Derrick Pittman's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: But Why Tho? Reviews: 17
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8
Doctor Who: The Thirteenth Doctor: Season Two #1

Jan 10, 2020

Although not a lot goes on in this issue, the tone is set and issues to follow should make for an interesting adventure for The Tenth Doctor, Thirteenth Doctor, and their companions.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Empyre: X-Men #2

Aug 5, 2020

Empyre: X-Men #2 is a wild ride and it doesn't stop. It's a perfect storm of action, mystery, and humor. The art and coloring are so good that it looks like it could pop right off of the page. This side story is great for those that have not picked up the main storyline. This will definitely whet your appetite, leaving you wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Empyre: X-Men #3

Aug 12, 2020

Empyre: X-Men #3 keeps up the momentum, builds on the action, and leaving readers with an amazing cliffhanger and hopes for a more amazing finale of the arc. Empyre: X-Men continues to stand on its own as a side arc without having knowledge of what's happening during the main events.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Empyre: X-Men #4

Aug 19, 2020

Empyre: X-Men #4 is a decent culmination of a small story arc. While it has an anti-climactic end, questions are answered and plot lines are filled. It seems fitting to end things on a calmer note and it's done well. And the way the arc ends, it's open-ended for a central character and their plight. Hickman's writing is extremely good, and readers will be satisfied with the outcome.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
King of Nowhere #1

Mar 4, 2020

King of Nowhere #1 is an interesting comic that takes you down a rabbit hole of mystery and quirkiness. The entire issue you will be questioning whats real and by issues end really asking yourself whats going on. However, I wish there was a bit more meat to sink my teeth into.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Nancy Drew & The Hardy Boys: The Death of Nancy Drew #1

Apr 22, 2020

Nancy Drew & The Hardy Boys: The Death of Nancy Drew #1 grips you from the beginning and keeps you at the edge of your seat until the very end. It has you emotionally invested in its main character and the mystery to solve. This issue has a destination and it stays the course.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Power Rangers (2020) #1

Nov 11, 2020

As a fan not truly experiencing the entirety of the Shattered Grid arc, Power Rangers #1 is a great place for new Ranger fans to enter and experience a new story. This issue and era are sure to whet appetites, having readers wanting more and going back to satiate their questions of past events.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Red Sonja: Age of Chaos #1

Jan 25, 2020

Whether you're new to Red Sonja or a returning fan, Red Sonja: Age of Chaos #1is going to make for a kick-ass bloody good time. I definitely think this is a great place for newcomers to get into something new, especially if Red Sonja was on that list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stranger Things and Dungeons & Dragons #1

Nov 4, 2020

Stranger Things and Dungeons & Dragons #1 is an amazing issue for any fan of Stranger Things and/or Dungeons & Dragons. It shows our characters in a sense of normalcy without the real monsters. This issue also gives D&D players that nostalgic kick of when they first dove into the tabletop RPG and the excitement they felt campaigning and finishing that campaign. Stranger Things and Dungeons & Dragons #1 is a perfect amalgamation of growing up, friendship, and a passion for geek culture.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Stranger Things and Dungeons & Dragons #2

Dec 3, 2020

Stranger Things and Dungeon & Dragons #2 is an extremely heavy issue but can be cathartic to many readers. Houser and Zub humanize two of our main fictional characters while MSASSYK brings out raw emotions through an amazing display of facial expressions. With two more issues in this series run, I hope there are more lessons to be learned and an array of emotions to be felt.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman (2018): Villains #1

Mar 4, 2020

Superman: Villains #1 sets the tone for a wild ride. While there are a lot of writers on this issue, it is unclear exactly who penned what and in what scenes but their amalgamation is great at staying on course with the tone of the story, surprise, and confusion. However, the mix of artwork sometimes works, but sometimes it doesn't.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Osiris Path #1

Apr 3, 2020

The Osiris Path #1 mixes themes of Indiana Jones, Tomb Raider, and space exploration that blends together for a fun adventure. Although our main character does not shine in this issue, it will be an interesting ride to see how he develops and if he breaks out of his confused and dumbfounded archaeologist role. Not much is said about the stories antagonist but being shrouded in mystery, it is one I am excited to see uncovered.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Witcher: Fading Memories #1

Nov 11, 2020

The Witcher: Fading Memories #1 is an interesting issue which fans and newcomers will appreciate. With Sztybor's writing and art from Mir and Sheykh, the essence of The Witcher is truly captured.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Villainous #1

Oct 20, 2020

With an amazing first issue, Villainous is for sure the comic to be on the lookout for and add to your pull list. Taking place in the greatest city in the world (New York City), Williams seems set on continuing to build upon this world laced with mystery and deceit. Coupled with Sadzinski's and LaFuente's arts and color, scenes will be a blast to marvel at.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Villainous #2

Nov 11, 2020

Reading Villainous as a whole is like watching television with superb writing and suspense. It allows you to get comfortable while getting to learn about the characters and feel out the situation at hand only for its writer to pull the rug from under you. However, this isn't a bad thing. The art team does a fantastic job in detailing its heroes and villains, giving them a distinct look with an interesting array of abilities. While I am all in for storytelling and worldbuilding, I am patiently waiting for Tilly to make her mark on the hero world and place her at the top of the list as my favorite hero.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Villainous #3

Dec 7, 2020

While Villainous #3 may have been Sadzinski and LaFuente's show to showcase their talent, I love that Williams was able to breathe life into other characters' personalities during our first epic showdown between the Shadow Order and the Coalition of Heroes. And while I enjoy heroes and villains punching each other in the face all day, there is a bigger plan at hand, and the Shadow Order will do whatever it takes to put Pillar and her goons down.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Virtually Yours OGN

Jul 15, 2020

Virtually Yours is an amazing read and readers are sure to relate and learn something about themselves as they're navigating themselves through life and love. Holt's story is so wholesome, it will leave readers wanting more. I personally would like a film or television adaptation. Every character is organic and does not need cliche tropes to move the story along.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

August

More