016

The cliffhanger is best left unspoiled, but doesn't it ruin your day whenyour spouse's murderer is in the last place you expect to run into them?Like in the Neutral Zone…when you think that you have killed them? Man!I hate when that happens.This is a title that should be on the pull list of anyone that remember'swhat great team books are supposed to read like, old FF fans, and foranyone that likes amazing art and a solid story. High praise for a newtitle that I'll have to start picking up on the regular.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Unbelievable Gwenpool #7

Oct 17, 2016

This outing of Gwenpool was scattershot. The art team and the writer have built a beautiful and fun comic, but you can tell that they are still trying to find their voice and direction as they go along. I think all the elements are there to make a great comic, the creative team just needs to put those pieces together. I guess we all will have to wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #6

Mar 9, 2016

I kept waiting for this issue to take off and really provide an exciting story, instead the last panel came and went and the book was done and nothing had really happened. The reveal of Red Skull at the end of the story lacks any punch as a similar reveal had been done in a recent issue. It just seemed like a unnecessary encore performance of a story that nobody cared about the first time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Uncanny Inhumans #15

Nov 21, 2016

This creative team is poised to take over the house of ideas. Let's see how long it takes Marvel's editorial team to harness this great duo into a book that really matters.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #1

Jan 7, 2016

The creative team involved all did their respective jobs to the best of their abilities, I was just hoping for something more. I don't fault the creators, I fault Marvel for not giving one of their biggest properties the push that it deserves. This should have been a rebirth of X-mania, an event that every comic fan in the country was eagerly waiting for… instead we got this book, and this was not enough, X-fans deserve more. 3 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #2

Jan 26, 2016

I was underwhelmed with the debut issue of this series. (I've been a lapsed fan of the X-Men and I was hoping that this title would bring me back to the fold. It didn't) I am trying to hang with this title to see if it improves, but there is no indication that change is on the way. This book remains middle of the road and that is the grade that it deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #4

Mar 8, 2016

At this point I can only recommend this book to the hardcore X-fans and the collectors who are completest. Everyone else stay away until the smoke has cleared.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Uncanny X-Men (2016) #5

Mar 28, 2016

The rest of this book is throw away nonsense. I have lost any and all faith that Uncanny can bounce back from this storyline. I'm walking away from this title until the creative direction has been addressed and I would suggest that the rest of the X-fans out there do the same. Avoid this title at all costs until the creative team has been replaced.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Usagi Yojimbo #159

Nov 28, 2016

A complex tale told in simple terms with a style and flair that escapes most mainstream books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Weapon X (2017) #2

May 2, 2017

This series is playing out like an action movie. Little is wasted as the plot moves forward at a fast pace and Land's art is only making the reader's experience that much better. A great start to a new book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Wonder Woman (2016) #8

Oct 17, 2016

Final Thoughts: There is not one panel of Wonder Woman in this entire issue and yet I can't help but feel that this might be one of the best examples of this title I have read so far. Think about that!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #9

Nov 1, 2016

Sharp's artwork is still on point and once again provides another example of why he has quickly become a fan favorite.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #19

Mar 28, 2017

It seems that Wonder Woman is building up speed just in time for this summer's film release. It should be interesting to see where Rucka and DC are going to take the Amazon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #2

May 2, 2017

The Blue team might be a throwback to the original team; it is certainly a step in the right direction. I'm still looking forward to where this book is headed and hope that these inconsistencies will work themselves out as the creative team rolls on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #3

May 16, 2017

While I'm hoping that I'm wrong and this book will turn a corner, there are signs that there is trouble ahead.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #1

Apr 6, 2017

This book is the perfect place for new fans to join, a great place for old fans to come back, and a X-book that many fans have been waiting years for. Hats off to Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #2

May 2, 2017

This title is still one of the strongest to come out of the re-launch, but thanks to this public snafu it appears that it might already be in trouble of keeping a consistent creative team on board. If this leads to delays are changes in plot, this book could be dead in the water before it even has a chance to start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #3

May 9, 2017

This book is still strong and as the next arc begins the true test of how solid the creative team is will begin as the initial hype dies down and the real grind of an ongoing series starts to set in. Can Marvel keep the ball rolling? Or will this series lose steam and die; which appears to be a recurring problem for Marvel and their newer titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2017) #1

Feb 22, 2017

This comic is the perfect primer for new fans. It's easy to follow; the art and story are elegant at times and complex at others. There is no better time to start reading this title, or the works of this company, than right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Zombie Tramp Halloween Special #2016

Oct 10, 2016

Not for kids. Keep this treat for yourself. But like all the sweet treats of Halloween too much of this comic will rot your brain.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

July

June

More