iggy's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Green Lantern Corps Reviews: 217
7.0Avg. Review Rating

2.0
Convergence: Green Lantern Corps #1

May 14, 2015

Before I go I will not be reviewing the final chapters of these issues due to money and time wasted on these filler comics. I simply can't be bothered and I apologize for anybody disappointed. Convergence: Green Lantern is a perfect example of why sometimes, a trip down memory lane is not always worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Convergence: Green Lantern/Parallax #1

Apr 15, 2015

Convergence: Green Lantern Parallax #1 is a complete waste of time. There isn't a plot but rather pointless exposition and a fight that means nothing, even if you're a fan of Parallax this particular issue does nothing to add to his character. This was a perfect example of style but no substance at all. Plus I've been talking to the ref and even the style is in question. Do not buy this book, just go back and reread Emerald Twilight.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
DC Universe: Rebirth #1

May 25, 2016

On the subject that Dr.Manhattan created the New 52 after Flashpoint is just mind blowing and just leaves me wanting to know what is going to happen next, which is exactly what you want from the book I won't bore with you speculation but only with the hope that this is resolved in some mega event down the road. REBIRTH IS HERE!! CHEERS TO A NEW DCU!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2 #21

Mar 10, 2014

The series continues to build such excellent drama and is filled with action dread. Lucky Taylor dabs just enough humor onto specific characters so this book isn't completely depressing to read. Nicola Scott's art line work is simply gorgeous to look at as she makes the action sequences just as exciting characters exchanging dialog.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2 #22

Apr 4, 2014

This issue was nice character piece for Val-Zod, but sadly the issue went by to fast and was over before the excitement could continue. Otherwise, another solid issue from the Earth 2 team.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2 #23

May 11, 2014

This issue was a one of the more interesting ventures into Earth 2 as the series continues to spiral deep towards whatever madness Tom Taylor has in stored.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2 #24

Jun 10, 2014

Earth 2 this month was nice breath of fresh air from the defeats of the protagonist over the past several months. Maybe this is a turning point for the series itself? Only time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Earth 2 #25

Jul 10, 2014

The final page concludes the excellent art from Nicola Scott as they tease the match up of Val and Superman, with Green Lantern holding back the world from being sucked away. While Taylor delivered on the script, the true powerhouse of this issue was Nicola Scott on art. She brought her A++++ game with this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2 #26

Aug 7, 2014

Earth 2 #26 was a fantastic conclusion to this arc. It was bombastic, keeping the reader on the edge of their seats only letting up when emotional moments needed to be hit, and even then those scenes were tense. Thank you Nicola Scott for your work on this, I speak for myself when I say I enjoyed each panel on each page. Also much love to Yildiray Cinar for his issues as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2 #28

Nov 10, 2014

While many people will write this off as a fill in issue, I would call it an attempt at world building. It's nearly obtained that goal but falls just short when you realize what the point of this issue was.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2: Futures End #1

Sep 4, 2014

This issue is a perfect example of reader expectations with the story presented. If you were curious about Terry Sloan and his origins then this was a sundae with a cherry on top. If you wanted some answers about the actual characters of Earth 2, then you'll be disappointed. Fans of Michael Holt will be treated to an action packed story with plenty of intrigue. Sadly only the art holds the issue back.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2: Society #1

Jun 10, 2015

Earth 2 Society was a mixed bag of treats, there were aspects of it that have me excited for the direction of the book, and most of my concerns will most likely be corrected. Finally for the love of God, can Dick Grayson just have his son back already? Least this time I'll only have to see him bring that up once a month.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2: Society #2

Jul 13, 2015

Society #2 while it didn't improve on the problems I had with the first issue, it did fix a problem the previous volume had and it introduced a unique plot line that could drive the book forward. This wasn't a perfect issue as the lack of focus on more the cast still doesn't sit well with me just yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2: Society #3

Aug 13, 2015

I'm glad that Wilson has since steered away from Batman and has begun diving into the rich roster of the Society. I have no issue in saying that this was the best issue of Earth 2 in a long while.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Earth 2: Society #4

Sep 9, 2015

This issue of Earth 2 was rough to swallow, on a execution standpoint it was well done, mostly due to Jimenez on pencils. On a personal level seeing Val Zod's name strung the through the mud for something he had no connection to prior just feels lazy and seems to be a device to cause strife and drama within the team. I want to give Wilson a chance and see where he takes the series from here, but I'm not optimistic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Earth 2: Society #5

Oct 23, 2015

If we had time to see Jimmy fall from grace while getting to know him as a character in the process, then the final page might have had more impact on me as a reader. As of now it's just another sub plot that Wilson has laid even more foundation for. Hopefully there's some sort of pay off to all this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2: World's End #1

Oct 8, 2014

Now the art is the biggest problem for the issue, in that with this being an oversized book means more artist and inkers to get the issue out on time. Some panels are rough to look at while others look fine, but that's the monster when dealing with a weekly series. Other than a solid art job for the first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2: World's End #2-

Oct 29, 2014

If you've been looking for a thrilling Justice League adventure than this one I would give a look at. Plenty of action and enough interesting plots to keep a reader coming back each week.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) #21

Jun 8, 2013

Overall Green Lantern #21 is a mixed bag, some interesting characters choices and bold ideas in combination with average art at best.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Green Lantern (2011) #22

Jul 5, 2013

While Green Lantern #22 wasn't a perfect issue, it certainly was improved over last months #21. Although we still don't know anything about the new recruits nor is the reader given any sense of who they are, or what there personality is like. Hopefully Venditti can handle balancing the juggling act of Hal, the Corps and the new recruits with ease.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern (2011) #23

Aug 8, 2013

Overall this issue of Green Lantern was a entertaining read, bringing back good concepts while mixing in new characters and places while pushing towards the much anticipated Lights Out crossover. Billy Tan and Rob Hunter continue to do a nice job and they seem to be getting better with each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) #23.1

Sep 4, 2013

This issue was really a disappointment when it came to the characterization of Relic. The reader doesn't learn anything new about Relic or what he was like before everything went to hell and hand basket. It was nice seeing the emotional spectrum in a different point of view, but it all just a tease that sadly won't amount to anything in the long run. While Rags Morales does excellent work and hopefully he'll draw more Green Lantern down the road, it was a bit of a letdown that all his pages were single page movie posters. While they are amazing to look at, they really don't offer much to the overall story telling that a book with panels would. If you haven't been reading New Guardians and want to know more about Relic without reading New Guardians, this isn't a bad issue to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #23.2

Sep 12, 2013

Overall this issue was a wonderful spotlight on Mongul his origins and how Warworld works and while it doesn't progress the story for Lights Out it is still a nice small look into the warlord Mongul. Starlin proves that he still has it when it comes to outer space warlords and it's nice to see Howard Porter drawing at full strength.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) #23.3

Sep 19, 2013

Overall this issue was an interesting read and if you are curious about Black Hand it should be a buy. It does it's job on telling you his power set and where he comes from without unneeded baggage. However if you are familiar with Black Hand then this issue is something you can skip.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #23.4

Sep 25, 2013

Overall this was probably the best look into Sinestro's past that DC has put out. Sure some of the more obvious tropes are here, but enough new layers are added to give old and new readers something to look forward to. So it looks like we won't be seeing Secret Origin II that would have featured Sinestro in a prominent role, this is a good replacement if that story never happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #24

Oct 3, 2013

This issue concludes with the unthinkable, as Relics drones destroy the Central Power Batter, leaving it in ashes. Now if that isn't a way to kick off a critical story then this review doesn't know what is. This issue had a great sense of action dread and that unsettling feeling that everything is out of control. It's going to be very interesting to see where this goes and I can't wait to see it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern (2011) #25

Nov 6, 2013

This issue was really interesting in terms of where Venditti is going with Hal as a character and leader. The old west set up for the second half of the issue was a nice touch. However Tan's art seem to take a bit of a hit in terms of rendering characters from panel to panel.It's a fine starting point is you've been wanting to read Green Lantern with Lights Out done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #26

Dec 4, 2013

Overall Green Lantern #26 was a space western battle turned riot leading Hal to a potential darker path add in some Combine that with some excellent battle pages and you have yourself a fun issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #27

Jan 9, 2014

Overall this issue started out as another normal solid Green Lantern issue, but after the Braid Clan escapes and The Durlan's declare has the Corps declare War on the universe, then it sky rockets the issue to dramatic issue that has Hal Jordan's unfortunate mistakes come back to bite him in the behind. This issue should have readers salivating to read the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) #28

