Ryan Lower's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News Reviews: 108
7.9Avg. Review Rating

10
All-Star Batman #1

Aug 10, 2016

After a long wait, Snyder returns to Gotham with a bang. All-Star Batman is an exciting, thought-provoking and gorgeous looking book. I'm looking forward 2 issue #2 (that's not a COIN-cidence).

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All-Star Batman #2

Sep 14, 2016

Nothing wrong with this backup tale. It's providing a clearer picture of the still fresh character of Duke Thomas, and is doing a good job of winning me over. I'm enjoying it thus far, even with my little bouts of confusion, and am hoping it all comes together in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-Star Batman #3

Oct 12, 2016

A big problem for me here is the forcing of Thomas on us. He works in the main story, except Batman has to explain himself to him and Thomas always has an attitude because Batman doesn't always give him the full story. Since when does the Dark Knight have to explain himself to anyone, let alone a new character that once again is becoming his sidekick? I prefer my Batman solo and don't buy a Batman book to read about a Robin. Okay, end of rant. The backup story isn't bad, it's just not necessary to the main one. But hey, the art by Declan Shalvey is good!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #4

Nov 9, 2016

Overall, the story progresses a little and the art remains top notch. Despite my needfor some resolution next month, it's still one of DC's top titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-Star Batman #5

Dec 28, 2016

Overall, All Star Batman #5 brings this exciting journey to a pleasant conclusion. Many questions are answered, leaving relationships open to be revisited in later issues. Multiple readings will only benefit the story, especially once in a collected book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #6

Jan 11, 2017

All Star Batman #6 is a good, but not great, start to the next story arc in the series. Its tale is ambitious, haunting, and is a perfect example of Mr. Freeze's true villainous potential. While I find the book to be bogged down with text, it's still a quality issue. Batman is in the right hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #7

Feb 9, 2017

Overall, All Star Batman has cruised from awesome to good. I like the direction Snyder is taking the book with a "different villain every month", yet starting to tie together something much bigger. I hope it's a great payoff.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-Star Batman #8

Mar 15, 2017

All Star Batman #8 gets us back on track with the book's first story arc. It's exciting, true to character(s), surprising and just a pleasant read. The backup continues with Dean Thomas' "The Cursed Wheel". The art is again done by the fantastic Francesco Francavilla but if you've read my earlier reviews on this arc, nothing new here: meh. Overall, the whole issue is definitely worth the purchase.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #9

Apr 19, 2017

All Star Batman #9 wraps up "Ends of the Earth". There's some cool action, some great Batman moments, and unfortunately a very "been there, done that" between our hero and the villain. The ending didn't satisfy me, and I can't say I'm as excited for the future of the book. Hopefully, I'll be surprised.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All-Star Batman #10

May 11, 2017

Overall, an excellent new issue for Snyder and Albuquerque. Emotion, fun, tense, action, exciting…it has it all! If you haven't been keeping up withAll Star Batman, this is a perfect place to start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Arkham Manor #1

Oct 24, 2014

I really liked this issue. I think it adds plenty of intrigue, is a Batman-centric issue and is off to a great start with a good cliffhanger. The script, written by Gerry Duggan, puts a fresh twist on a 75-year-old character, and the art by Shawn Crystal only compliments it. I'm more than pleased with the start of this series, but the next few issues will decide if Arkham Manor is here to stay.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Arkham Manor #2

Dec 4, 2014

It's hard to say where this story will end up, seeing as we are only on issue #2, but I've strapped myself in to Arkham Manor, and I hope you'll be right there with me in the cell next door.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Arkham Manor #3

Dec 30, 2014

Overall, another good addition to this intriguing story. We have hit the halfway point and it will be an interesting 3 issues to see where it ends up… and how it affects the Bat-universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Arkham Manor #4

Jan 31, 2015

Overall, Arkham Manor is what it is and I mean that in a very positive way. It's fun, it's simple and treats the Dark Knight with respect. I've committed myself and you should too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Arkham Manor #6

