Superman/Wonder Woman #5

Superman/Wonder Woman #5

Writer: Charles Soule Artist: Tony S. Daniel Publisher: DC Comics Release Date: February 12, 2014 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 16 User Reviews: 8
8.1Critic Rating
8.4User Rating

Faora has joined Zod - and now, Earth must kneel before their combined might! Even Superman and Wonder Woman can't stop their plan for the Phantom Zone!

  • 10
    Comic Vine - Tony 'G-Man' Guerrero Feb 12, 2014

    I can still remember when people questioned the validity and need for this series. Each month Charles Soule shows us the different facets to these two great characters. Tony Daniel's art and Tomeu Morey's colors here really do shine. Whether it's Wonder Woman thinking things over on Paradise Island or Superman trying to fight off both Zod and Faora, this issue will grab hold of your interest and smack you in the most loving way possible. Find out who these characters really are and how much action they're capable of. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    Weird Science - Jim Werner Feb 13, 2014

    Superman/Wonder Woman has become one of my favorite books in the New 52.  This issue again shows just how well Soule knows both characters and the repercussions of their relationship.  Daniel's outstanding art is icing on an already delicious cake. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Chuck's Comic Of The Day - Chuck Feb 15, 2014

    I still don't buy the title characters as a couple, but it's well written and the partnership is moving in an interesting direction, and - so far - it keeps bringing me back for more. Read Full Review

  • 8.9
    IGN - Mike Logsdon Feb 12, 2014

    Tony Daniel has never produced better material, as he continues to knock it out of the park panel after panel. Seriously, one panel in particular stopped me in my tracks, and made me wish it were a poster hanging on my wall. Along with Daniel's pencils, Tomeu Morey's incredible coloring work helps to elevate the art even more, making it the perfect accompaniment to Soule's insightful storytelling. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Unleash The Fanboy - Harrison Rawdin Feb 12, 2014

    Superman/Wonder Woman #5 is resounding success in my book that should be a welcome addition to either franchise. It easily comes recommended. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Newsarama - Michael Moccio Feb 12, 2014

    This issue of Superman/Wonder Woman really ups the stakes and tension in the story for all involved. As Zod and Faora make their escape, with Wonder Woman down on her lasso, and Superman knowing he's no match for the pair alone, readers can know that they next issue of Soule's series will be an exciting one. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    We The Nerdy - Matt Sculthorpe Feb 13, 2014

    Superman/Wonder Woman #5 not only makes for a great chapter in the overarching story, but as a standalone as well. Superman/Wonder Woman works because the team realizes that it is a true team up book. The characters in the title receive the focus necessary to tell a great story for one of them, but Soule and Daniel manage to treat both of them equally. Soule paces the story well, but almost so deliberately that it feels like it is taking forever to finish. As the issue reaches its height, its over, creating a great, if not subtle cliffhanger and manages to cap the issue as well as any device could, even as the story continues to build toward more greatness. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Supergirl Comic Box Commentary - Anj Feb 17, 2014

    So, there are a couple of wonky character moments - as usual regarding the relationship. And the ending seems just a smidge unrealistic. But that doesn't take away from a breath-taking issue of unbelievable action. And that's sometimes what I read comics to see. And the art is so fantastic that you could erase the words it would still be worth the price. Let me put it to you another way, if this issue Superman called his ally Wonder Woman to help him, I would have been thrilled. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    All-Comic - Milo Milton Jefferies Feb 13, 2014

    Superman/Wonder Womanhas given us another excellent issue and this certainly proves why this title is one of the best in DC's lineup right now, fitting easily in the Top 10 list and maybe even in the Top 5. Soule and Daniel have a hit on their hands here " and with great portrayals of Superman and Wonder Woman, as well as Zod and Faora, this is a must-read book for fans of both Clark Kent and Diana Prince. Highly recommended. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    GoCollect - @UrbanRemnant Feb 18, 2014

    If you're not bogged down by the sexual and gender politics presented in this series, "Superman Wonder Woman" still is an action-packed, narrative-driven comic book. The writing is strong and humorous. Issue no. 5 was a fun read, especially the battle between all four of them (until it got awkward). I give this issue four out of five stars. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Nerds Unchained - David Staniusz Feb 18, 2014

    This arc will conclude in next months issue. I for one am anticipating a epic finsih! Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Infinite Comix - Gilbert Rivera Feb 27, 2014

    Sadly, these kinds of thematic similarities go largely unexplored, as fighting is mostly what they do in this book. The action is great, with some heavy and intense hits, but it does make this issue a bit of a quick read. As this story progresses, there is still very little explained, and this creates a problem. The book feels like it has a bit of an identity crisis, struggling between being a deep, character developing title, and wanting to be an action-packed flurry of punches, which is really a shame because the calmer moments in the story, are truly the ones that shine. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Newsarama - Aaron Duran Feb 13, 2014

    Bringing movie characters into comics proper isn't new, so adding Faora in Superman/Wonder Woman #5 isn't all that shocking. Nor is it all that amazing. Charles Soule does an fine enough job in bringing her in, but I get the impression he'd rather delve more into the relationship issues between Diana and Clark. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Henchman-4-Hire - Sean Ian Mills Feb 15, 2014

    Soule can definitely write a great action scene. And the art by Daniel was as strong as it's ever been. But man, oh man, does this series not want to celebrate this relationship. It's maddening. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Weekly Comic Book Review - Minhquan Nguyen Feb 15, 2014

    Wonder Woman's martial prowess is worth the price of admission alone, but unfortunately, there's not much else to make the issue a lasting reading experience. Read Full Review

  • 6.5
    AiPT! - Jordan Richards Feb 12, 2014

    Superman/Wonder Woman #5 was the weakest issue of the series so far. It felt padded out, lacked in the characterization and relationship aspects, and really did not have much going on. The writing and artwork are fine; it just needs a bit more to it if it wants to stand out. Read Full Review

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...