Alan Smodic's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicville Reviews: 17
7.9Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Alpha Girl #4

Aug 2, 2012

This is still a very good series that leaves you with a solid cliff hanger and want for more. The art does a fantastic job matching the delivery of the writers, though we still haven't really seen the writers shine. I'm hoping that in the next few issues we'll see the action settle a bit and the characters begin to make an even greater impression.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
America's Got Powers #3

Aug 30, 2012

America's Got Powers remains a very strong, and underrated, title that doesn't get quite the coverage that other Image comics currently receive. That fact is a shame, but don't let that steer you away from giving it a shot — it's a fun read with great art, storytelling and a decent tie-in to today's pop culture. However, because of the scheduling issues, it may be best to accumulate all the issues (or wait for the trade) so you can digest this all at once.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Avengers Academy #34

Aug 21, 2012

In the letters portion of the comic, Gage says that “when this arc is over, things will not just go back to the way they were before!” Gage has typically been on point with this title, so you have to take him for his word. If you're looking for a strong 4-issue arc that will lead you into Marvel's NOW relaunch, this could very well be it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers Academy #35

Aug 22, 2012

This has shaped up to be quite the ‘Final Exam' for the Avengers Academy heroes as they're currently facing both their toughest physical and mental competition to date. You should definitely pick up the book and hop along for the final ride — it seems as though Marvel plans to finish this series up at #39. So it'd be best for you to get a feel for these characters in case they make an imprint elsewhere in the Marvel Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers Vs. X-Men #10

Aug 17, 2012

If you've read this far, then the issue is obviously a must-buy as you continue to progress with the story. Just don't expect anything earth shattering. Hopefully, and I really do mean that, this title can deliver in the final two issues. I mean, it has to, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman Incorporated #0

Oct 11, 2012

The issue, while a step below the other issues in this series, serves its purpose. If you're a Batman Incorporated reader, you probably know the previous origin, so it's worth reading this to see how it's established in the new 52. If you can live without actually knowing those specific details, you're not really missing much.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman Incorporated #3

Aug 29, 2012

Morrison's Batman Incorporated world is full of detail, matched by Chris Burnham‘s artwork, with each issue adding significant pieces to keep you turning the page. If you're a Batman fan, this series is a must-read, especially while Morrison is still pumping out the story lines for it. You won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Deadpool Kills the Marvel Universe #1

Aug 12, 2012

If you're like me, you probably approached this title with high hopes and were let down. I can't recommend picking it up, unless you're really into Deadpool. Instead, find a friend that's already made the purchase and borrow that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Fatale #7

Aug 20, 2012

Fatale has all the makings of a very good, and long, story that hits on many touchpoints throughout its world. If you haven't started reading it yet, I highly suggest that you do — the first trade, ‘Death Chases Me', recently hit the shelves and should help Brubaker and Phillips's latest success reach an even greater audience.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Fatale #8

Oct 21, 2012

Fatale continues to deliver a solid story with great art. There's nothing quite like this noir series and you should definitely be checking it out. The first trade is already available and the second arc is about to conclude. The perfect time to catch up if you're behind.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Grim Leaper #4

Sep 5, 2012

Grim Leaper served its purpose, touching on such subjects as death and love in a twisted form. The four-issue series finished a little softer than it began, though it still is a decent read and worth checking out. A trade would be a nice pickup, but I'd imagine your local comic shop has all four issues still on the shelves. Save it for an empty pull list week and enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Happy #1

Oct 2, 2012

At $2.99, you get seasoned comic veterans Morrison and Robertson producing a truly original piece of work. Simply put, you shouldn't miss out on this series and given the fact that it's planned as a four-issue miniseries, the pace likely won't slow down. I know I'm on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harvest #1

Aug 3, 2012

I don't know what's in the water at Image Comics, but the studio continues to push hit after hit and this new title is no exception. Harvest has the makings of a pretty great miniseries, combining realism with an original story and superb artwork. It's definitely worth a spot in your pull.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Morning Glories #21

Sep 6, 2012

I'm a big fan of this series for a few reasons. If you enjoy engulfing yourself into a story, especially a psychological thriller, then this is for you — it sucks you in on the first page of issue 1 and never lets go. I've seen the series described as “Runaways meets LOST” and that seems very accurate — thedynamicstorytelling involved with these kids rivals that of Brian K. Vaughan‘s work on Runaways. It's a great ongoing series that asks more of the reader than to just read the issue, put it down and wait for the next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Morning Glories #22

Oct 17, 2012

Though it has a very loyal following, I still like to consider Morning Glories under appreciated on a larger scale. The work being done on this book has to be tough, especially with all the depth that's been built and it's remarkable to me how it's been able to stay so good with each issue. If you're interested in latching on with a longer story, I highly recommend this title " it's not too late to join in on the fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Supercrooks #4

Aug 30, 2012

This series as a whole is good enough for you to check out. If anything else, a quick read before the eventual movie is a must. Just don't expect anything new or groundbreaking when it comes to the story — I think the movie may hold a little more potential there as it should have more time to develop the heist and push along character relationships.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Think Tank #1

Aug 2, 2012

Once Loren figures out his next move, the pace really picks up as it heads directly to a next issue. The first issue is definitely worth a read, especially if you're into smart comics that push real-world science. And when you're done, if you're on the fence about a second issue, the preview image on the last page will change your mind.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More