Mar 27, 2015

I enjoyed the run of this story but felt like it ended on somewhat of a whimper. Not much happened this week, and we are in the somewhat same position as we were 6 months ago.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman '66 Meets Wonder Woman '77 #1

Nov 23, 2016

The first chapter is now available for download via the DC Comics App, Readdcentertainment.com, iBooks, comiXology.com, Google Play, Kindle Store, Nook Store, and iVerse ComicsPlus

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2011) Annual #4

Oct 1, 2015

This story was a decent one-off. You don't need to know what's happened before it but it also doesn't hurt. James Tynion IV is a good writer and creates a decent story here with Roge Antonio's art complementing the dialogue quite well. That being said, I don't know how much I got out of it. The Bruce not remembering Batman bit has run its course, and the book suffers when he's not the one in the cowl. I am glad we focused on mainly him throughout the whole issue, but I am ready for him to split time with the true Dark Knight. A decent read, but not essential.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2011) #32

Jun 27, 2014

Side note: Batman cost $3.99, a dollar more than the usual comics and inside I got 21 pages of Batman #32… and 5 preview pages of GRAYSON! It's a comic I have no interest in reading whatsoever, yet I got screwed because I had to pay the extra buck for crap. A dirtymove by DC nonetheless, capitalizing on their hottest title with the hottest team, to try and plug a new series. Not surprised, just don't like being taken advantage of. Ick… I need to take a shower, I feel all dirty.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #33

Jul 26, 2014

Snyder and Capullo are a dream team. We know they are on the title until at least #50 and seem to just be getting started. So, sorry anyone who wants to take on the Dark Knight…

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2011) #34

Aug 16, 2014

I won't give anything away (does he catch the killer?!!!) but I will say this is a good one. I'm excited for what's coming in Batman's world, as I have learned to never doubt Mr. Snyder. This issue should back that up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #35

Oct 9, 2014

All in all, "Part 1" of this new arc is off to a chilling start" and will surely put a smile on that face.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2011) #36

Nov 14, 2014

Has this team delivered a bad issue yet? Negative. Do yourself a favor and just buy this issue, strap in and enjoy the ride. We are in for another special story from two guys that redefine awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2011) #38

Jan 30, 2015

In conclusion, if you're reading this then you've been reading Batman. If you haven't started, get started" you're missing out! Buy this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #39

Feb 26, 2015

I find myself struggling each month to come up with a different way to describe this perfect title/team/story. This is what Batman is all about and I am already counting down the days until we get our conclusion on March 25th. Until then, this will have to do:

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2011) #40

May 1, 2015

"Endgame" is a perfect reaction to "Death of the Family" and I can't choose which one I like more. Why should I? I thought they were both done well by artists who truly understand the relationship of these legends. I loved this issue, this story and this team. It's a shame they won't be doing a Joker story anytime soon. I know Snyder said this was his final Joker story, but never say never. Next up for the team is a switch behind the cowl, and it's one I'm not that excited about. That issue is neither here nor there. I'll just say "Endgame" is a perfect celebration of one of the most popular villains of our time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #41

Jun 12, 2015

This was a decent comic book story. But I want a Batman story with my Batman. I know that sounds like I'm being close-minded, but it's the truth. This team is unstoppable and can do no wrong. If you're looking for a good story that's different than anything we've seen before, stay tuned because this is right up your alley. I just don't know if it's a journey I want to take.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman (2011) #42

Jul 10, 2015

The writing is good, the art is good, the mystery is intriguing. That will sell comic books. Batman#42 isn't groundbreaking, but it's entertaining. I'm going along for the ride but hope we get the Dark Knight we deserve soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #43

Aug 14, 2015

I really dug this issue, and am looking forward to the surprises Snyder and Capullo have in store during the rest of 'Superheavy'.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #44

Sep 12, 2015

Good story, good art, a bit misleading in its synopsis. Enjoyable as a stand-alone story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2011) #45