Feb 6, 2014

While the issue doesn't progress the Durlan plot further but throws the emotional spectrum right back into the mix is a bit of a let down. It's a solid issue with solid art from returning artist Billy Tan and a nice starting point for new Green Lantern readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #29

Mar 6, 2014

This issue was a one of the best since Venditti took over. Hal is finally coming together as a leader and the war may start to turn in their favors. While there were two artist on this book neither styles took you out of the story which is ideal when dealing with two artists on one book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) #30

Apr 2, 2014

Perhaps this was intentional but it came of as clunky and the impact required from the reader just isn't there sadly.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) #31

May 8, 2014

Other than that this a great way to open of this crossover with Green Lantern Corps. Hal has evolved as a leader, but only the inconsistent art hurt the issue overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) #32

Jun 4, 2014

Green Lantern #31 sure felt like filler in some aspects, but the plot of the Durlans continues to be strong and is still engaging and it leaves readers with questions of what else is up these shape shifters sleeves. Tan's art here wasn't terrible it was consistent for the most part, just several parts came off as weird or distracting. The title continues to remain solid overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) #33

Jul 3, 2014

The issue was your typical rally issue for our heroes and in that sense it almost felt a bit bland. Simply because of how the event has played out, but it's saved with the vague distress call at the end. Forcing the readers to imagine what horrors could have happened. Lucky for all of us we only have to wait one week.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) #34

Aug 7, 2014

This issue is exactly what the Green Lantern needed after months of war. Nothing wrong with an issue that takes it's time to smell the roses, a calm before the storm. The art by both Tan and Coccolo meshed perfectly with Coccolo doing the heavy lifting with his excellent vista during Hal and Jim's talk.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lantern (2011) #35

Oct 1, 2014

Godhead Act 1 part 2 was more of an extension of part 1, sadly it felt it more like Part 1.1 then a true part 2. The crew is definitely playing the long game for this one, let's see how it plays out. The issue fell flat though.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #36

Nov 7, 2014

While no this didn't move the plot further along, it was a fine breather issue that explored a bit into some key players for this crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) #37

Dec 3, 2014

In a shocking twist Billy Tan is not on penciling duties but instead Francis Portela and given the Darwyn Cooke variant cover it's only fitting that Portela drew the issue. His style is what I would like to call pure classic, with few lines and seemingly simple pencils. That is until you examine further and notice all the fine details. I'll point to his take on the Source Wall as an example of his fine work.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) #38

Jan 8, 2015

While this issue wasn't all about Hal and we shared in his frustration for some time to himself, the ending scene made up for it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) #39

Feb 9, 2015

This was by in large a plain Green Lantern story with a nice surprise twist in terms of the Guardians and Hal meeting trope. It's going to be interesting to see what the last issue of Green Lantern will about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #40

Mar 15, 2015

This was Billy Tan's best art yet, I could read a book with his storytelling skills for hours. In two different scenes involving Hal and Kilowog, his simple poses for the characters in talking and action sequences tell the tale of what cannot be conveyed with words. The best example of this is the splash page of Hal hugging a bloodied Kilowog. Letting an artist tell the story is something more comics need to do. I know Tan doesn't render the prettiest or most stylized comic out there, but I personally prefer an artist who can tell a story before he can wow me with layouts and details.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #41

Jun 4, 2015

Outside of the final page the new status quo for Hal Jordan has me excited for what his adventures could entail.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) #42

Jul 2, 2015

This is the breath of air that Green Lantern needed, this second issue has cemented this fact. No emotional spectrum in sight, along with Hal finally being the center of attention. Get on board Green Lantern fans, it's not traditional but it is fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #43

Aug 6, 2015

Even though Green Lantern #43 was more of an exposition dump from Relic, the combination of the amazing art by Ethan Van Sciver and Robert Venditti becoming more comfortable with Hal's new supporting cast made this issue an enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) #44

Sep 2, 2015

Some might see this issue as filler, but when you examine the issue closer one can see that Venditti is slowly building the cast around Hal while simultaneously laying the foundation for Hal's inner struggle with the overwhelming power of Krona's gauntlet. Also Darlene's quips continue to remain one of the highlights of the series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #45

Oct 8, 2015

This issue of Green Lantern is prime example that you bring something new to a character without altering something just to fit a particular narrative. So while fans of Hal Jordan may not be happy but I think the new disaster that is Black Hand balances makes up for it. Overall an entertaining issue with a dash of creepiness, fitting for this the season.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #46

Nov 4, 2015

Even though this issue didn't break new ground or bust open a secret long forgotten within the DCU, Venditti knew what the story needed and didn't waver with something fancy. Despite the new arc seemingly heading back to earth, hopefully Darlene and crew factor in some fashion because their small sections add dimensions to this book. Either way if this issue was has proven anything about this arc of Hal Jordan, is that even though he doesn't look like he once did nor does he have his trusty power ring, he's still a hero and a Green Lantern.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) #47

Dec 2, 2015

Outside of the Parallax revelation this issue was set up for something larger, but no real clue on what that is. The first half was more engaging than the second half of the issue, hopefully something interesting plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) #48

Jan 8, 2016

With the exception of Batman, this issue of Green Lantern was good read, as Venditti lays down more tracks between Hal and Parallax with Emerald Twilight overtones, the next two issues should be entertaining to say the least.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) #49

Feb 3, 2016

Another solid issue from Venditti and crew as the recreation of Emerald Twilight continues. A lot of pieces have been set for the fiftieth issue of Green Lantern, it'll be interesting to see how Robert manages to bring it all together in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) #50

Mar 2, 2016

What appeared to be Parallax at the start of this late last year, seemed to be the original Parallax before the bug retcon. This issue reveals that Hal Jordan didn't in fact go crazy but the current Parallax still has the bug of fear which is make the opening pages of this story feel pointless. Similar to how Rebirth stripped Hal of responsibility of what he did, the same is done here once Parallax reveals his teeth and claws. It would have made a more interesting story to actually see Parallax as was intended to be in the mid 90's. It gives the current Hal something to look at and see as a cautionary tale to not venture to the dark side. It's simply a disappointment that this isn't the Parallax of old but rather the Parallax of 2004.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lantern (2011) #51

Apr 6, 2016

To be honest this issue of Green Lantern just feels like filler before Rebirth, with some nice action sequences but nothing of substance. It'll be interesting to see how all this wraps up next issue, but my hopes are not high at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lantern (2011) #52

May 6, 2016

For the last issue of the New 52 iteration of Hal Jordan, it remained consistent with what has been published before. If I have anything else to say about the “renegade” story line is that I wish it could have gone deeper into what that means for a man of the law like Hal Jordan. I enjoyed the elements that were played with but it could have been so much more expansive with Hal Jordan as a character. Next month Rebirth officially begins and it's going to interesting to see how the next phase of the Green Lantern universe kicks off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern (2011) Annual #2

Oct 31, 2013

Overall this issue was pretty fun and a solid conclusion to an interesting story. The art from beginning is top notch and hopefully Sean Chen returns for future issues in one of the Green Lantern books. It's going to be an fascinating time for our favorite Lanterns going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern (2011) Annual #3

Jan 5, 2015

Green Lantern Annual #3 did have the epic finale feel to it and for the most part was a satisfactory conclusion to Godhead, yes it did leave readers with asking questions (what event doesn't) but Tan's art collapse does knock the annual down a score.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lantern (2011) Annual #4

Oct 3, 2015

The problems I had with this issue namely had to due with the fact that this was an annual, which I'm sure isn't up to Robert Venditti when DC comics needs an annual. The contents of the story did not meet my expectations for an annual, again due to retreading plot points and no real advancements between Hal and his crew. Some interesting ideas of legends vs. truth but not well executed.The art didn't help this issues story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern / Space Ghost Special #1

Mar 29, 2017

When it comes to stories like this one, I tend to gauge how much fan service there is and for my money there could have sneaked in a few more references, but the ones that are there should be enough to satisfy any fan of either series, especially when you see Space Ghost handled a Green Lantern ring and actually struggling to use it. Green Lantern/Space Ghost gave almost gave me enough of what I wanted, I wasn't a big fan of the art, but I can appreciate good storytelling when it's right in front of me. If you're a fan of either characters, do yourself a favor and pick this issue up as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #21

Jun 13, 2013

Overall, Green Lantern Corps is an excellent issue for long time readers and especially great for new readers, add in some fantastic art by Bernard Chang and the reader is given a nice starting point.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #22

