Connor Relyea's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: All-Comic, Read Comic Books Reviews: 34
7.0Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Amazing X-Men #1

Nov 7, 2013

This was a strong opening book and we can only sit back and wait to see what adventures Aaron has in store for the X-Men further down the line.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Marvel (2012) #14

Aug 1, 2013

The conclusion of this arc was definitely a surprise (or at least, I didn't see it coming). It will definitely be interesting to see where the book goes after the emotional ending. Hopefully the next few issues will be able to step it up on the art front.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain Marvel (2012) #15

Aug 31, 2013

With this book being a tie-in to theInfinityevent going on it could dampen some of the possibilities that DeConnick had to explore the character. Hopefully we'll be able to see the new Carol Danvers once the book returns fromInfinity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Marvel (2012) #16

Sep 19, 2013

Since this is the last tie-in thatCaptain Marvelwill be seeing, I am looking forward to seeing what DeConnick has in store for the stand alone series, and exploring the character that Carol can become. Also, let's hope that we start to see some more consistent art throughout this series, hopefully from Mr. Olliffe again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Marvel (2012) #17

Nov 7, 2013

It will be interesting to see what more DeConnick can bring to the dynamic shift that she is establishing inCaptain Marvel between Carol and the other characters. I look forward to see what she does with the story before the new number 1 launches next year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Ultimate #2

Sep 18, 2013

This series is fun to read and will put a smile on your face. Just sit back, relax and enjoy good people doing good things.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Coffin Hill #1

Oct 10, 2013

Kittredge provides an interesting tale that, despite the short comings, stands up to what she is attempting to accomplish. The story is intriguing, and I look forward to seeing the world Kittredge will show me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Coffin Hill #2

Nov 15, 2013

This book has already done some great work and it's only on its second issue. The story is going to get darker, and more suspenseful as Eve delves deeper into her past. Kittredge is going to take us for a twisted ride, I can feel it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Coffin Hill #3

Dec 12, 2013

Coffin Hillhas offered some really great work so far and with the story starting to pick up it's exciting to see what darkness and depravity Eve will encounter next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Edgar Allen Poe's The Raven and the Red Death #1

Nov 1, 2013

Corben's adaptations of Poe's stories offered a good read, especially on Halloween. It added a spooky side to the books that I read this week.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #6

Sep 26, 2013

While the script was lacking in this issue, the artwork from Pichelli and Coipel really did make up for what was missing. Hopefully we'll start to learn about Angela and what her presence means in the Marvel Universe next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #7

Oct 16, 2013

SinceGuardians of the Galaxy still hasn't caught up with the events ofInfinity,it's hard to tell what role the Guardians will play in the coming issues. And withInfinitynearing its end, there could be a possibility that Bendis is waiting until the last minute to jump on board with the big event of this year. Since the connection between this book andInfinity isgetting less cloudy, it's time to hunker down and wait for the Guardians to enter the fray.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #8

Nov 1, 2013

Bendis has definitely stepped up the game in this latest issue and I look forward to seeing the next tie-in with Infinitythat he has to offer us.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #9

Dec 5, 2013

While this issue wasn't very story heavy it was still entertaining and fun to read. Bendis and Francavilla did a good job with what they had.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hawkeye Vol. 2 #14

Nov 28, 2013

Fraction and Wu did an excellent job with their first Kate-centric book and with the reveal of her main villain at the end of the book (which really wasn't a surprise) it will be fun to see what Kate gets into in her next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
It Came! #1

Aug 13, 2013

In all, IT CAME is funny and does a solid job in paying homage to the B-movies of yesterday. This book is a fun read, and could become a breath of fresh air from the darker side of comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Manifest Destiny #1

Nov 15, 2013

While this wasn't a completely strong first issue there is the potential to grow this book into a suspenseful, supernatural mystery. It's all up to the direction that Dingess chooses to go.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Nova (2013) #9

Oct 25, 2013

In all, this book has not been the strongest in the latest run of Nova. But with Wells setting up for the New Defenders and the tie-ins to Infinity coming to an end, this may have just been a small bump in the road.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nova (2013) #10

Nov 28, 2013

This issue was a nice wrap up to what we've seen in the past few issues with a little extra to what we'll see in the coming months.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nova (2013) #11

Dec 12, 2013

With the introduction of the new villain at the end of this book we'll get to see the full challenge of this new story in the next few issues. It should be a fun ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Quantum and Woody #2

Aug 8, 2013

Quantum & Woody has maintained the reputation it set for itself during its last issue. This book even has the potential to surpass what it's doing now and go further with its mystery, action and comedy. With clean writing and great art, the sky is the limit.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Reality Check #1

Sep 6, 2013

There could be some potential here for an interesting book. The ball is in Brunswick's court, and it's up to him on how the story goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Robocop: Last Stand #1

Aug 9, 2013

With more answers to come and some promises of a good follow-through, it's safe to say that good things can come from this series. Fans of the Robocop world will find something that they can look forward to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sidekick #1

Aug 7, 2013

In the next few months we'll get to follow the continued downward spiral that Flyboy will have to endure. Strazcynski is promising that this book will be a bumpy ride, and I look forward to seeing how far this former hero can fall.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sidekick #2

Sep 12, 2013

Straczynski is setting up this book for some good things to come, and we can only imagine how far Flyboy will go to regain his treasured past.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Occultist #1

Oct 4, 2013

Since this is just the beginning of the series it will be interesting to see where the book goes from here. There was plenty of set up for some exciting stories and it will be nice to see where the comic goes from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Tomorrowland #1

Jul 23, 2013

One thing that we can hope for is that the answers we are looking for will start to come out in the next book. If Jenkin's does it right, this could turn into a modern day, dub-step fairy tale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Uncanny Avengers #14

Nov 28, 2013

With so much happening in one issue it will be even more exciting to see the fallout in the next issue. Remender seems to be drawing this arc to an end and I'm definitely looking forward to the finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men (2013) #5

Sep 13, 2013

This book fits in well with the action from the first two issues and does so without sacrificing the characters for the action. Wood has one more issue to pen in the crossover event, and I hope that it turns out just as well as this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men (2013) #7

Nov 25, 2013

I look forward to what Wood has to offer with the rest of the story around Lady Deathstrike. It seems to be a promising, exciting read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Young Avengers (2013) #8

Jul 25, 2013

The panels are actually what really made this issue what it is. When the team gets to the dimension that the inter-dimensional parasite, Mother, comes from, McKelvie turns the panels against the characters, and forces them to fight their way through the rest of the comic. It was as if the comic book had come to life and had turned against the team members.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Young Avengers (2013) #10

Sep 27, 2013

While this wasn't the most exciting book of the arc, it still did a good job in giving a behind-the-scenes look at the story. Gillen is gearing up for some exciting things to happen in the next few issues, I can feel it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Young Avengers (2013) #12

Nov 21, 2013

*Correction: The next issue of Young Avengers will be released in two weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Young Avengers (2013) #13

Dec 5, 2013

This has been a truly great run ofYoung Avengers and I have few qualms with the story. I am looking for closure on Tommy and Patriot, however, so hopefully we'll see that in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

June

More