Oct 15, 2015

Overall, "Superheavy" is feeling just that. It's not that I can't wait to see what will happen next, but I can't wait for it to be over which pains me to say because I will buy anything Scott Snyder writes. The words here just aren't doing it for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2011) #46

Nov 13, 2015

Overall, it was a better issue than last month but that's not saying a whole lot. It's a Batman comic without the real Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2011) #47

Dec 11, 2015

Overall, an all right issue with an AWESOME final page that has me looking forward to #48.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #48

Jan 22, 2016

A surprising reunion graced the final page of last month's issue of Batman, and fans wanted more. Don't worry, Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo know that and kick off issue #48 right where we left off.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2011) #50

Mar 25, 2016

There were good things in this story (Bruce, Julie Madison, the meaning of Batman in issue #49), but it just wasn't for me. I'll continue to pick up anything this team puts out because they are solid. “Superheavy” was just a little too light for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #51

Apr 28, 2016

I'm sad to see this team leave. I have been reviewing this book on Dark Knight News since Death of the Family and have enjoyed it every month. The book has always been worth my money. I've even double dipped once the hardcover collections came out. But now we look ahead to the future. Capullo is working on a project with Mark Millar, while Snyder is taking on All-Star Batman this summer after DC's Rebirth. But can we see them reunite with our hero? Anything in Gotham is" possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #1

Oct 9, 2015

Overall, a great start for the 26-issue run. It's fun, a great setup and is great to look at.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #2

Oct 16, 2015

Overall, good follow up to an awesome debut. Let's hope this story keeps on truckin' for 24 more weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #3

Oct 22, 2015

Overall, a good issue that moves the story forward and looks great while doing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #4

Oct 30, 2015

Overall, not a bad issue but nothing special either. I'll bereturning toEternalnext week and you should too.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #5

Nov 5, 2015

Overall, an okay issue at best but can be skipped.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #6

Nov 14, 2015

Another solid effort from team Eternal and the best issue so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #7

Nov 20, 2015

Overall, the story moves on in a quick pace, each character gets more depth, and another cliffhanger which has me excited for another issue. Not as great as #6 (the series' best) but still a worthy read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #8

Nov 28, 2015

Overall, another pleasant entry in the run. It's not the best thus far (again, issue #6!) but still worth your money.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #9

Dec 4, 2015

Overall, a good tryfrom the Eternalteam but the whole St. Dumas / Azrael involvement isn't my cup of tea.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #11

Dec 19, 2015

Overall, a fun issue that gives an origin to a mysterious character who also has many questions left to be answered.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #12

Dec 26, 2015

The art again follows theEternal norm of great pictures from artists you may not have heard of. Pina and Sudzuka team up to put us inside the head of Sculptor yet it looks drastically different from what we saw a week ago. The strength in these "head trip" issues is that there are subtle changes to the pages, but never too much to cause a distraction. I especially appreciate the few panels we had of the Dark Knight. He look sketchy, dark and like our true hero. Overall, another solid effort from theEternal team and I'm looking forward to how they wrap up the first half of the title in next week's issue #13.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #13

Dec 31, 2015

Overall, a bit of a filler issue but Cassandra's moment with the Dark Knight really struck an emotional chord. It helped add a little bit of depth to a tortured character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #14

Jan 8, 2016

Overall, great pacing, action and art make this one of the best issues so far in the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #15

Jan 15, 2016

Overall, an okay issue. Some interesting action and great art but if you don't get it, you'll be fine.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #16

Jan 22, 2016

Overall, a somewhat forgettable issue that is saved by the Dynamic Duo and Scarecrow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #18

Feb 4, 2016

A deep issue that cranks up the run to an 11, Batman & Robin Eternal #18 isn't an issue to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #19

Feb 12, 2016

Overall, a fun, exciting issue that is a little bit of a payoff for weeks of buildup.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #20

Feb 19, 2016

Overall, a decent issue that escalates the story a little more. The team has stopped one threat while Mother has access to another, only pushing us closer to what should be an epic reunion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #21

Feb 26, 2016

Overall, one of the titles best issues and a definite must. You won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #22