Jul 10, 2013

Overall Green Lantern Corps had a decent second issue, nothing really advances the plot but we do get subtle hints and events to come. Chang continues to the excellent work and doesn't show the signs of being rushed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #23

Aug 14, 2013

Overall this issue was fun and fast and just continued the overall excellence of this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #24

Oct 9, 2013

This issue was a roller coaster of emotions, but the one where you want to see where the next loop is coming from. This is perhaps the best art from Chang yet along with the best script that Jensen has done to date. This was a excellent part two and this should have readers eagerly anticipate the next chapter for Lights Out.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #25

Nov 13, 2013

Overall this issue sadly felt flat. As the reader doesn't really connect to Stewart other than a superficial level. The issue is a constant reminder that John thinks out of the box and everyone around him is irrational. It was fine for the first few pages but after a while it comes off as beating a dead horse. The art was average and at points actually hurt the story a bit with it's flaws in simple story telling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #26

Dec 12, 2013

This issue had pretty much everything, almost to point where it seems it was making from last months venture into Zero Year. The secret plot of The Durlans is exciting, not to mention that the Khund are still out there. Combine all this with the growth of the Jruk and John's characterization of the Hal situation well this was near perfect.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #27

Jan 16, 2014

This issue was another solid issue from this creative team and it looks like it's all finally coming to ahead with the Green Lantern Corps annual later this month. The art by both Chen and Chang were well done and blended together for those few pages so it wasn't jarring, solid work from both artist.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #28

Feb 12, 2014

This was yet another solid issue for Green Lantern Corps, the only minor nitpick being is that the new recruits only received a page. A well done page, and it's understandable due to sheer size this book covers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #29

Mar 12, 2014

It appears that the Lantern Hwaal who killed the boss is really a Durlan, and the real Lantern Hwaal has been captured by the Durlans! This immediately increases the tension tenfold and changes the fate of this war. Now we know Durlans can use a ring even though they weren't chosen. Now all the members of the corps should be suspect.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #30

Apr 10, 2014

This issue did it's job as it did show enough about the Durlans but it didn't reveal to much of their back story. Scott Kolin's art for the Durlan's segment were nice and it worked well within the story presented. There were some nice character moments for John and Fatality, but now the real excitement can kick in with uprising next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #31

May 15, 2014

Green Lantern Corps continued and picked the pace from last weeks Green Lantern. The reintroduction of Sodom Yat is the biggest game changer yet and it leaves this reviewer salivating for what else the GL crew has coming up next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #32

Jun 19, 2014

Green Lantern Corps #32 turned up the notch again for this crossover, as both Jensen and Chang continue propel to the exciting conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #33

Jul 10, 2014

With this being the end to the crossover, Jensen has the job of teasing the next threat of the “Shadow Empire.” Thereby ending the Uprising crossover. This was another solid issue from the team, and while it didn't start out amazing the book touched down smoothly.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #34

Aug 16, 2014

The ending is pure story telling bliss. Remove the word balloons of John scream and whispering no and you still understand what is going on. Leaving us with a broken John Stewart. You build characters up only to tear them down and that's what Van Jensen has done. That's not a negative though, it makes the story more engaging. It's something all of us can understand. Let's see how John is in October when the New Gods show up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #35

Oct 8, 2014

As one piece this issue was a fine one, Jensen and Chang delivered enough action to keep a reader entertained until next week, but the actual plot didn't move all that much. Just like last week it can make one wonder if this crossover a bit to drawn out? Only time will tell on that one, other than that a fine issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #36

Nov 12, 2014

While insignificant in the bigger picture, in this exact moment it's a victory for readers who have gotten worn down by seeing their heroes being thrown in the mud. With that being said, that is not true climax but rather the introduction of something that some Lanterns fans have been asking for sometime. Normally I would spoil but in this instance I wont. Yes once a reader puts all the clues together it's a bit predictable but given how it was done the predictability is null in void. This issue of Green Lantern Corps felt more like previous issues had prior to Godhead.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #37

Dec 10, 2014

This sadly was the worst issue to date for Green Lantern Corps, an uninspired story with fine art to start with but art change it was really hurt the issue overall. Not even Highfathers' characterization could have saved this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #38

Jan 15, 2015

The second half of the book picks up with John leading a team to help Lantern Feska's planet. I did enjoy Van Jensen starting this storyline out as a simple ridding the planet of all crime but in fact a much deeper problem persists. Since not much is known it brings a level of suspense to the reader that is so far and few between in today's superhero comics. Bernard Chang returns in his full glory in this issue and I adored his rendering of the city slums, and his great action pages are complimented with a sentimental reunion of Feska and her son, showing his progression as an artist. His storytelling remains top notch and his final page is a great example of using shadows, in a way it is a visual representation of the calm before the storm.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #39

Feb 11, 2015

Bernard Chang once again continues to excel with his fun action sequences and in this issue in particular and great use of shadows for certain panels in the issue. His ability to convey emotions with characters was a nice treat and a great example was at the graveyard in Feska's mother. The way Chang rendered his expression and body language made him seem genuinely depressed because of his teammates loss. Proving that art and not just the writing can progress a characters development.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #40

Mar 12, 2015

Speaking of execution, I have wailed on how giving John Stewart a Star Sapphire ring and not using it all during Godhead was a wasted opportunity. Well today I eat my words, and it appears that Van Jensen had the right moment planned all along, in fact shying away from it as long as he did made the moment of John using the power of love to save everyone even more awe inspiring. Finally it gives John the closure that he so desperately needs, after years of Xanshi constantly being brought up. It really feels like one chapter of John's life has finally ended and he can move onto what's next. Not a bad way to end the run of this comic, if I might say so myself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern Corps: Edge of Oblivion #1

Jan 15, 2016

Edge of Oblivion is off to better start than Lost Army just by simply remembering that this a team book. It'll be interesting to see as the series go on and see what Tom Taylor brings back from Lost Army and how much he neglects. Finally if Ethan Van Sciver can keep up the level of detail from start to finish on this mini-series, then we have the makings for a memorable Green Lantern Corps story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern Corps: Edge of Oblivion #2

Feb 10, 2016

A solid issue from both Taylor and Van Sciver, hopefully issue three will kick the series into gear just in time for the second half of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern Corps: Edge of Oblivion #3

Mar 11, 2016

Sadly Ethan Van Sciver penciled his last issue, and once again he made this issue enjoyable. Focusing on Guy Gardner's facial expressions as they perfectly captures Guy Gardner's emotions without flaw. The single page of Guy contemplating his situation, it's the small mannerism's that bring these static images to life. Guy gently touching his Green Lantern ring, the only object that has given him safety during this trial period. His slouching shoulders and depressed facial expression tell the story of Guy Gardner. Ethan Van Sciver's detail will be missed for the last three issues, especially since most of the goodwill from this series is due to his art.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lantern Corps: Edge of Oblivion #4

Apr 13, 2016

Since this issue hinges on the twist that the two seemingly benevolent beings ended up being the true villains, I wasn't that shocked at all because of how Taylor set up this min series from issue one. At the end of the day, this slumps down Edge of Oblivion from an interesting Green Lantern story, to a below average one. On a technical level this was a good comic, but the punch is completely lacking.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern Corps: Edge of Oblivion #5

May 11, 2016

Edge of Oblivion remains consistent in being a fun Green Lantern story, but the inconsistent art hurt the story. Even though the ending is all but predictable I'm still invested enough to see how Taylor wraps up this mini series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern Corps: Edge of Oblivion #6

Jun 8, 2016

I'm not the biggest fan of Edge of Oblivion and I doubt I'll revisit as the years go by but it had it's moment of amazing action and great character moments from Guy Gardner. If the Van Sciver or even Ardian Syaf remained on the team for six issues this would have a better looking book. The inconsistency of the art is sadly the worst aspect for this mini series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern Corps: Futures End #1

Sep 11, 2014

As a complete package this was a much more engaging issue than the previous Lantern book but similar problems continued to plague. The exposition about the Shadow Empire seemed uninspired to read, since it's just a footnote in the 20 page plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern/New Gods: Godhead #1

Oct 1, 2014

The only true negative aspect for this issue has to be the multiple artist, and not because any one of their sequences were terrible in fact they all were either solid to amazing. work but their styles were just different enough to force a reader to readjust. The other negative aspect being the lack of center for the Green Lanterns. They are simply here to serve as the whipping boys for the New Gods and with the New Gods getting the character moments with fantastic visuals. It's truly a New Gods book from start to finish. A fine start to a promising event, lucky part 2 is already out.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lantern: Futures End #1

