Adam T Bennett's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: ComicBuzz Reviews: 15
7.4Avg. Review Rating

7.0
A Walk Through Hell #2

Jun 20, 2018

If youre into strange stories and some cop drama this comic book might be for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Aliens: Dust to Dust #2

Jul 18, 2018

As much as this sounds like just another Alien story I like it so far. Ive read the trilogy of Alien novels that are canon to the universe published by Titan books in 2014 and they follow kind of generic Alien storytelling but as long as its written well then I wont complain. I love the Alien universe and this Dust to Dust series looks good and is interesting enough for me to recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Barbarella (2017) #7

Jun 22, 2018

So overall I cant give this comic book a high grade, I couldn't recommend it or tell anybody to buy it just for the art. Don't get me wrong it's not that Mike Carey is a bad writer, the script flowed but it just didn't hook me in. Barbarella fans would know better than me if this was a good representation of the character and world, let me know what you guys think of this issue and the run overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Descender #30

Jun 7, 2018

Without giving spoilers, this issue has the tides turning and the family dynamic changing even more for our little android. I really enjoyed this comic, its written well and the art is amazing. The imagery suites the series so well and sets it apart from most comics that are set in space.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
G.I. Joe: A Real American Hero #253

Jul 17, 2018

The art by Brian Shearer is great a suits the action very well. Overall this was a great comic, I didnt want to spoil anything when it comes to the action and story, Ill leave it to the JOE fans to experience it for themselves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mister Miracle #9

Jun 14, 2018

I think this book and I assume the entire series run will serve not only as a great story but a training tool for comic book creators. Whether you're a writer, artist, colorist, letterer or even editor, there are so many great aspects to how they presented this book and paced it. So that being said I highly recommend Mister Miracle #9, this series is something special.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Project: Superpowers (2018) #0

Jul 5, 2018

This band of heroes reminded me of Watchmen a bit and the sympathetic Devil character is really interesting like a man possessed. Project Superpowers has been a limited series starting back in 2008 with an 8 issue run. Jim Krueger and Alex Ross are the creators of this series with Jim Krueger as the writer and Alex Ross as the artist and co-plotter. They had a second limited series in 2009-2010 with 13 issues and it seems it took a hiatus until 2018. This series brings back some golden age heroes like The Black Terror, Dynamic Man, The Flame and The Face to name a few. This was my first look into these characters and I really like what I see so far, itll be interesting to see where it goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Project: Superpowers (2018) #1

Aug 1, 2018

The heroes have some trying times ahead and the reader will really feel the struggle involved. The feel of the book is a lot like a modern Watchmen series with a bit more flare. The disconnect with modern culture will have to be put aside in order to save it. Overall this is a great comic book, I'm really impressed with it and I'm looking forward to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Royal City #11

Jun 4, 2018

What Lemire does so well in Royal City is that he puts real weight to his characters problems, things that hit home for people like crumbling careers, failing marriages and drug abuse to name a few and how these characters are navigating their lives among the chaos of daily life. Overall Im impressed with this series and how impactful it turned out to be as a family drama.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Sheena: Queen of the Jungle (2017) #10

Jul 12, 2018

I was definitely expecting a stronger, more mature subject matter but for a character that is a sexy jungle woman you need to either have her covered up more and go kid friendly or go more mature and have mature storylines. This, like I said went two directions instead of one in my mind. So I wasn't a fan, I could see this title being awesome if it went full mature audience and was a “jungle war” comic book with a badass jungle, warrior woman. It gets points for good art for sure and a great cover that would make me want to buy it, but a very disappointing story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spawn #286

Jun 12, 2018

The art is dark and suites the story, the writing is great and hooked me in. Well worth the read and addition to your pull list. If you ever want to be inspired to create just watch an interview with Todd McFarlane, theres an energy within him that resonates with you. Check out the documentary about his life and success called Todd McFarlane The Devil You Know, I used to have it taped on a VHS and I watched it nearly a hundred times Im sure, but its on Youtube now if you wanna check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spawn #287

Jul 4, 2018

Overtkill first appeared in issue 6 of Spawn in 1992 and that issue has an amazing cover displaying the crazy cyborg, he was peppered into a few more stories early in the series and I always loved him so Im excited to see what comes of this. In this issue we see Spawn tortured and put through hell in horrible, nasty ways. The series seems to be building a nice slow burn into something amazing so Im on the edge of my seat wondering whats going to happen next, whats going to snap?.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Tank Girl: All Stars #1

Jun 26, 2018

Overall I'm disappointed with this book but it hasn't scared me away from looking into others outside of this All-Star line of Tank Girl books.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Crow: Memento Mori #1

Oct 3, 2018

My overall impression of this book is that its worth a read, I liked it a lot and I recommend you check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Crow: Memento Mori #4

Jul 19, 2018

Now only having read #4 in this Memento Mori series I can tell this is going to be a great story, a story with heart and pain. The art style is great, it has beautiful colors and a gloomy atmosphere, and the writing is exactly what I wanted in a series like this. This is a comic book that I'll be looking for when it comes in trade form for sure, I was hesitant to branch from the original James O'Barr story but I'm really happy I did and reviewed this book. I mean this in the best way possible, Memento Mori is visual pain and hard emotion much like the original The Crow story, so for this, it's getting a high score.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More