Adeem Khan's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: We The Nerdy Reviews: 28
7.9Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Aquaman (2016) #1

Jun 22, 2016

While Aquaman isnot the overhaul I had hoped for, its still an entertaining book and well worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Aquaman (2016) #2

Jul 6, 2016

One of the biggest problems with Aquaman is that his character no longer seems fresh. Its a book filled with retread of ideas and clichd plots. The last issue showed promise of trying something different for the character, but with this one were back to the same old. Rebirth was Aquaman's sink or swim momentto do something new and exciting with the character, and so far he's sinking. Aquaman needs to evolve, or hes doomed to stay in the bottom of the sea.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Aquaman (2016) #3

Jul 20, 2016

Dan Abnett's Aquaman is the worst DC book at the moment. While other writers embraced the idea of giving their characters a rebirth, Dan Abnett is perfectly fine with sticking with the same old.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2016) #1

Jun 15, 2016

Scott Snyder spent a majority of his run focusing on Gotham. What makes it tick and what it takes away and what it gives back. Gotham was given character and Batman was ingrained into the DNA of the city. Tom King focuses on Gotham as well, but this time Gotham is a man. A man who asks the question, in a world of Supermen and Wonder Women, is there a place for a someone like Batman? Im sure Batman has a painful answer for Gotham, and I cant wait to read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Briggs Land #1

Aug 17, 2016

Overall, this is a good start to an intriguingpremise. I wish more time was spent fleshing out the Briggs family, considering how important every member is about to be as sides are going to be taken, but the story is going in very interesting places. I just hope character development isn't left to the TV show in hopes of getting through the series quickly and getting it primed for the adaptation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Control #1

May 31, 2016

Overall, Control #1 is a great start to this series. It sets up an interesting villain, an intriguingmurder mystery, and it shows off some great art. Andy Diggle focuses the book too much on it's fast-paced plot that he loses sight of his characters, but with five more issues to go, i have high hopes for this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cryptocracy #1

Jun 6, 2016

Cryptocracy #1 is not a perfect book. There are some moments that are confusing, some art that looks a little off, some dialogue that comes off as forced, but that doesnt matter because overall this is the perfect way to start up a series. It sets up likable main characters, dislikeable villains and a world so crazy, that you cant help but fall in love with it. Cryptocracy does not play it safe, it takes risks and it succeeds.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
DC Universe: Rebirth #1

May 25, 2016

Among all the retcons, baby Darkseids, returning heroes and fallen ones, there's something truly great here. It's hope and heart and it's something DC truly needed. Rebirth is the best thing to happen to DC Comics in a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #1

Aug 25, 2016

With two issues in,Deathstroke has established itself as one of DC's best relaunches. Deathstroke's world is unique from the rest of the DC universe, much like the anti-hero himself. With Priest in control, we might be looking at one of the best looks at the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Deathstroke: Rebirth #1

Aug 10, 2016

I liked this issue because of the way it portrayed Deathstroke, both his past and present self, but apart from characterization there's not really much else here. Not much is accomplished in terms of the plot and i still don't know what direction the series is going in. But Priest's writing so far has been great and has inspired confidence that Deathstroke is in the right hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Eugenic #1

Oct 6, 2017

Eugenicis a fantastic start to this new mini-series.The way the themes and the mystery of Eugenic#1come together at the very end would make this a amazing book even if it was a standalone story. If you like sci-fi, this is a must-buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Flash (2016) #2

Jul 13, 2016

Overall, Flash is one of the best DC books at the moment. Despite how diluted the character has become recently, Williamson is managing to keep him fresh and exciting. Giandomenico's art fits the character very well. This is one of the best fit creative teams that have ever been on Flash, and I can't wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #3

Jul 27, 2016

Wiliamson's Flash is not only shaping up to be one of the best runs on the character, but also one of the best DC books out there. While the pace is slow, the book's focus on character more than makes up for it and with the book double-shipping, you never have to wait to long to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #4