Sep 4, 2014

The issue itself was by in large an average story. The best moments occur between Hal and his father, but Martin mouthing off exposition was a bit jarring. The second half was paced to quickly before the reader could catch their breath. If this one shot showed anything it's that he deserves a shot a drawing some Green Lantern title in the future. Now we all know why Hal isn't around in Futures End.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #21

Jun 22, 2013

Overall Green Lantern: New Guardians #21 is a pretty good start for this new era of Green Lantern and does a great job for giving a firm direction for our wayward hero, however it's not really clear on how the White Lantern exactly works or the levels of the wielders power other than it's apparent switching between emotional powers. Green Lantern New Guardians #21 receives a 3.5/5

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #22

Jul 17, 2013

Overall Green Lantern New Guardians does a great job of introducing Relic. The reader knows what he can do, what he wants do now all that's left is how he will achieve his goal. While this reviewer does question the further push of Carol and Kyle being together, it does make the reader interested on how events will fold out and of course what will Hal Jordan do if Carol and Kyle actually become a couple. Especially after Carol kicked Kyle to the curb.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #23

Aug 22, 2013

Overall Green Lantern New Guardians is a near perfect issue from start to finish and has readers not only wanting to know more about Relic but it should also have them salivating for Lights Out in October. The only thing this issue lacked was further interaction between Carol and Kyle and the future of their relationship.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #24

Oct 16, 2013

Overall Green Lantern New Guardians #24 was a solid issue from the story that adds more spice to a already hot plate, and it seems that Lights Out is heading towards a very interesting conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #25

Nov 20, 2013

So with all that Kyle is presented, he still disagree's with what is being done but before some aliens from the same planet but on a different time line have shown up, proclaiming they want their future back. So overall this issue was a good read. It has a nice character development between Kyle and Carol, combined with new direction and tone for this book. Walker continues to impress with each issue, while he didn't start off mediocre but it's nice to see an artist start from being a good artist to becoming a great artist. Keep your eyes on Brad Walker folks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #26

Dec 18, 2013

Overall this issue was a thrill ride from start to finish,with the idea of Kyle using his position due to his power set in a interesting dynamic. Walker continues to get better and better each month, the sky is the limit for Brad Walker as Green Lantern: New Guardians heads into 2014

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #27

Jan 22, 2014

This issue was a lot a fun, as it's still continuing that sci fi tone which is a bonus. Exeter is nice addition to this book and hopefully Jordan brings him back somewhere down the road. The nicest surprise was Andre Bressan on art and how good the art is. Hopefully Bressan will be called on when Walker needs a break.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #28

Feb 19, 2014

Overall this was yet another great issue of Green Lantern New Guardians, putting Kyle in interesting situations with some fun dialog and explosive action sequences. The only minus would the be the small info dump but that doesn't cripple this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #29

Mar 20, 2014

This issue of New Guardians continues the excellence but also brings a more philsophical touch with the discussion of what being a God actually means. I know I say this every time but Walker continues to get better and better with each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #30

Apr 17, 2014

The issue itself provided a solid conclusion to this arc, Walker and Jordan continue to push the idea of what Kyle Rayner's role is heading forward. Nice character moments from both Carol and two of the New Guardians, combine all this with the epilogue showing that the God Killers are far from done and you a well presented issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #31

May 22, 2014

This issue was more of what New Guardians has been about post Lights Out, but the stakes feel higher since the annual. However it feels like now the series is treading water just a tad as it waits for the next big moment to happen to cast of New Guardians.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #32

Jul 3, 2014

While this issue was a dramatic tone shift for New Guardians it was a well done one. Walker's art was on fire as usual but it was cool to see his art style fit around this particular story. The suspense for the next issue is killing me inside!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #33

Jul 17, 2014

The issue itself was another solid one in this long run for the New Guardians. It was all over the place in terms of emotion but it never took this reviewer out of the story. While there some problems they were minor at best and didn't hinder the enjoyment of the issue,

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #34

Aug 21, 2014

New Guardians #34 wrapped up this twisted Psion story in a neat bow. Brad Walker continues to excel as a storyteller while also doing some amazing splash pages and breathtaking action sequences. Just remember ping,ping, ping.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #35

Oct 16, 2014

While it's only four parts in this was a fun breather issue for this event. It was nice that the titular star of the book was given the primary focus instead of the New Gods, plus the Judas moment between Kyle, Carol, and the New Guardians I've said it before and I'll say it again but Brad Walker is simply an amazing artist. He continues to make action sequences dynamic and exposition scenes just as compelling. His growth as an artist has been fun to look at.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #36

Nov 19, 2014

New Guardians #36 pretty much steered the course with an occasional bump in the road. The plot for Godhead moves along fine and it leaves Carol and Kyle in an interesting place in whatever issue they show up next during this crossover.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #37

Dec 18, 2014

While New Guardians had some good character moments (albeit a bit oddly placed) it still feels like the story hasn't moved an inch with three chapters to go. Plus that cover art is possibly worst cover I've seen yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #38

Jan 21, 2015

The pacing overall for the issue was a bit off once Kyle and Carol finish having their talk, before the reader can get their bearings the issue is over. The art on this issue was a more consistent than previous issues of New Guardians, and the monster shots were a welcomed addition. This was a solid beginning to the final arc of this beloved series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #39

Feb 22, 2015

Neves art this time around comes as more efficient but as looked closer, his art mostly consisted of bombastic action page after after action page using speed lines to cover up any back rounds. My personal favorite was the opening sequence for Kyle's mind of horrors. Just seeing the attention to detail as Alex Dewitt falls apart while simultaneously Kyle is enveloped in this goo. A disturbing way to begin a comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #40

Mar 19, 2015

Going into this issue and the lack of Kyle mentions in future Green Lantern issues, it's not hard to believe that this was going to be the end of Kyle. Thankfully Jordan doesn't kill of Kyle and instead gives us a happy ending. It's almost a breathe of fresh air since most superhero comics do everything in their power to make their heroes appear more flawed than they actually are. So to see Kyle and Carol fly off to wherever their next adventure is (with bright smiles I might add) was an beautiful way to end the series. Hopefully we'll see Kyle and Carol together again one day.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians Annual #2

May 1, 2014

This was an amazing annual and while it didn't answer everything and really gave us more questions it still was a sold story from start to finish. The only complaint I have is the artist change near the end of the issue, and it's noticeable. It's not terrible art but it's different enough from Segovia's that it took me out of the story just bit during a critical moment. Other than that, another winner for the Green Lantern crew.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: The Lost Army #1

Jun 24, 2015

Green Lantern: Lost Army has me hooked and I want to see where Cullen Bunn is going with all this. While I did enjoy that he nailed John Stewart's voice down, I'm even more hyped to see him flesh out the other characters on the roster. Combine that with Jesus Saiz's beautiful skills on the page and I will be reading this book for the long haul.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern: The Lost Army #2

Jul 18, 2015

Lost Army was what would you expect with a second issue, some fun dialog and action sequences between the team. Moving the plot forward as well as actually giving a answer which leaves us with a pretty interesting cliffhanger. Finally thankfully Bunn did tone down the marine flashback to one page, since most of John's marine skills can easily be demonstrated in current time. No need to beat a dead horse here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern: The Lost Army #3

Aug 21, 2015

Green Lantern Lost Army while it has some interesting plot lines, nothing has really grabbed me through three issues. It's not a terrible book mind you, but the plot or future of the Lanterns have me needing the next issue. Hopefully that changes before the year is over.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lantern: The Lost Army #4

Sep 17, 2015

Another issue of Green Lantern Lost Army, and now with only two more issues to go, I doubt readers will be given any sort of satisfactory conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Green Lantern: The Lost Army #5

Oct 23, 2015

There is no way that Green Lantern Lost Army #6 will give any reader the sort of conclusion that one might have hoped. It's not all Bunn's fault was the cancellation pulled the rug out the intended length, but I can only judge what is given to me when a new issue comes out. This series is the definition of mediocre and just underwhelming to anybody who has either read Green Lantern or to anybody who has read sci fi comics before. Now all we have to do is beat the dead horse one last time, just in time for the holidays.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lantern: The Lost Army #6

Nov 19, 2015

Lost Army is a series that can be summed up in a two words, wasted potential. There were some many interesting ideas presented here that could have made for an amazing Green Lantern story, however with Bunn focusing on Stewart and leaving the other Green Lanterns out in space to drift aimlessly, but only using them to make a “moment.” Hopefully Tom Taylor can pick up some of these shambles and make something out of what has been left behind.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lantern: The New Guardians: Futures End #1

