Amie Macias's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Pastrami Nation Reviews: 14
8.6Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Afar (OGN) #1

Apr 7, 2017

Artist, Kit Seaton, does a fantastic job with switching up color use and a variety of layers to help the reader switch from world to world seamlessly without the need of words.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Babyteeth #1

Jul 1, 2017

I look forward to seeing how this tale will unfold and any horror fan should gladly added this book to their pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
By Chance or Providence #1

Aug 6, 2017

I fell in love with these stories. Each one more dark than the last. I lived through each characters journey and pain, and craved for more. Cloonans knack for the morbidity in love lost and of sacrifice told through words and pictures is uncanny. She is a true master of the macabre. She aptly chose colorist, Lee Loughridge (Batman Adventures) to ink every page flawlessly. I couldn't get enough of their artwork, but luckily there's about forty pages in the back of concept sketches and illustrations.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Echoes (2016) #1

Nov 27, 2016

All in all a great book, I recommend checking out Echoes!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gasolina #1

Sep 24, 2017

This tumultuous story is fast paced and written splendidly. It has everything! Waiting on the edge of my seat for issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grrl Scouts: Magic Socks #1

May 29, 2017

Creator and Writer Jim Mahfood (Generation X Underground Special, Clerks) does a charming job showing the seedy underbelly of the drug scene, with harmonious tidbits from the strip clubs. Mix in Justin Stewart's (Jesus Hates Zombies, Miami Vice Remix) coloring and lettering with a dash of Carmen Acosta's (Henchgirl, Young Justice) design expertise and you're in for one helluva ride. Enjoy!!! And tune in for issue #2 to see what's up with those damn socks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kill the Minotaur #1

Jun 18, 2017

It is true that there is not many a man, woman, or child, who has not heard the legend of the Labyrinth & the Minotaur, but I'm sure young and old alike can appreciate this new take on an old tale of King Minos, his madness, and the young Hero to be, Theseus.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mayday (2016) #1

Nov 6, 2016

This book is a fun homage to the early seventies with Bond-esque females, spies, gratuitous nudity, drugs, and complete with its very own soundtrack! The artwork here does a great job with the level of grittiness it brings to this debut issue. This is one of the most visually audible stories I have ever read, and issue two cannot come soon enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Millarworld Annual #2

Oct 1, 2017

Make sure you keep an eye out for these new talented geniuses thanks to Millarworld! I cannot wait to see what they will do next, but expectations are high.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Neil Gaiman's Troll Bridge #1

Oct 23, 2016

An exquisite tale from a creative team known around the world, Troll Bridge is a book that should absolutely be enjoyed by fans across the globe, especially during this season of Halloween.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Plastic #1

May 7, 2017

I particularly liked that the other cover choices were included, as well as the thought processes behind the making of issue 1, and a sneak peak of issue 2. There are so many unanswered questions left, like who is the guy holding Virginia hostage. And what's the deal with the action figure? What I do know is, I can't wait to pick up, rather sneak, issue 2 off the rack and you should too!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Redlands #1

Jul 16, 2017

Mystery, power struggles, witchcraft, and strong female characters make Redlands #1 a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Redlands #2

Sep 10, 2017

Del Rey's artwork is the perfect fit for this R-rated horror mystery. The blood flows deep, and the contrast here makes for a great landscape for Bellaire's thrilling tale. If blood and nudity aren't your cup of tea, perhaps a different drink is needed, as this book has plenty of both, but all warranted for this modern day horror story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Winnebago Graveyard #1

Jun 11, 2017

Any horror enthusiast will enjoy turning the pages of issue 1 and want to keep their eyes peeled for issue 2.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More