Mar 4, 2016

Overall, another solid entry in the title as we inch closer to the finish line. There are four issues left and next week's should be the beginning of the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #23

Mar 11, 2016

An action-packed issue that is taking us to a massivefinale we have come to expect has a few hiccups in how it gets us there, but the art and characters pull us through.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #24

Mar 18, 2016

Overall, a decent issue that isn't as great as it should be, since we are just a few weeks out from the epic ending we have been building towards. Luckily, we have two more issues that should be top-notch.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #25

Mar 25, 2016

Overall, an okay issue for the series that sends us into next week's finale with a little less emphasis and excitement than I was hoping.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman And Robin Eternal #26

Apr 1, 2016

When Batman: Eternal ended, we were quickly teased that the title would continue withBatman & Robin. But as of this writing, we haven't heard anything. Oh well, hope springs eternal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #1

Oct 28, 2016

In a nutshell,Batman Beyond #1 is a good start to a new story. Good action, great drama, and overall just fun. If it can make a fan out of me, there's plenty of room on that bandwagon for you too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond: Rebirth #1

Sep 30, 2016

Overall, a great starting point for new fans, and a great continuation for old ones.Batman Beyond: Rebirth #1 is a fun look toward the future, and I'm ready to go there.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Eternal #9

Jun 7, 2014

This was a great issue. I'm usually one for consistency and am not on board when they switch artists, but Batman Eternal has made fine decisions, and Guillem March this month is awesome. Oh, and John Layman? Nails it! Though Batman was the main character in the issue (as he should be), there was a great balance between his story and Catwoman's. Oh, and let me tell you about that twist at the end…

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman: Eternal #10

Jun 17, 2014

This story is still building, yet has already laid a ton of groundwork. I'm loving where this is headed… because I have no idea where it's going! If you haven't already,BUY IT. And if for some reason you haven't jumped on board withBatman:Eternal, get on it! You're missing out.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman: Eternal #11

Jun 20, 2014

Overall, this issue was a little disappointing after a few really solid issues. Hopefully they can get back on board next week.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: Eternal #12

Jun 28, 2014

I made a major commitment toBatman:Eternal. 52 issues at $2.99 a piece for 52 weeks. That's a lot of time, money and reading. After committing to the first 3 months, I'm all in for the next 9. You should be too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman: Eternal #13

Jul 5, 2014

That's it. Another solid effort from the team, and we only have to wait a few more days to see what's next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Eternal #14

Jul 12, 2014

Other than that, great issue. The story is coming together nicely. But despite it's title, nothing lasts forever.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman: Eternal #15

Jul 18, 2014

I'm not going to waste anymore time. This issue stinks. I love the art, I've always been a fan of Dustin Nguyen. The writing isn't bad either, it's just a Batman series without Batman, which is kind of the main reason we buy the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman: Eternal #16

Jul 26, 2014

I'm not a fan of this issue. It's a struggle for me when I'm not getting Batman in my Batman comics. Here's to hoping next week's makes a little more sense as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman: Eternal #17

Aug 2, 2014

I don't want to give much away, but I really liked this issue. Batman was involved, and it seems like Blackfire is going to be a major player in the coming weeks. We know more about him, yet have only scratched the service. Author Ray Fawkes did a great job of taking us on a journey throughout the issue, between different story and time lines, while artist Dustin Nguyen remains at the top of his game. He really is one of my favorite Batman artists.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: Eternal #18

Aug 9, 2014

This week's issue does right what the past few weeks have done wrong: stick to a story, steady build-up, and deliver… without losing the reader in the process. I put my faith back in the team behind this title when great issues like this one come out on Wednesdays.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman: Eternal #19

Aug 16, 2014

This issue gets a lot right, but it hards to sum up week after week the little pieces that are slowly coming together. Some of it is working (Batgirl vs. Red Hood), some of it isn't (Red Robin and Harper Row) but overall,Eternal is establishing itself as a reliable weekly title.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: Eternal #21