Sep 17, 2014

New Guardians once again provided yet another extreme plunge for a Lantern character with no hope of redemption. The only thing that holds this issue back was Kyle not being the focus for a majority of the story. but instead a new character with no time to develop. Otherwise a solid issue from the creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #1

Jun 15, 2016

Despite my dislike that the Red Lanterns will be the primary focus of the series initially, my hopes that Simon and Jessica dynamic will carry the book going forward has been ignited. A very promising start for a new series featuring new characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #2

Jul 6, 2016

Green Lanterns #2 was more of the same from the previous issue, and while I wish Baz would get equal character time I appreciate what Jessica brings to this book, both Sam Humphries and Robson Rocha are off to a very good start early on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #3

Jul 20, 2016

Green Lanterns continues to get better and better with each issue, as Humphries manages to balance dynamic action scenes with moments of actual depth. The art was a bit weaker than previous issues, but it's nothing that should derail the books enjoyment. Hopefully down the road, the Red Lantern cure via Baz will be explained but for now I'll give Humphries the benefit of the doubt.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #4

Aug 4, 2016

Green Lanterns #4 is where the series for me has officially found it's footing. Humphries combines what made Green Lantern popular in the mid 90's and mix it with the Geoff John's era to make a comic that is completely unique to anything that has come before. With no Red Lanterns showing up till the last page, both Simon and Jessica further their character development in a moment that doesn't ring hollow. I was skeptical of Sam Humphries before, after this issue consider me a convert. However the art does bring the issue down a score for reasons previously mentioned.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lanterns #5

Aug 18, 2016

What's even more painful is that Jessica will most likely overcome her anxiety in the next issue, saving Simon and stopping the Hell Tower which makes the fourth issue all but pointless filler to fill the schedule. At least the art was more consistent, but it seems like every time I open a new issue of Green Lanterns I'm rolling the dice on the quality of it. Seeing Jessica wither back to her previous state while true to form makes me feel like last issue was pointless.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #6

Sep 15, 2016

Green Lanterns overall was a better issue than the previous chapter, thankfully the art was consistent enough for me to not be jarred when Herbert and Conrad switched pages. I'm still dubious about this Phantom Ring, but seeing Jessica and Baz just interacting with each is well done and is the best part of this series. Just don't make them be romantically linked. Hopefully the art stays consistent going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #7

Sep 21, 2016

Green Lanterns #7 was a step in the right direction for the series, while I still have technical problems with the writing both Jessica and Simon developing chemistry continues to be the highlight of the book, and thankfully the art was solid again. I fully expect Green Lanterns #8 to be released within a matter of hours now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #8

Oct 5, 2016

Green Lanterns #8 was something of a mixed bag for me, I did enjoy the homage to Scooby Doo (if that was the case) but once the renegade Guardian took priority it made this issue less enjoyable. Not even Simon and Jessica's dialog could get me over the hump in terms of fully enjoying this issue. Hopefully the Phantom Ring will provide some entertainment for me and you as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #9

Oct 19, 2016

Outside of the reveal of Volthoom at the end of the issue this was a deep issue of Green Lantern. My expectations for Frank arc are extremely high so hopefully Humphries can stick the landing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #10

Nov 2, 2016

The opening arc for the Phantom Lantern was a mixed bag for me, I'm not looking forward to what this means for Jessica and Simon but I am interested into see what the Phantom Ring can do and what's Voolthooms end game is. Also I hope that Pansica sticks around for art duties, and not just for the Ivan Reis comparison but so that this book can continue to receive consistent art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #11

Nov 17, 2016

The only real problem I had with this issue was that Frank immediate turned into an Orange Lantern so quickly. It would have been nice to see Laminski being untouchable due how civilians perceive him and allow Frank to live that fantasy he's wanted then pull the rug from underneath him. Besides that, I really enjoyed this issue of Green Lanterns with most of centering around Frank's characterization.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #12

Dec 7, 2016

Eduardo Pansica returns and is honestly the best part of the issue, personal favorite sequence is two six panels of Simon and Jessica accepting that they need the Phantom Ring to help their true cause. I love Pansica's art during action sequences as they are dynamic and thrilling from page to page. It's his facial expressions of Simon, Jessica and Frank are amazing examples of storytelling in comics. Pansica needs to be a mainstay for this series, he's to good to just be a fill in artist.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Green Lanterns #13

Dec 22, 2016

Sadly once again we have a different artist for this issue as Ronan Cliquet was the penciler and inker for this comic and I'm not criticizing the art in this issue as it was very good. I actually enjoyed Cliquet's art as it had a very good looking superhero feel to it, the storytelling was very solid and facial expressions were on point. My problem is that for three straight issues we've had three different artists who have various styles and it pulls me out of the comic. In 2017, Green Lanterns needs a consistent art team, the constant switching out artists is a problem.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #14

Jan 5, 2017

Not a great way to end the arc as certain plot elements could be seen a mile away and Simon is left with a bag of nothing. I want to like this book but sometimes it's hard to do that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #15

Jan 19, 2017

If you wanted to jump into Green Lanterns but missed out on it when this series launched try this special one shot as it gives you plenty of character for Jessica and how her dynamic with Simon works and it's possibly the best example of how to a person deals with their lives while coping with anxiety.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #16

Feb 2, 2017

Green Lanterns #16 ventured into familiar territory that most fans will recognize, the artwork was solid and the prospect of Simon Baz confronting his own personal issues with controlling things around him. That and Batman, lots of Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #17

Feb 15, 2017

My biggest complaint with this issue was how much this felt like a Batman story over a Green Lantern story. This doesn't really detract from my enjoyment of the comic, if anything it just goes to show that you can plug Batman into about anything and find a way to make it work. Since Jessica's anxiety took up a majority of page time last year, it feels odd that the moment leading up to Baz getting rid of his clutch seems rushed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #18

Mar 1, 2017

Robson Rocha returns on pencils and I have to give credit where credit is due, Rocha's facial expressions for this issue was on point. Very solid artwork and great storytelling, and while it was a bit different I liked the creepier take on The Guardians. It doesn't match with has been previously established but given that it's from Volthoom's perspective it makes sense in that context. Overall I like the idea that Humphries wanted to shed some light on Volthoom as a character I'm just not overtly fond of the choices that he made.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #19

Mar 15, 2017

Green Lanterns #19 was a great way to open the arc, it reintroduces Doctor Polaris to the pantheon of Green Lantern villains with a twist plus the family drama with Baz could prove interesting as the arc goes on. Roland Cliquet on art continues to remain solid, so solid that I wish he could stick around for more than an issue or two.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #20

Apr 5, 2017

I keep saying it, and I'm gonna say it again but I wish that Eduardo Pansica was the main artist for this series. Great dynamic poses for each character, plus amazing sequential storytelling. I did think that the flashback sequences looked a bit rough but that's mostly due to the putting a green filter over the panels. I understand that you want to differentiate past and present but putting a ugly green filter as an overlay just make the art look muddy. I would say that all you need is a caption box, but the dialog by Simon should have been enough for readers to understand that the setting has changed. Body language is a crucial element to comic book story telling, and for a character like Doctor Polaris who has two distinct personalities and that is carried through the art. Please DC I will pay 3.99 and only get Green Lanterns once per month if that means Eduardo Pansica becomes the main artist.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #21

Apr 20, 2017

If I look at this arc as the secret origin of Doctor Polaris, then I really enjoyed the pathos that Humphries gave to this classic character, a villain who I knew very little of. As a Green Lantern arc though? I thought it was serviceable at best and I've already stated my problems with how his past was handled in not only this arc but this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #22

May 3, 2017

For the start of a new arc, this issue reminded me why the Green Lantern Corps is such a unique aspect. Even though most of this issue was mostly Jessica's reaction to the new world she's just been introduced to. Overall an enjoyable issue and fun start to a new arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #23

May 17, 2017

Green Lanterns #23 was a lot of fun, seeing both Baz and Jessica each receiving their own personal boot camp was pure genius. Thankfully Pansica's art helped enhance the story once again. If this book didn't have any of the Rami/Volthoom subplot I would have given this issue a perfect score. However that is not the case, still a real fun issue though.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns #24

