Dayna Abel's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicosity Reviews: 22
8.0Avg. Review Rating

9.5
Batwoman (2017) #9

Nov 15, 2017

I was tempted to quote Kate's speech to Scarecrow towards the end of the issue, but it's so good and so definitive of who she is that I can't bear to spoil it. Buy this one, because it's a great arc and ends on one of the most bad-ass cliffhangers I've seen in a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Black Magick #7

Aug 31, 2017

I'm always intrigued by the passion and personality with which Rucka infuses his stories, and I'm really enjoying Black Magick as a whole, but I'd really like to see where he's going with this, and soon, especially to make up for the recent hiatus.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Magick #8

Sep 27, 2017

Rucka and Scott continue moving the plot at a glacier's pace, which irritates me a bit but definitely does the job of making me feel like when the proverbial poop finally hits the fan, it's going to be a bigger mess than the Augean stables.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Magick #11

Mar 28, 2018

I'm hyped for what's next, especially since we know now the kind of power Rowan is able to access. Will she go all Dark Phoenix on us, or will she be able to save her friends and loved ones from harm? The stage is set for some amazing conflicts, and I'm dying for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Crosswind #5

Nov 1, 2017

Gail Simone has proven to be a trans ally in the past, and certainly one who's willing to listen and learn, so I'll give her the benefit of the doubt and wait to see how this plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Crosswind #6

Jan 3, 2018

This has been a fascinating story from start to finish, and the promise of more to come in the future leaves me a very satisfied customer. The first trade comes out next month grab it if you've missed out on the single issues. You won't regret it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Detective Comics (2016) #962

Aug 9, 2017

Bruce finally learns a secret that the audience has known for some time now, and it changes everything from here on out. It's also likely setup for November's DOOMSDAY CLOCK, which I'm of two minds about. On one hand, I feel that WATCHMEN was and should have remained a contained, completed story. On the other, it is hitting every single “THIS LOOKS SO FREAKING COOL” button in my little nerd brain, and I'm excited for the Bat-clan to speed towards this event.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Detective Comics (2016) #972

Jan 10, 2018

More than anything, I'm impressed that I've come to care about what happens to Clayface. I'm also impressed that Tynion has crafted such a great relationship between Basil and Cassandra Cain. The other members of the bat-team are his allies and they want to help him, but Cass is the only one who is truly his friend… a choice she made to actively care, to be good to him. Time will tell what choice Clayface makes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Go Go Power Rangers #1

Jul 26, 2017

We end on a cliffhanger as the Power Rangers' attempted rescue of two astronauts doesn't go as planned, and I'm very much looking forward to seeing how the newly-minted team fares against Rita Repulsa, as well as how the responsibility of being a Ranger will continue to affect their personal lives.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Go Go Power Rangers #3

Sep 20, 2017

That caveat aside, it's an excellent comic, even more so if you loved the original MMPR cast, and I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Go Go Power Rangers #4

Oct 18, 2017

Overall, Go Go Power Rangers has been a great, fresh take on these characters, a character study mixed with powerful action sequences which appeals to fans of the original Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers. Pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lanterns #28

Aug 2, 2017

Green Lanterns #28 started out strong, with the promise of exploring new characters and letting them flourish, but the plot beats weren't given much time to breathe and the conflicts felt rushed and their resolutions nonsensical. While ordinarily I love this series, I was disappointed in this issue. Hopefully it picks back up next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jem and the Holograms: Dimensions #1

Dec 6, 2017

To close out the issue, just when I didn't think it could get better, Synergy decides to DM the Tomb Of Horrors. Now, if you'll excuse me, I need to go grab my Player's Handbook for…reasons.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jem and the Holograms: Dimensions #3

Feb 7, 2018

Overall, not the best Jem comic I've read, but it's still pretty good, and it might be that Infinite was such a good storyline that I'm over-anxious to get back to it. Anthologies are great opportunities to showcase creators, but my personal preferences swing more towards longer storylines, so your mileage may vary.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Jem and the Holograms: Dimensions #4

Mar 7, 2018

Overall, while I still prefer longer storylines, Jem and the Holograms: Dimensions has been a great anthology series which brings back the fun and feel of the old cartoon. I'm sad to see it ending, and IDW has done great things with this license. Thirty years and change down the line, and I'm still proud to call myself a Jem Girl.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jem and the Holograms: Infinite #2

Aug 23, 2017

*A note to the reader: the reason this is issue #2 while the storyline is labeled Pt. 3 is because IDW publishes two “Infinite” titles, alternating between Jem and the Misfits. So the next chapter will be THE MISFITS: INFINITE #2 and so on. Yes, it's confusing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jem and the Holograms: Infinite #3

Sep 27, 2017

I can't praise this book enough. The intrigue and suspense are exhilarating. Hickman, Stern and Lee bring Thompson's amazing story to life on every panel. The art is a rich tapestry of synthetic glamour, over-the-top and exaggerated as is everything behind the walls of Jemcorp. On Jemworld, Eric Raymond is the Wizard of Oz, all artifice and no magic. I'm eagerly awaiting the eventual “man behind the curtain” exposure and anxious to see how it will affect the denizens of Jemworld in the aftermath.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jem and the Holograms: The Misfits: Infinite #2

Sep 6, 2017

The fashions of Jem have always been a huge part of the concept and I love the modern ideas and updates.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jem and the Holograms: The Misfits: Infinite #3

Oct 18, 2017

This storyline has been amazing, but the ending leaves me a little unsatisfied, hence the docking of points. If IDW continues to have Thompson and crew move forward with Jem stories, I'll be far less disappointed, but if the tale ends here then there are too many unanswered questions. I suppose leaving one's audience wanting more can be considered a good thing in the long run, but I'd feel a lot more comfortable if that “more” was guaranteed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Jessica Jones #14

Nov 8, 2017

Above all, you do not mess with Jessica Jones' loved ones. Someone's about to get really, really messed with. I can't wait to see it happen.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Spider-Men II #3

Sep 21, 2017

For an issue centered around Miles-616, the story does nothing to address his inner feelings and motivations. We get a helping of “here's some stuff that happened,” but this is supposed to be the payoff to a five-year-long mystery. I'm perfectly willing to wait and see if the remaining issues of Spider-Men II address this, but again, the story told in this chapter is all bones and no meat.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #35

Nov 22, 2017

This is not acceptable, DC. Dishonor on you, dishonor on your cow, I award you one point, and may God have mercy on your soul.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

November

October

More