Aug 10, 2016

Even with all the plot advances this week, there's still a lot that we don't know and seeing that we're already 5 issues deep into the story, it's slowly starting to be a problem. In one way I kinda see what Williamson is trying to do. He's spending a lot of time expanding the cast and focusing on world building and it all seems to getting ready for a big finale. Things like revealing Godspeed's identity and August's moral dilemmas will come more of a shockand pack more of a punchafter all the character development that has occurred. Whatever Williamson is planning, it's shaping up to be epic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash: Rebirth (2016) #1

Jun 8, 2016

The Flash: Rebirth is a must read book for anyone that picked up DC Universe: Rebirth. Even if you know nothing about The Flash, you owe it to yourself to pick this book up. It will catch you up right away and throw you right into the beginning of whats shaping to be one amazing Flash adventure. Thats a flash fact.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Harley & Ivy Meet Betty and Veronica #1

Oct 12, 2017

Even without Paul Dini being behind this dull crossover attempt, this would have been a bad book. But with Paul Dini being behind it, the book also comes with a large dose of disappointment. If you're looking for a crossover to read, there are much better options on the shelves than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Mae #1

May 19, 2016

It's been done a hundred times before and Mae shamelessly makes it 101. Don't get me wrong, there's nothing wrong with taking old tropes and using them to write your own story. The problem with Mae is that it does nothing original with these tropes, you've seen everything in this book before and you've seen it done better.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ragman #1

Oct 12, 2017

Ragman #1 rushes out of the gate strong, with just a few stumbles along the way. The setup, the art, and the writing give me confidence that this is going to be a great series to keep up on.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Satellite Falling #1

May 11, 2016

Overall, I still think theres great potential in this story. As boring as I found the character of Lily, theres still a lot about her that we dont know, and theres still a chance to make her an interesting character. It would have been better for the book if it focused more on establishing the main character in this first issue, rather than diving headfirst into it'sclichd plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Satellite Falling #2

Jun 1, 2016

Satellite Falling is a book with anintriguingpremise and great art, but thewriting and the boringmain character continue to bring it down to mediocre status.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Scooby Apocalypse #1

May 24, 2016

Overall, Scooby Apocalypse is a surprisingly better book than most expected it to be. While the character designs are still something I'm bitter about and I hope one of the villains they face in this series takes a razor againstShaggy, the characters themselves are just about as I remembered them. There is a lot of promise in this first issue, and I'm excited to see where it heads.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Strange Attractors #1

Jun 1, 2016

Strange Attractors is a great start to this series, featuring great character work and introducing readers to some genuinely interesting mathematics. Charles Soule is a great writer and if you missed this series the first time around, this is the perfect time to jump on.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Suicide Squad Most Wanted: El Diablo #1

Aug 3, 2016

Overall, I think this issue is pretty entertaining. While the El Diablo story is far better than the Boomerang one, neither are truly great stories. If all you're looking for is some solid boomerang and fire action, then this book will not disappoint. Those looking for something deeper, like a story about a supervillian adjusting to normal life after being released from prison, or those looking to finally care about Boomerang, will be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Fix #2

May 16, 2016

The Fix is Nick Spencer's best work and one of the best comics this year. It's original, it's fun, and it'll keep you laughing till you run out of pages to turn.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Shadow/Batman #1

Oct 6, 2017

The Shadow/Batman starts out as more of a Batman/Damian book, but with an interesting mystery in development that promises to bring the two heroes together, it's worth it to jump into the series now.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Titans: Rebirth #1

Jun 15, 2016

Titans: Rebirth is an unnecessary book. It does nothing to move forward or even show the current relationship dynamics of the team. It repeats exposition youve read many times before without adding any new information. The one bit of plot it does move forward is rushed and done terribly. Rebirth has brought along some of the best DC books in a long time. Titans: Rebirth is not one of them.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #1

Apr 12, 2017

X-Men: Blue still has a lot to prove. The teases in the end have my interest, but we'll have to wait and see if Cullen Bunn can give the concept justice. So far though, it seems the book is in the right hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-Men: Blue (2017) #2

Apr 27, 2017

In my review for X-Men: Blue #1, I was excited for the series, but I also left a warning towait and see if Cullen Bunn could give the concept justice. With Issue 2, Bunn has made it clear he knows exactly what he's doing, and what he is doing is so so good.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

November

October

More