Jun 5, 2017

Unlike the previous issues Pansica does not return but instead fans are treated to Carlo Barberi who is not a bad artists, but I just wasn't enjoying his style. He does have really good storytelling skills, especially when you factor the double page spreads that read from right to left it's important to show readers which direction they should be going. Honestly the biggest nitpick that I had with the art was Jessica's hair length. For some reason her hair is her normal usual length but the end of the comic she has it at shoulder length. I'm guessing Cruz got a haircut in between training and graduating. Other than that, the art was serviceable.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Green Lanterns: Rebirth #1

Jun 1, 2016

The art and the involvement of the emotional spectrum have somewhat killed my initial enthusiasm for this upcoming series, however seeing how Baz and Cruz interact with each other gives me hope that it balance out the problems I had going foward. A rough start,but there's always a silver lining.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #1

Jul 27, 2016

Hal Jordan & The Green Lantern Corps's first issue was a great mix of Green Lantern action, and a character moment for the main villain Sinestro. Now that the Green Lantern Corps finally make their way back to the DCU, it'll be interesting to see how Venditti balances all these elements together. For now this was a very solid start for the second Green Lantern series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #2

Aug 10, 2016

Hal Jordan & The Green Lantern Corps #2 read more like #1.5 but it still an enjoyable read from start to finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #3

Aug 25, 2016

On a minor note, I did enjoy that Venditti is making the effort to make the Sinestro Corps grunts actually feel formidable. Sandoval's page where Hal overcomes a seemingly endless sea of yellow tentacles, only to be overwhelmed by fear. Which all circles back to how I started this review that Venditti is demonstrating that not even the lone will power of Hal Jordan can overcome the growing fear in the universe. It gives reasons why the Green Lanterns need to reunite and reinforces the concept that we are stronger together. I still have problems with the pacing but I am enjoying this series, and the art being amazing and consistent is a big reason why.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #4

Sep 14, 2016

While this needle didn't move the plot that much, there was enough progression to satisfy any reader, and honestly the real hook of this series is seeing Sinestro reattempt to retry his strict order policy that got him the boot the first time around, plus Van Sciver's pencils were on point as usual. While there hasn't been that much centered on the actual Green Lanterns, I'm sure that Venditti is drawing that moment out so when they all do reunite it's something special but for now I'll enjoy Sinestro dominating the universe for as long as I can.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #5

Sep 29, 2016

Hal Jordan & The Green Lantern Corps continues to be a a great return to classic Green Lantern, even though the most interesting character so far is Sinestro but he was a former Green Lantern so that's okay. Other than minor complaints this issue was a good as the previous four.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #6

Oct 13, 2016

This issue of Hal Jordan and The Green Lantern Corps is a great example of what makes this book amazing. Great character work from Venditti, and Sandoval's pencils work great together. Both creators are channeling what made readers fall in love with not only Hal Jordan, but the rest of the Green Lantern mythos as well. This is the Green Lantern book that everyone should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #7

Oct 25, 2016

Hal Jordan & The Green Lantern Corps #7 was an explosive way to end your first arc. Venditti has tapped into what made people fall in love with Green Lantern in the first place, Hal's heroics and epic action that isn't seen anywhere else.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #8

Nov 9, 2016

While this issue maintained the excellent consistency of the series, it doesn't do enough to make it exemplary from the rest.It does have me invested into where Venditti intends to take this uneasy alliance, especially when it looks like Brainiac will be involved somehow.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #9

Nov 23, 2016

Despite the fact that this issue was the second part of an arc, despite the fact this issue continued the breakneck pace it definitely felt most like a breather issue. Sandoval's art was still good, not as great as previous issue but still very consistent and beautiful to look at. Overall still a fun part to a fun series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #10

Dec 15, 2016

Hal Jordan & The Green Lantern Corps #10 didn't progress the plot and the art was on a lesser quality before but the moments between Hal and Abin and seeing dead Green Lanterns made my cold heart sing. Overall an enjoyable issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #11

Dec 29, 2016

What else more can I say about Rafa Sandoval? Well sadly I will say that certain facial expressions looked a bit stiffer than previous issues, but it's rendition of Larfleeze is what shines as he brings back that intimidation factor that Larfleeze has been lacking for several years. Larlfeeze isn't physically imposing it how Sandoval frames his face and where he puts his body. Not a bad way to end 2016 with Rafa Sandoval art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #12

Jan 11, 2017

It's a new year but Hal Jordan & The Green Lantern Corps continues to be revel in what makes Green Lantern distinct and fun for new and old fans alike. The inclusion of the Sinestro Corps is not needed spice since Venditti and the talented pool of artists make the Green Lanterns cool it is an interesting dynamic when putting together old rivals into a partnership. Heck it works out in pro wrestling so why not in comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #13

Jan 25, 2017

Hal Jordan & The Green Lantern Corps #13 is a skippable issue, it's a well done comic but nothing about is something I would call essential reading. I love the framing of the story but having half of the comic serve as a recap of events that most readers just finished just feels wasteful. Hopefully Venditti will continue with this concept of exploring Green Lanterns from various times and alien races.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #14

Feb 8, 2017

Hal Jordan & The Green Lantern Corps remains a consistent book in both story and art, while I'm not a fan that I knew Saint Walker would be in the issue it didn't detract from my enjoyment. Sandoval continues to wow my eyes with his amazing art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #15

Feb 22, 2017

Another enjoyable issue of Hal & The Green Lantern Corps, and even though I'm not a huge fan of the character I love his role for this series. I won't spoil the final page but it did give me the feeling of needing the next issue right away.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #16

Mar 8, 2017

Guy Gardner has never been one of my favorite characters, let alone Green Lanterns. This issue made a fan of his confidence and borderline stupidity, he's the spice this series needs. My only real problem and it's a pretty minor one is how Saint Walker seemed oblivious to who Guy was. I'm sure there is a story reason for it, but it still irked me a bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #17

Mar 22, 2017

Ethan Van Sciver is known for his double splash pages, but the facial expressions from all the main cast of characters is what readers should be focusing on. It gives these already emotional moments even more impact when the human mind sees something that seems familiar. It might be easy to write how a character is feeling but the ability to do what with sequential storytelling is a gift that is extremely vital in today's ever evolving comic market.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #18

Apr 12, 2017

Hal Jordan & The Green Lantern Corps #18 does a great job of showing that the current green/yellow partnership will still play a factor going forward, but most of this issue was setup for whatever this new threat happens to be. It had the right amount of entertaining moments to keep me invested for the rest of this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #19

Apr 26, 2017

Ken Marion returns on art and I have to mention the sequence between Space Ape and Gorrin-Sun as really good comic book art. You have in these sequence of panels great beings from an alternate timeline (bayformers look aside), great emotional depth from two protagonist and a villain who carries that perfect posture. Plus I really admire that Marion's style is like a modern Neal Adams, yet still distinct. Overall another consistent job well done from Marion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #20

May 10, 2017

Not a huge amount of plot progression for this issue but Sandoval's art helps make this issue enjoyable. I'm not surprised that Venditti is keeping the Sarko's origin a secret but I do love the subtle hints of his true identity or rather what his lineage is. Overall another fun issue of The Hal Jordan & The Green Lantern Corps. Also I'm not bitter about the lack of conclusion to Kyle and Carol's relationship"nope not at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #21

May 24, 2017

Sadly I wanted to like this arc, given that this was the first arc that actually had members of the Sinestro Corps and Green Lantern Corps working together and there wasn't much of that. Plus the threat of Sarko all felt like it was in a vaccum, there was no consequences to anybody. Yes Kyle saw his son from the future died, but there was not enough emphasis on the connection to make this arc seem important. Now don't get me wrong the arc and this issue itself was still fun, but there was so much more potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #22

Jun 16, 2017

Ethan Van Sciver was great on art as per usual, given that we haven't seen him on this series for quite some time this issue looked more polished and refined than previous chapters. Even though I adore the amount of detail that Van Sciver puts into each page, I could have done with a one less splash page, still impressive but to many can be sensory overload. Overall a great return for Van Sciver on pencils. I had some problems with the overall narrative of this series but this issue by in large was good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps: Rebirth #1

Jul 13, 2016

While Hal Jordan and The Green Lantern Corps isn't the best comic I've ever read, it is a damn good start and an even better introduction to new readers. Yes using Sinestro could be seen as going back to the well, but with Sinestro entering a new phase it could provide for a new take on this classic battle.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #41

Jun 4, 2015

It's clear that both Johns and Fabok brought their game faces for this story arc and I am looking forward to seeing just how this will continue. If you haven't been reading Justice League I recommend starting now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #42