Aug 29, 2014

Believe it or not, we aren't even halfway throughBatman:Eternal. But after this week's issue, I couldn't be happier.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman: Eternal #22

Sep 4, 2014

Overall, another solid effort for a giant story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman: Eternal #24

Sep 19, 2014

We're approaching the halfway point (already?!) ofBatman:Eternal, and I haven't a clue which direction we're headed. That's not a bad thing either.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman: Eternal #25

Sep 27, 2014

This week's issue isn't the best, but isn't the worst. Worth a read for sure as well as your $2.99.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Eternal #26

Oct 4, 2014

Another week, another good read to complete the first half of this epic run. Are you ready for the rest?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman: Eternal #27

Oct 11, 2014

Another enjoyable read, but nothing earth-shattering here. You won't be disappointed either way.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Batman: Eternal #29

Oct 24, 2014

Overall, skip this issue as you won't get that much out of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman: Eternal #30

Nov 1, 2014

Overall, not a bad issue yet not a great one. But just when things are looking bad in Gotham, they are looking good for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman: Eternal #31

Nov 11, 2014

Overall, another valiant effort from theEternal gang. We have 31 issues in the can, with 21 to go. How do YOU think it will end?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman: Eternal #32

Nov 15, 2014

Eternalcontinues to be a (mostly) bankable run and this week ends on a great note. HOPEFULLY, it picks up right where it left off in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman: Eternal #33

Nov 20, 2014

Another solid entry in this epic tale. Kyle Higgins handled the scripting duties while my man Mr. Jason Fabok nails the art (there's a wonderful shot of Batman on page 2 that will make anyone drool). I'm digging this direction of the story and would be satisfied if we stuck with just this story line from here on out, for I believe this will be one hell of an ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Eternal #34

Nov 29, 2014

Eternal continues its long trek to what should be an epic finally. How will we catch up to this?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Eternal #35

Dec 6, 2014

Just like that, another issue of Eternal is over. Before we know it, #52 will wrap and we won't know what to do week-after-week. At least up until the next round starts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Eternal #36

Dec 12, 2014

This book has been a great story and we still have a lot to go… with one of Batman's best villains now calling the shots. If you have yet to get on board with this story, now is the perfect time to jump in.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman: Eternal #39

Jan 3, 2015

I've read better, and I've ready a LOT worse inEternal‘s epic run so if you have a few bucks to spare go ahead and give it a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman: Eternal #40

Jan 10, 2015

Another fine issue from the folks behindEternal. This week that includes Ray Fawkes behind the script and Davide Furn & Paolo Armitano with art duties. Each member does a great job this issue, as it moves along at a quick pace and plenty of nice scenery along the way. There are a lot of characters to get to in this issue, and yet it's done in a way that's not too overwhelming. Great work all around.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman: Eternal #42

Jan 24, 2015

We inch closer to what is sure to be a monstrous finale to an epic story and maybe (hopefully) we've capped the nanovirus part.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman: Eternal #43

Jan 31, 2015

Overall with this issue, we didn't get a whole lot on the Batman front. He made his appearance, helped save the day and moved along. But what we did get was a different side to a new character, thanks to writer James Tynion IV and artist David Lafuente. It's a side I hope we see more of in the remaining 9issues of this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Eternal #47

Feb 27, 2015

Overall, a few twists and turns, appearances from many characters and anticipation for what's coming up next week. With only 5 issues left, strap in for a wild ride to the end because despite the title, this story won't last forever.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Eternal #49

Mar 14, 2015

Issue #49 surprisingly ends with an image much like the cover, leaving me impatient to see another Batman vs. Bane battle. This one won't be as epic as previous fights I'm sure, but action awaits us all. I can't wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: Eternal #50

