Anika Hossain's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicsverse Reviews: 13
9.0Avg. Review Rating

7.2
Batman (2016) #10

Nov 7, 2016

I AM SUICIDE part 1 is a very promising issue, but I am not very satisfied with the second part. The entire plot of BATMAN #10 is basically about Batman's tiresome mantra and how he gets out of the room. Even though the main plot is muddled, I enjoyed the side plot with Catwoman's backstory a lot. I believe King is a promising writer, so I'm hoping the next issue will have a stronger storyline. Plus the next issue is called “Breaking Bane”, which means lots of action should be coming soon!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Harley Quinn (2016) #9

Dec 8, 2016

Overall, HARLEY QUINN #9 is a fun issue to read. It's going to be extremely difficult for me to wait two more issues, as the next issue is a holiday interlude. Nevertheless, I am eagerly looking forward to seeing how the Clown Princess handles yet another crazy twist in her life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Harley Quinn (2016) #13

Feb 1, 2017

HARLEY QUINN #13 has a captivating and action-packed plot with stunning artwork. We get a glimpse of how twisted the Joker can get, how abusive Harley has become, and what measures a man is willing to go in order to win a girl's love.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #3

Jan 4, 2017

Overall, JUSTICE LEAGUE VS. SUICIDE SQUAD #3 does not have much to offer in terms of action. Rather than seeing the two teams head to head, it seems that the Justice League and the Suicide Squad are going to team up and fight for a common cause. Nonetheless, I am hoping to see more action unfold in the upcoming installments.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Motor Crush #1

Dec 8, 2016

MOTOR CRUSH #1 is action-packed, vibrant and breathtakingly beautiful. The experience of reading it is thrilling, and the artwork makes it even more surreal. Thus, MOTOR CRUSH #1 has the potential to be an adrenaline junkie's new adventure rush, and I am absolutely psyched for the next installment!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Ms. Marvel (2015) #13

Nov 30, 2016

MARVEL #13 is a depiction of what would have been achievable if the world was a place where fair is the bottom line. However, a very important lesson to take away is that we cannot be ignorant about politics. Ms. Marvel did her research and saved Jersey City, but in real life we can't rely on a superhero as we must do our own homework. And maybe, just maybe, we can create a revolution in the long run if we all fight together.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Renato Jones: The One % #2

Oct 27, 2016

Overall, I think RENATO JONES: THE ONE% is enthralling. It creates awareness about inequality in America, but is hilarious and sarcastic at the same time. I give props to the true freelancer Andrews for creating such a masterpiece, and I'm eagerly looking forward to the next issue- RENATO JONES: THE ONE% #6: THE RETURN OF RENATO JONES.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Spider-Man/Deadpool #12

Dec 29, 2016

With the collaboration of Marvel's funniest superheroes and action from the feisty Roman god, SPIDER-MAN/DEADPOOL #12 is a fun issue to read. It's action-packed, hilarious, and light-hearted at the same time. Thus, it's perfect for the holiday season. Also, I like Saturn more than Santa now since the former is much more interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spider-Man/Deadpool #13

Jan 12, 2017

Overall, SPIDER-MAN/DEADPOOL #13 is extremely fun to read. I absolutely loved the action sequences and seeing two of my favorite Marvel superheroes bond. I especially love the mystery surrounding around Itsy Bitsy, which makes me excited about what's about to unfold. I am eagerly looking forward to seeing more action in the upcoming issues!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Steven Universe (2017) #6

Jul 26, 2017

Pearl is super worked up, and Amethyst suggests relieving her stress in the wrestling ring. Steven and Garnet approve, and they all have a blast. More importantly, the bond of Pearl and Amethyst gets stronger than ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Titans (2016) #5

Nov 23, 2016

Overall, TITANS #5 is an action-packed issue with gorgeous art and brilliant characterization. I'm eagerly looking forward to how Wally comes back in the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Trinity (2016) #3

Nov 18, 2016

Overall, TRINITY #3 is a deep, mysterious, and gorgeous issue. It's beautiful to look at, and to read as well. I highly recommend reading it if you're a nerd like me who's obsessed with in-depth character analysis. I'm eagerly looking forward to the next installment!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Trinity (2016) #4

Dec 22, 2016

TRINITY is notable for its in-depth character analysis of DC's iconic superheroes, and TRINITY #4 did a great job in the characterization of Wonder Woman and the artwork of her beautiful homeland. Thus, TRINITY #4 is an amazing read, and I am eagerly looking forward to what's about to unfold in the next installment.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

October

September

More