Jul 19, 2015

Justice League 42 while a heavy exposition issue was still enjoyable thanks to the team of Johns and Fabok. Plus it was a nice nod from Johns to acknowledge the Lights Out crossover thanks to Hal Jordan's dialog.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #43

Aug 21, 2015

Darkseid War is shaping up to be one of the best Geoff John centered stories in quite some time. It helps that he has soon to be mega star Jason Fabok as his artist. If you haven't started reading this epic, go back and start immediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #44

Oct 3, 2015

Jason Fabok and Geoff Johns are a match made in heaven, I wasn't sure if the team of Johns/Reis could be beat but I think we have a contender with Johns/Fabok, either way the fans of Justice League win out in the end. Fittingly so, this was a grand end to act one of Darkseid War. If you're reading this and you haven't been reading the series, go back and read them now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League #45

Oct 23, 2015

While I was entertained by this issue of Darkseid War, the fact that this issue wasn't setup for the next chapter of Darkseid War, but instead six individual one shots that may or may not effect the overall story. Francis Manapaul's art was amazing of course but given the high quality art in the past I didn't expect anything less. Hopefully the next chapter picks up right where this one leaves off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #46

Dec 18, 2015

While I am still feeling like there's a missing chunk of Darkseid War, Johns and Manapaul were able to keep the main story just as exciting as previous issues. Now we move onto the final act as issue fifty looms ever closer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #47

Jan 8, 2016

While the story of Justice League #47 story didn't progress, Fabok's magnificent art, the small character moments along with explosive sequences continue to make this book an amazing read each time an issue comes out. The final act of Darkseid War is upon us, let's see if Johns and Fabok can stick the landing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #48

Feb 25, 2016

Another chapter of Darkseid War has come and gone, with this issue ramping up the storyline and the action ramping up, the finale is at hand. While Johns delivered an entertaining script, Jason Fabok deserves more credit for the sheer impact some of these moments had. Also Ultraman needing kryptonite like crack will never not be hilarious.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #49

Apr 27, 2016

For a penultimate issue Geoff John's and Jason Fabok hit exact spot they needed to it. Despite the previous issues I would consider filler Johns does an amazing job of weaving all the various plots into a nice bow ready to be tied. Fabok remains consistent on art as always and hopefully both of them can actually stick the landing for the final issue of The Darkseid War.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League #50

May 25, 2016

The final issue for John's and Fabok's Justice League was a bit of a mess, that didn't lack any explosiveness but rather lacked the substance. Perhaps it was foolish of me to expect something like that for this bombastic of an issue. Either way it's finally over and now we can get on with the Rebirth.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #1

Jul 21, 2016

Justice League #1 is the best possible start that any first chapter could have wanted, Tony Daniel is on his A game with his style and the layouts of a Bryan Hitch comic, and Hitch's writing while not as deep as the Rebirth issue, still set the stage for a very exciting opening arc for the new Justice League.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #2

Aug 3, 2016

Justice League was a bit of a drop off from the first issue, there are still plenty of aspects that both Hitch and Daniel understand what makes the Justice League great within the context of the DCU, there were just to many technical flaws for me to enjoy this issue. Hopefully issue three resumes the quality from the first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #3

Aug 18, 2016

The only real criticism I have for this issue and it's more a nitpick really given the nature of team books, but I wish that Hitch would have found some way to incorporate Aquaman into the fold. I understand that there are only twenty pages per chapter but seeing the rest other Justice League members have significant moments and Aquaman really do nothing that showcases why he's part of the Justice League other than he's the water guy. The arc isn't over so perhaps he's saving Aquaman's "moment" once the JL have completely assembled. Other than that, both Hitch and Daniel recaptured the quality from the first issue. Outside of all that, it was an epic issue of Justice League.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #4

Sep 7, 2016

Justice League continues to be perplexing as I'm enjoying a lot of the aspects that Hitch has brought to the series but I'm struggling to be engaged with how he's handling the execution of the plot. At the minimum Justice League continues to be a high intense thrill ride with enough character moments to most readers invested. Hopefully next issue Hitch is a bit more coherent with the main story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #5

Sep 21, 2016

I want to like what Hitch is doing with this series, but I felt that with his first arc his net was cast a bit wide It was still enjoyable

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #6

Oct 5, 2016

If you were paying attention, then you might have noticed that two different artist worked on this issue and both Matthew Clark and Tom Derenick did an excellent job of complementing each other that I honestly didn't notice when I first read this. Something that jumped out of me immediately though were the expressive facial expressions. Whether it's the Justice League running in terror or Jessica looking completely shocked at her state of mind. It did strike me as odd that for one panel after Barry said yes to Jessica's request of a date her face is in shadow giving a sense of foreboding instead of a comical dread or perhaps giddiness. Storytelling from Clark and Derenick was rock solid, with no real complaints from me when it comes to their art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #7

Oct 19, 2016

The ending with Jessica Cruz is the only aspect that I didn't enjoy, as it feels way to early and cliche for Jessica to leave. I highly doubt she's gone for good but it feels like a false cliff hanger. For a two part arc this was a well written and well drawn issue of Justice League. A vast improvement over the first arc indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #8

Nov 2, 2016

Yes Justice League didn't discuss the departure of Jessica Cruz still doesn't sit well with me but I enjoyed the groundwork that Hitch and Edwards laid down for this arc. Trust me when I say this, issue eight of Justice League is a near perfect jumping on point try this issue out and see if you want to read on.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #9

Nov 19, 2016

I'm not sure what Hitch's end goal for this arc will end up being but I'm invested for the ride as I want to see how he wraps up this arc. Its not everyday that the Justice League show up in the suburbs of Colorado.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #10

Dec 9, 2016

Neil Edwards returns again and once again his art remains consistent as always. Although as the issue went further on, it seemed to me that there was less details on not only the back round but the characters as well. Batman struggling with the Scarecrow looks different at the end as apposed to the start of the issue. Neil Edwards art isn't going to set the world on fire, but his storytelling remains rock solid and doesn't hurt the story. I'll take consistent superhero art over artists attempting something and it hurts the art in the long run.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #11

Dec 22, 2016

My only real problem is that this story line just ends, and that's most likely due to the next issue ties into the Justice League Vs. Suicide Squad event, but I would have like some hint of a plot point that will be brought back in 2017 but alas nothing. Justice League #11 was a balls to the walls great action oriented comic book, Neil Edwards should stay on as the main series artist ( I doubt that happens though).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #1

Jan 11, 2017

Justice League Mighty Morphin Power Rangers #1 starts off running and doesn't let up till the end and there's no hint of it stopping, I can attest that both fans of these deeply respected series can come together and enjoy a crossover that nobody would ever think would actually happen. Minor nitpick, the lack of Rita Repulsa disturbs me so.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League: Darkseid War Special #1

Apr 6, 2016

Unlike the previous Darkseid War specials, I will say that readers who have been enjoying this long arc will absolutely need to read this. It provides more insight to Jessica and Grail as characters going forward, so in that instance I can forgive it that this time. Hopefully the next chapter of Darkseid War is not to far away.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League: Darkseid War: Green Lantern #1

Nov 13, 2015

If you wanted a classic Green Lantern story that is a one and done, then go an buy this issue. You will understand Hal Jordan at a base level, and also what makes Green Lantern different from say Batman or The Flash. Even if you aren't reading The main Darkseid War story one can pick up this single issue and get a complete story from start to finish. Not to also mention Even “Doc” Shaner interiors will remind readers of a bygone era. Tom King and Doc Shaner tore the Lantern Safe house down.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League: Rebirth #1

Jul 6, 2016

A solid start from Hitch the pencils I knew were gonna be there but Hitch has improved by leaps and bounds on the writing side. Hopefully this translate once the series actually starts but for now a well done one shot from Mr. Hitch.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Omega Men #1

Jun 8, 2015

As I said The Omega Men #1 was a weird book for me to review, and normally this is where I announce that I won't be continuing the series because the negative outweighed the positive from my perspective. However the combination of the thrill ride that this book supplies and Kyle Rayner's fate is just enough for me to try out the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Omega Men #2

Jul 2, 2015

When Omega Men returns next month I'll give it one more shot, there are aspects that have me interested and Kyle's ultimate fate is one of them. If there isn't a hint of who The Omega Men are and what there actual goal is, then I'm bouncing. I need substance along with the flash.Thankfully the art is good to look it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Omega Men #3

Aug 8, 2015

While a majority of my problems with how two out three Omega Men issues still linger into this issues, the positives outweigh the negatives in this case. Kalista adds a much needed spice to book dying for someone to grab the spotlight, which is compelling me read the next issue just to see what she does next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Omega Men #4

Sep 2, 2015

That's two issues of The Omega Men that I have enjoyed and while I didn't enjoy the art as much I did enjoy the themes that King is playing with. Now if only King could flesh out the other members of The Omega Men before DC cancels this and half their line….

