Sharna Jahangir's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News Reviews: 15
8.1Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Batman/The Shadow #1

Apr 28, 2017

I'm always excited to see a partnership with the Dark Knight. Bruce Wayne is such a unique and brilliant character that a character will always evolve around him, and he will always evolve with the partnership as well. The Shadow's form of vigilante is dangerous, while Batman is aware of his surroundings. He tries his best to keep everyone out of harm's way, The Shadow does not and this will cause dilemma and tension. I am interested in their chemistry. In the past, they have established respect, I know this will happen but I'm also looking forward to an awkward friendship as well. Overall, absolutely mandatory for your comic collection and a must-read!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman/The Shadow #2

May 29, 2017

This is another brilliant comic series. I've been addicted to crime dramas since I was a child, so this is a treat for me. I really want to know the person/people behind the murders, and why. I'm also intrigued to see this relationship develop because chemistry with Batman is always an interesting time. With amazing writers and artist behind this series, I'm sure it'll continue to be an astounding story. I won't give out a big spoiler, but the last panel art is a piece! A strong representation of evil.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #16

Mar 18, 2017

This series is extremely entertaining. Harley had caught my attention since the 1990s. I can't imagine a moment where she wasn't entertaining. A comic of her being the title character can be summed in one word: fun. Even next to Batman, in DC's Christmas Special, she helps him break into (one line) a Christmas carol. That's talent! The story is slightly staggered, but they are building up to a deeper meaning and desire. This being only issue 16, I know there is much more coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #22

Jun 10, 2017

As I said, definitely would recommend this issue if you're just starting off with Justice League. It's witty and lovable, perfectly befitting the joyful side of the characters. It's a low-key issue and isn't one to cause too much stress. With the revolutionary new Wonder Womanmaking great success, it's wonderful to see more women work in the DC-comic industry, and give the female superheroes narratives that stand-out. Both Jess and Wonder Woman's personalities were vibrant. In addition, to remind us that Ms. Lane is a journalist. A fun addition to your collection!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #23

Jun 24, 2017

A few moments of brief smiles. The relationship between the Leaguers is strong, but I do not support the portrayal of Cruz and this unknown city. American narratives try and make a place look “exotic” and it turns out looking pretty disrespectful. Come on, I think Rebirth can do much better than this. Art is gorgeous, but it wasn't a strong attempt at being political, at least people are trying. I'd recommended someone grabbing an insight or two before they write about oppression and social structures and then try to deliver it with the exceptional art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #3

Mar 9, 2017

We've already seen them fight: the Justice League against Brainiac, and the Might Morphs battling Lord Zedd. The combination of them is a thrilling joy to read. I had been waiting for this series the minute I heard of it. I suppose for nostalgic reasons, as well as the art looking so attractive. We can expect that the next issue will begin the climax, and although predictable, during these struggling times, we can never get enough of team ups and taking down villains. We need it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #4

May 20, 2017

I highly recommend this crossover series. Watching two childhood superhero teams work together will cause a smile on your face, no doubt. A simple plot and conflict, but it doesn't mean I won't enjoy the ride. There are the classic lessons in this: love your family, respect your elders, and believe in yourself. All around, a good-hearted issue. Issue#5 comes out August 9th, 2017, a bit of a wait, but worth it for your collection!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #

Jun 17, 2017

All their faces, bodies, fighting scenes are spot on and aesthetic. If you don't enjoy the resolution, get this for the art! The conclusion in writing is anti-climactic, especially after having 3 months of an enticing build-up, but Soy and Gandini definitelymake up for what's lacking. Lobdell is talented, and the writing has been stand-up for this series. I suppose the ending felt forced and rushed. Maybe Artemis needed more time? But that's alright, we have more than enough time to learn and love this team.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #9

Apr 15, 2017

I am entranced by this series, I was originally heart-broken when the New 52 Red Hood and the Outlaws ended, because the chemistry was just so solid. However, reading this, I still appreciate the old, but the story tellers and the artists are doing a wonderful job of healing my heart. I will reiterate what I said in my last review, I love Scott Lobdell.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #10

May 13, 2017

A series easily to immerse into, Red Hood and the Outlaws #10 is one to humble your collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #11

Jun 17, 2017

All their faces, bodies, fighting scenes are spot on and aesthetic. If you don't enjoy the resolution, get this for the art! The conclusion in writing is anti-climactic, especially after having 3 months of an enticing build-up, but Soy and Gandini definitelymake up for what's lacking. Lobdell is talented, and the writing has been stand-up for this series. I suppose the ending felt forced and rushed. Maybe Artemis needed more time? But that's alright, we have more than enough time to learn and love this team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #8

Apr 24, 2017

I'm greatly biased, as Trinity is my most beloved Rebirth series, thus far. I appreciate the development of their chemistry and combined strengths. However, unless you're a fan of Superman, this issue might not interest you, but I'll be looking forward to the continuation of this series. Props to Bunn for instilling an affinity for Superman in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #9

May 22, 2017

This is an interesting thriller issue, a mixture of superheroes and creature features. I could hear an eerie,monotonous soundtrack in the back of my head while Flash was giving us the run-down of what's going on. Dismembered Cyborg didn't help tone it down either. I'm genuinely curious as to what went down on this ship, however, I believe I am as confused as Batman, Superman, and Wonder Woman. It's certainly something I've added to my collection. The art alone is completely worth it, but I'd suggest to read it differently. Instead of a superhero comic, read it like a murder-mystery and see if you feel anything different.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #10

Jun 23, 2017

Say what you must, but I enjoyed this issue! As a fan of creature features and superheroes, I'm loving this. It's friendly and fun, and hopefully, we'll get back to the deeper themes between the Trinity. My only complaint is that I would love to see more chemistry between the three.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) Annual #1

May 31, 2017

The plot is a little convoluted, I noticed this for many Trinity story-arcs. I followed the Pre-New 52 Trinity series from the early 2000s,and a major flaw was that several narratives didn't make sense. So much time-hopping. I really hope this doesn't occur for Rebirth Trinity. It's a relatively new universe, so it's alright that they made four Superman clash into each other (although, why Rebirth? Why?) It needs to flow better. I believe that the lack of history between Clark Kent and Bruce Wayne/Diana Prince is a significant reason why Trinity appears nonlinear. Until issue #6, the writers were doing a bang-up job with story plotting. It looks like they're on their way to tie things together. At the end of the issue, the dark Trinity appears; Red Hood, Artemis, and Bizzaro from Red Hood and the Outlaws! I'm stoked for the next adventure. Yet, if they give me more out-of-suit parties, dinners, and interactions, I won't complain. Bruce! Stop freaking out Clark with the bill!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

June

May

More