Mar 21, 2015

The team of James Tynion, IV and Alvaro Martinez handle the script and art duties for this week's issue. It's a fine job by both, as we take off from the opening page and never really slow down until the end. That's the sign of a great combination of dialogue and pictures, which Eternal has never slacked on in its run. Though we have seen a variety of artists (great artists mind you), the team behind the story (Scott Snyder, Ray Fawkes, Kyle Higgins, Tim seeley, James Tynion, IV) have really constructed something special. This is a huge story, perhaps the biggest in Batman's history, and it has been a great run. So now the pressure is really on, with only two issues left. How will it end? I haven't got a clue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: Eternal #51

Mar 27, 2015

Great dialogue and great pacing by the team of James Tynion IV & Alvaro Martinez. The team behind the story have really knocked it out of the park, and I'd be repeating myself if I continued on. Great job teamEternal, give us one more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman: Eternal #52

Apr 4, 2015

It may seem like an easy task to just write your opinions on something, every week for an entire year, but it can be tiring. Some issues you can't put down so you have too many words to write up. Others, you can't wait to finish but come up short on your review. Lucky for me, I had Batman on my side.Writing for your passion somehow gets easier, yet you still struggle to find the right words to describe him. I love this character. Always have, always will. I guess you can say it's eternal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Europa #1

Nov 21, 2015

Overall, a great introduction to a long-awaited book. Although Jim Lee isn't returning for issue #2, Azzarello is and I'm still excited for what's in store the next three months.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #8

Mar 29, 2017

If you've been reading this far, there's no question. Buy this issue. It's fun, some great action, and our Dark Knight has a Benjamin Button moment. If you're new to the story? Wait for the trade.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Knight Returns: The Last Crusade #1

Jun 17, 2016

Overall, this is a great buy. A great story with lovely art, and definitely worth reading again"and again" and again. I hope the Dark Knight returns one more time before hanging it all up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #17

Apr 6, 2017

Harley Quinn#17 was a blast. I'm new to this series but am glad I jumped on when I did. Not only is the main story fun, but we get a perfect backup story with Harley's love (Joker) and creator (Dini). Get this issue, you won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #18

Apr 20, 2017

Overall, Harley Quinn continues to be such a joy. The world being developed by Conner and Palmiotti is twisted but so much fun. Plus, a Paul Dini backup is worth the $2.99 on its own. If you haven't started reading it, please pick up the last two issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2016) #19

May 5, 2017

Great story by Palmiotti, Conner and Dini. Fantastic art by Timms, Bone and Blevins. This is one of DC's funnest books and I can't recommend it any more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #20

May 18, 2017

Harley Quinncontinues to be one of, if not THEE, funnest titles on DC's lineup. Our main character is a blast. The side characters are fun. And the plots aren't too complex and move along at a brisk pace. Oh, and the backup is written by Paul Dini. If you're not on board, this is the perfect time to jump in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #1

Dec 21, 2016

Overall, what a great start forRebirth's first crossover story. There's perfect character introductions, world building, buildup and of course action. The good news is we don't know what to expect but only have to wait a week to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #2

Dec 29, 2016

Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #2 is another exciting chapter. More action and "less" story isn't a problem here, especially with the title being a weekly book. Pick a side if you want, but I have a feeling they'll be coming together to take down a greater threat.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #3

Jan 5, 2017

Overall, another knockout issue ofJustice League vs. Suicide Squad. We get a timeout from action for another serving of story, and it works. The characters are spot-on, and they look good too. While we've seen the two teams battle, it's about to turn into a triple threat match. I can't wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #4

Jan 13, 2017

Overall, this is becoming one of my favorite stories in DC's "Rebirth". It's exciting, funny, true to character and most importantly fun. If you haven't jumped in yet, you're missing out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #5

Jan 19, 2017

Justice League vs. Suicide Squad continues to be DC's most reliable and exciting book. The pressure is on to stick the landing next week but given this title's track record, there's nothing to worry about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #6

Jan 27, 2017

Overall, this issue isn't as good as the previous ones, but it still caps off an awesome run nicely.Justice League vs. Suicide Squad has been what “Rebirth” promised. It's exciting, fun, true to character, and packs a real punch with its price tag. If you haven't jumped on board yet, wait for the trade. Otherwise, buy this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

More