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Omega Men #5

Oct 10, 2015

It appears that I've turned around on the series, so thankfully the more passion filled readers made their voices heard so that this series will see a definitive conclusion. Trust me as I type this,I'll be reviewing The Omega Men until it's conclusion. After five issues I can recommend this to fans of hard core science fiction and readers who love the craft of comics. Praise be to Omega.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Omega Men #6

Nov 28, 2015

This issue of The Omega Men was the most action centered than previous issues, but because of previous emotional groundwork the battle has actual weight and consequences to it. I'm glad The Omega Men isn't going anywhere this is a story more sci-fi fans need to be reading this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Omega Men #7

Dec 30, 2015

So a bit of a weird way for The Omega Men to end 2015 on but while I wasn't a fan of some storytelling choices one can't deny the high quality that both King and Bagenda continue to put out. Plus it seems that after several months of cool and interesting setup, 2016 will see the conclusion of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Omega Men #8

Jan 28, 2016

What else can I say about Barnaby Bagenda? While I've highlighted his storytelling in the past and his ability to make splash pages have that impact but here is where his character acting came into play. I simply have to point at the opening scene of Scrapps right before Doc and other similar robots commit genocide. The unrelenting emotion on Scrapp's face as she comes home for the first time in seemingly forever. Even though Doc is a robot and his facial expression is limited, the final page as he discovers a young Scrapp's is simply heart warming, the only blue light in an other wise dim world of the Vega system. The double page splash of the mass grave says all you need to know about the depth and weight of what King and Bagenda are telling. Now I have a feeling it's time to enter the final act of this beloved series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Omega Men #9

Mar 4, 2016

The Omega Men #9 marks the beginning of the end for this band of terrorist/freedom fighters. King and Bagneda have set the stage for an emotional roller coaster.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Omega Men #10

Mar 30, 2016

I wanted to enjoy this issue of The Omega Men more, but despite the pushing of Princess Kalista this issue felt like complete filler. To put it simply the standard of excellence that The Omega Men has maintained was just not met. Now that only two remain, I am still positive that both Tom King and Barnaby Bagneda will nail the landing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Omega Men #11

Apr 27, 2016

The Omega Men #11 is a perfect example of when a writer and a artist work together to tell a beautiful story that touches boundaries of religion, politics, our own personal aspects of what drives us each and every morning. Nothing else that DC puts out compares to what The Omega Men has done, now all we have left are the swan song.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Omega Men #12

May 25, 2016

It's been a pleasure to review this series and I'm sad to see it go, but I urge anyone who reads this to pick up this 12 issue collection coming in August. This has been one satisfying series and I wish Tom King and Barnaby Bagneda the best in their future projects.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #1

Feb 2, 2017

Planet of The Apes/ Green Lantern #1 has the benefit of Barnaby Bagneda on pencils, right now I'm not super into the story but I will be reviewing the rest of the series so hopefully it becomes something interesting and not just a retread of something I just read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #2

Mar 8, 2017

This issue was a struggle to finish for me, I have no attachment to what is happening on the Ape's planet making it seem like a pit stop for Hal Jordan before he can get back to the DCU. I have no stakes as to what's going on yet. It feels to me that Thompson wants to make it a slow burn, but given that this is only a six issue mini series I'm not sure that the slow burn approach is the right way to tell this story. The final page however hooked me enough to want to see how the next four issues will play out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Lanterns #24

Oct 24, 2013

Overall Red Lanterns was a good issue on the technical side, but fails to move the plot that much farther than the previous issue did. Hopefully Robert Venditti and Sean Chen have an explosive finale planned for next week.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Lanterns #28

Feb 6, 2014

This issue of Red Lanterns was a solid piece of work and while it does give the reader some amount of information onto what's been going it, Soule doesn't spoon feed any new readers which works for a stronger narrative. Vitti continues to be the perfect artist for this book with his harsh lines and cartoony facial expressions. However the conclusion of the issue feels lackluster and doesn't really encourage people to want to stick with book unless they care about Red Lantern Supergirl. That's a small nitpick though from an otherwise solid issue

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Red Lanterns #35

Oct 22, 2014

This was a fine enough issue but with the lack of New Gods or any real progression of the plot it suffers in that account. It feels like the crossover has barely started as Act 1 is already almost done. Maybe the story will pick up next month but one can only guess. Calafiore on art was a nice surprise. His or her's action sequences got the job done with a special nod towards the sequence of Guy's potential heading. A solid job on art all around.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Lanterns #36

Nov 27, 2014

This issue of Red Lanterns while still felt like a tie in comic rather than the next chapter of Godhead, it was more enjoyable. Some great character moments between Guy and Simon and good art leads to a solid chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sinestro #1

Apr 18, 2014

Sinestro #1 was an interesting opening chapter, and it's certainly a somber approach to Sinestro himself, which makes this reviewer want to come back for more. Eaglesham's art was in top notch form as always hopefully he sticks on for the long haul

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sinestro #6

Oct 29, 2014

As a whole Sinestro #6 was a popcorn comic to conclude act 1. Plenty of action with little exposition as it's serves to set up Sinestro for the rest of this crossover. The art switch is annoying but not much can be done about that when you factor in monthly comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sinestro #7

Dec 3, 2014

Sciver has become the definitive artist to draw Sinestro. His small intricate details on Sinestro are astounding and his mannerisms only help but to further enhance Sinestro as a character. Sinestro aside this issue looks gorgeous from start to finish with Van Scivers signature detailing and amazing splash pages. It was a pleasant surprise to see him draw the renegade Lantern again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Multiversity #1

Aug 21, 2014

This book is Morrison being Morrison, if you have never liked his previous work you wont' like this one. The only problem with the issue as a whole is when Morrison decided to cut to a different Earth and it felt way to jarring. It forces readers to catch up pretty quickly. Other than that The Multiversity #1 is just what I expected to be and more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Multiversity #2

May 13, 2015

The Multiversity was everything I expected and so much more, this was a love letter to what superheroes can be. That along with some of best artist working in the industry. Now to wait until the glorious hardcover releases later this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Multiversity: Mastermen #1

Feb 28, 2015

I was a tad shocked when I learned that Jim Lee was going to be the artist for this issue. With that being said this was Jim Lee's best pencils in quite some time. Naturally the first thing you'll notice is how super detailed each page and subsequentialy each panel is brimmed with detail. Perfect example being the double page splash of Overman with the members of the Justice League. Something Lee doesn't enough credit for is his ability to tell a story with his art, as each individual character comes to life with vivid expressions and even more expressive body language. Also Lee simply know how to put on a show in the medium of comics with his well done double page splash pages that perfectly capture the majesty or horror of the given moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Multiversity: Pax Americana #1

Nov 19, 2014

The Multiversity: Pax Americana was as perfect issue of a comic book as you can get. It has a strong narrative from start to finish that will keep readers hinging on each word balloon, plus the previously mentioned pencils by the genius Frank Quitely makes this issue one solid piece of comics gold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Multiversity: Society of Super-Heroes #1

Sep 22, 2014

The Multiversity: SOS is a much smaller in scope, but easier to digest package. It's thrilling enough for readers who are already committed to the story to continue, but it also fans who missed the first chapter to jump on without looking back.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Multiversity: The Just #1

Oct 22, 2014

The ending is a bit vague on as Superman's robots begin to tear apart the city. I'll give it to Morrison as he managed to mix superhero with current culture and not make it seem eye rolling. He didn't write them as people but rather people who live amazing lives who just happen to indulge in current lingo. He doesn't forget the superhero element.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Multiversity: Thunderworld Adventures #1

Dec 18, 2014

If you as a reader have been dissatisfied with Morrison's writing style then I encourage you to pick this issue up simply because it doesn't feel like Morrison wrote the issue, yet it does. It's a great issue for the holiday season for the kid in all of us, plus you get some sweet Cameron Stewart art so everybody wins.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Multiversity: Ultra Comics #1

Mar 26, 2015

This issue was everything I could have hoped for and then some. I enjoyed the creepy themes that Morrison played with along with Doug Mahnke on pencils added to the atmosphere of this fear inducing comic.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

June

May

More