Ciaran Flanagan's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Following The Nerd Reviews: 10
7.4Avg. Review Rating

7
Avengers Arena #11

Jun 28, 2013

The pace is slowed right down in comparison with recent issues so this issue is not up to the excellent standard that we've come to expect, but what is here is well written allowing Denis Hopeless to flesh out two of the most vanilla characters in The Marvel Universe. The stylised art is perfect for the storyline's vibe and there are enough dangling plot threads and unanswered questions left to ensure that this will remain on my pull list for the foreseeable future. Additionally the idea of Chase from Runaways as the new Darkhawk is such an awesome idea that I refuse to believe that it's not going to be taken away from me sooner rather than later.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Avengers Arena #18

Dec 7, 2013

As a single issue the lack of definite conclusion leaves a bit of a nasty taste in the mouth, but as the final chapter of a multi part saga, it leaves you with much to think about . Lawless states in his epilogue that Avengers Arena was not the series that he wanted to write at all: his actual treatment was a continuation of Runaways. Hopefully in light of the quality of this series he will get the opportunity to continue both the story of those teenage vagabonds and this tale of dystopian teen slaughter. Maybe we'll even get some answers. The ending seems to hint at something bigger to follow. Let us hope then, that it isn't just another New Warriors re-launch.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Danger Girl: The Chase #1

Sep 19, 2013

Completely meretricious, and I wouldn't have it any other way.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Doctor Who: Prisoners of Time #3

Jun 7, 2013

All told this is a passable bit of storytelling that happens to have the Doctor Who brand name plastered across it. Completists wont need it but will buy it; casual fans would enjoy it but not read it. So it goes for licensed comics in the current era. Mores the pity.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Half Past Danger #1

Apr 24, 2013

If you're one of the spandex set (you know, the type who turns their nose up at anything that doesn't feature some buxom spandex-clad wench in poses that defy not only what is anatomically possible but also the bounds of good taste) you might want to look elsewhere. However, if you long for the days of Pat Mills' Flesh in 2000AD, or repeats of King of The Rocket Men during the summer holidays, your ship has come in . Half Past Danger will hit comic shops on May 22nd.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Judge Dredd: Classics #1

Jul 19, 2013

The years have been kind to "Old Stony Face". Block Mania is as good as it ever was. If you haven't read it you're in for a real treat, and even if you haven't, the new coloration serves as " sauce for the goose" so to speak. We like this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Eltingville Club #1

May 1, 2014

This is unfortunately the bitter end of the Eltingville club. The better part of the last twenty years has been spent trying to put the Club to sleep ( including a failed pilot for Cartoon network) and anyone who jumps on board at this point will only get to see the death throes; the hilarious and sad death throes. Any readers who were around during the boom time will feel a little piece of themselves die too. But they'll still laugh.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Transformers: More Than Meets The Eye #19

Aug 2, 2013

More Than Meets The Eye remains fun and well put together. It just needs to space out the earth shattering revelations ever so slightly before either Roberts, Milne or, most likely me, has a heart attack.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers: Regeneration One #0

Sep 19, 2013

Regeneration 1 as a whole is a refreshing antidote to the insane pace of the modern Transformers titles. Furman is a man who knows exactly how to build a story in the long term. So while the action deliberately paced it is never boring, and seems to be building towards a (no doubt sense shattering) conclusion to the story that started nearly thirty years ago. I shall miss it terribly when it's gone.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Transformers: Robots In Disguise #18

Jun 27, 2013

As a final note: the tone of the first paragraph may seem needlessly mocking. It is however indicative of my only real gripe with this issue (and Robots in Disguise in general). Rather than using what seems to be the in house style in Marvel and DC these days- stories are needlessly padded out so that single story lines can fit the TPB- Robots in Disguise fits so much storyline and character development into each issue that I sometimes amounts to sensory overload. It's a pleasing day when my main gripe about comic's creators is that they are giving me too much bang for my buck.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

June

1st

May

More