Penny Dora & The Wishing Box #1

Penny Dora & The Wishing Box #1

Writer: Michael Stock Artist: Sina Grace Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: November 5, 2014 Cover Price: $2.99 Critic Reviews: 12 User Reviews: 1
7.9Critic Rating
7.5User Rating

Once upon a time, on the day before Christmas, a young girl named Penny Dora found a mysterious box on her front doorstep. A magic box with the power to grant wishes. But what she's about to learn is the true (and creepy) meaning of "be careful what you wish for." An all-ages fantasy/adventure book for fans of Coraline and Courtney Crumrin!

  • 9.0
    Newsarama - Draven Katayama (loudlysilent) Nov 6, 2014

    Sina Grace's every detail, from quilt patchwork to a teddy bear's fuzzy fur, make this a gorgeously illustrated, thoroughly enjoyable mystery that kids and adults alike can appreciate. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Unleash The Fanboy - Eric Bridges Nov 4, 2014

    Penny Dora is a comic that everyone can enjoy. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comic Crusaders - Martin Ferretti Nov 7, 2014

    Penny Dora and the Wishing Box #1 is one of the most touching and heartfelt books I've read in years. The book works on many levels and has a little bit for people of all ages to enjoy. If you're looking for a book that will take you back to your childhood, and you can read along with your kids, then this is definitely a solid choice, and I look forward to the second issue. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Rhymes With Geek - Nikki Sherman Nov 5, 2014

    I'm not always the biggest fan of cute, sweet, and happy stories. I mean, I like them off and on, but I normally like sci-fi, horror, and action stories among others. You can imagine my surprise then, to find thatPenny Dora put one of the biggest grins on my face in recent times. A simple story that has a lot of potential, I cannot encourage you enough to pick this book up and share it with a loved one or two. We always have time for an extra smile. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Geek Sushi - Peter Rodriguez Nov 4, 2014

    Michael Stock it truly honoring the imagination of his daughter by expanding this idea she came up with many years ago, and transforming it into this wonderful world that is Penny Dora. In an industry that is producing so many quality all-ages comics these days, Penny Dora and the Wishing Box shines in this first issue. This is a beautifully told story and a series that all comic book readers and their children will enjoy. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Newsarama - Richard Gray Nov 4, 2014

    Penny Dora & The Wishing Box #1 is the first issue in a planned five-issue arc, with the writer already planning a second arc to follow this one. It's a familiar story, albeit one that is incredibly readable, and it's easy to see how this could become a modern all-ages favorite, with the right mixture of youthful exploration, cautionary tale, and sheer magic. It's even got a cat for good measure. What more could any discerning reader want from their fantasy stories? Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Bastards - Andr Habet Nov 6, 2014

    In a week that saw Image also publish the bawdy adult comedy The Humans, Penny Dora is evidence of the publisher's desire to appeal to a wide range of audiences. Hopefully the breadth of their risks pays off, and young and older readers manage to check out this fun and beautiful story. Read Full Review

  • 7.7
    IGN - Jesse Schedeen Nov 6, 2014

    Coming so soon after the end of the second Burn the Orphanage mini-series, it's funny to see Grace take such a 180 in terms of subject matter. This is no satirical, hyper-violent video game homage. Grace's style is toned down just enough to suit the more ordinary protagonists and family-friendly subject matter while still retaining a sense of whimsy. Tamra Bonvillain's colors also help lend a softer edge to Grace's work. This is a book that could easily develop into something special. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    AiPT! - Jordan Richards Nov 4, 2014

    Penny Dora and the Wishing Box #1 is not a bad start overall to this mini-series. It has some problems, but it also has some impressive qualities and a story with plenty of potential. It's also definitely pretty good comic for young kids and parents looking for a comic they can share together. Read Full Review

  • 6.8
    Multiversity Comics - Michelle White Nov 6, 2014

    We've yet to invent a word for wanting to like something because you can see what it's trying to do, but ultimately being disappointed because it's falling short. Until we do, I haven't got much in the way of a pithy summary for this book. I do know that charm is an elusive quality; you can't add it to a comic like a coat of varnish. It emerges when the concept, the art, and the structure underlying them get along well; when they seem to belong to each other. And unfortunately for "Penny Dora", its component parts seem to come from different kits. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    All-Comic - Dan Pennacchia Nov 6, 2014

    Once Penny invites her friend, Elizabeth, over to hang out and share with her the items she received on Christmas day, the tension and anticipation for what may be in this mystery box rises. Penny, having opened the unmarked package to find an old, and empty, wooden chest, attempts to hide the box. Having been instructed to discard it, as it was likely junk, Penny soon discovers the box has a lot more to it. When Elizabeth finds the box and attempts to open it, the following pages of Penny frantically trying to stop this action and separate Elizabeth from the box are well crafted. Stock's writing and the art to go with it make for a great series of panels in the first issue. While the conclusion of the first issue is one that is mostly comedy, the creative team behind Penny Dora have teased the series well enough in its opening chapter. It is certainly going to be fun to see what lies ahead. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Book Resources - Greg McElhatton Nov 6, 2014

    "Penny Dora and the Wishing Box" #1 is a nice start, but I'm actually a little more eager to see the next issue. Once the route for the series is a little more firmly nailed down, it'll get expectations in the right place. Until then, though, this is a little light and predictable, but still pleasant enough that it's worth taking a look at that second issue. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Soyner Nov 18, 2014

    This is a sweet simple story that is different than most comics because of the absence of gore, profanity and all the charming things you find in most Image comics recently. Is the story great? Well, it's decent with some cute scenarios and imagery but it's nothing to get too excited about...yet. It's a decent start to a new beginning series.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...