Chris William's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Inter-Comics Podcast Reviews: 13
8.8Avg. Review Rating

9
All-New Captain America #4

Feb 23, 2015

The book and the series have a ton of heart, drama and suspense; it is almost a perfect super-hero comic book. I can not recommend it enough to you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
All-New Captain America #5

Mar 27, 2015

All in all, this is a must read series, so what the heck are you waiting for? RUN; dont walk to your local comic store, you wont be sorry, trust me. ;)

View Issue       View Full Review
8
All-New X-Men #36

Feb 17, 2015

The artistic duties of the All New X-men have been handed to Mahmud A. Asrar after the great Stuart Immomen left the book to pencil the All New Captain America.I have been following Asrar career closely after discovering him in the pages of the Incredible Hulk, a rare gift from what is historically a bad comic book.Asrars work is fresh, tight and full of attitude. His characters have a high level of personality; see Angel, X-23 and Marvel Girl. His pages fit within the traditional rules of graphic story telling as made famous by Will Eisner. Each page for the most part establishes us, the reader in the where of the events, as well a solid mixture of camera shots to keep us engaged. Asrar is an up and coming star at Marvel Comics and is quickly climbing my must have list of artist to follow monthly. Yes, his pencil/inks alone are enough to justify the purchase of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All-New X-Men #40

Apr 26, 2015

All in all this was almost a perfect comic book issue, no gimmicks, no tricks, just a great story featuring great characters drawn by a great artist. It was in a word great and I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Captain America: Sam Wilson #1

Oct 19, 2015

Artistically this book is yet another reminder of just how talented Daniel Acuna is and how much he continues to progress as one of the industry's top visual story tellers. His panel work is both simple and complex with a flow that is rarely duplicated in comics today. His backgrounds are engaging and detailed, his big picture scenes are cinematic in scope and his facial expressions tell a much deeper, complex story. My favorite panels has to be the one where Sam in his full uniform at a gay pride parade reflecting on the troubling times that face him going forward. The art alone justifies the purchase along with a compelling, controversial storyline this is a must read for any fan of Super hero comic books and Marvel Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Guardians Team-Up #1

Mar 16, 2015

So enjoy this real gem of a comic book, we might not see again for quite some time. I recommend the book for the art alone but the story is solid as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Guardians Team-Up #2

Mar 17, 2015

So my advice to you the reader is to save the $3.99, stick with issue one and move on. Eventually you'll have a solid twelve issue collection of Art Adams spanning his 30 years. Sigh. I am thoroughly disappointed in the second issue but should have known better by now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret Wars #2

May 19, 2015

I cant wait to find out and while I have no answers today, I know one thing, this does promise to be an epic ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret Wars #4

Jul 9, 2015

Issue four left me thrilled, shaking and wanting more, like great sex, I was laid vulnerable but never more alive. Yes, Secret Wars might end with nothing really new with four issues down and four more to go I think that this Marvel event will lead us to an amazing conclusion. I cant wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Star Wars (2014) #2

Feb 8, 2015

The story is well written, fast paced and smart, we all know these heroes live but there remains enough suspense to keep the reader on edge throughout. This book oozes nostalgia which will endure it to any fan of the original movies. Queue John Williamss original score and enjoy, Star Wars is back and better than ever under the Marvel banner.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Walking Dead #137

Feb 17, 2015

The Walking Dead is a must own for the art alone but the story is excellent as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Uncanny Avengers Vol. 2 #1

Feb 1, 2015

Artistically Daniel Acuna is easily a top five comic book artist in the industry today; this book is worth the price of admission just on his pencil and ink's alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Uncanny Avengers Vol. 2 #2

Mar 1, 2015

Only two issues into the new series and team so it is certainly not too late to jump aboard. My only fear is that Daniel Acuna wont remain on the book going forward; he has had a problem doing so in the past. Ill just keep my fingers crossed and dream fondly of Momma Kangaroo and her children.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More