The Walking Dead #1

The Walking Dead #1

Writer: Robert Kirkman Artist: Tony Moore Publisher: Image Comics Release Date: October 8, 2003 Cover Price: $2.95 Critic Reviews: 2 User Reviews: 7
8.0Critic Rating
8.6User Rating

+ Pull List

Rick Grimes, Sheriff of a small town in Kentucky awakes in a hospital. Comatose after being shot while on duty, Rick finds the world abandoned of all things living and is faced with walking undead, who attack him on sight. He returns home to find his family, son Carl and wife Lori, gone. He meets his new neighbor, who points him towards Atlanta. After retrieving supplies from the abandoned Police Station, Rick sets off to Atlanta to search for his family.

  • 10
    Comics Bulletin - Paul Brian McCoy Oct 14, 2003

    All in all, this book has everything I want in a zombie narrative. Sympathetic protagonists, graphic detail in the rotting of the zombies, and a touch of nihilism mixed generously with a bit of hope. The pacing of the story is damn near perfect and I really cant wait until the next issue hits the stands. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Eye On Comics - Don MacPherson Nov 1, 2010

    I came away from the premiere episode feeling entertained and hopeful about what's to follow (especially given the cliffhanger and preview of the next episode). Still, maybe the most encouraging thing to take away from this TV show is this: that comics can do some things better than other media. I enjoyed this small-screen debut, but it pales in comparison with what Kirkman and company accomplish in two dimensions with nothing more than ink and imagination. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Cablev94 Jun 22, 2016

    This is the book that got me into comics.

  • 9.0
    The Villain Jul 12, 2016

    At first I was worried that there was going to be no dialogue in this comic at all. The silent lone silent character does work for the first half in order to establish the work he lives in. Rick Grimes is a well crafted character so far who will certainly make a great hero in the coming issues.

  • 8.0
    Mister Bungle Mar 2, 2016

    Very cool series. Just wish it had more gore though.

  • 7.0
    JBL Reviews Dec 31, 2014

    It was ok. Trying to understand why it was so loved.

  • 10
    victorh_357 Nov 28, 2015

  • 8.5
    melatoniini Sep 19, 2014

  • 8.0
    EpicDnS Jun 22, 2016

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...