Elizabeth Garcia's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: GWW, Sirens of Sequentials Reviews: 18
8.9Avg. Review Rating

8
Analog #5

Aug 15, 2018

My one caveat with the issue is the pacing is slightly off as compared to previous installments but overall I greatly enjoyed it and continue to enjoy this story. If you have yet to pick it up and I recommend it. I look forward to what is next for Jack in the upcoming story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #53

Aug 14, 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this issue as well as this arc. Overall, this close was much darker and philosophically deeper than I expected. I would love to see more into Bruce Wayne's understanding and interpretations of the Bible. King has consistently surprised me with intelligence and emotional depth of this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Catwoman (2018) #5

Nov 13, 2018

Many of the panels of this issue were intermingled between two different storylines, one showing Selina's fight and then one showingVilla Hermosa's "First Lady" Raina Creel continuing her mission of chaos akin to an episode of House of Cards. The use of Allred's coloring was so important here because, without it, it would have been easy to get lost between the storylines. Selina's backgrounds are dosed in purple hues while Raina's are red. This created a dichotomy that was easy to discern visually. Overall, Catwoman continues to be a fantastic book that pushes Selina Kyle out of Batman's shadow and into the spotlight she deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
DC/Looney Tunes: Catwoman/Tweety and Sylvester #1

Aug 29, 2018

Overall, this comic is a fun one-shot and breaks up the usually darker tone comics sometimes take. If you enjoy Looney Toons I recommend this book but also if you have an affinity for Simone's writing, particularly on Birds of Prey, I highly recommend this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Death or Glory #4

Aug 8, 2018

This issue, as well as the last three, have all been fantastic. This book is filled with twists and turns and I look forward to what this team has in store for us. If you have not read it yet I highly recommend picking up the previous issues as well as this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Death or Glory #5

Sep 18, 2018

Overall, this comic has a lot of messages on the greyness of morality and utilizes very human topics such as immigration, health care, and religion to tackle it. Death or Glory is an incredibly impactful and emotional comic that in a lot of ways reminds me of a Telltale game. There are no right decisions because everything has a lasting and dangerous consequence but in the same vein, are a lot of wrong decisions. I have loved this book and this issue is no different. This series is another Remender gem that continues to leave me on the edge of my seat.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Jook Joint #1

Oct 18, 2018

For some victims, I imagine this book could be therapeutic but for me, it just came off as too much. I usually enjoy horror comics and did look forward to this book. However, I did not enjoy it as much as I had hoped. If you enjoytorture porn type horror movies this may be a comic for you. Also, if you have any triggers regarding sexual assault, sexual violence or rape I would tread lightly before reading this book. The publisher did say they would include trigger warnings and I respect them for that. Jook Joint is currently out now in comic shops.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Long Lost Vol.2 #2

Aug 11, 2018

I have always been a fan of stories that are strange and touch into the madness of the human psyche without being outright gory. So far, Long Lost has answered questions by adding more and because of it, I am hooked. I highly recommend adding this to your sub list and picking up the previous trade and issues if you have not already. This is a fantastic, whimsical read that will deeply appeal to a lot of fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Long Lost Vol.2 #3

Oct 2, 2018

While the lettering might be wonky, I continue to love this story and it feels immensely special. There is clearly a lot of passion in this comic and I look forward to seeing how the story continues to play out. Currently, Long Lost Book 2 Issue 3 is slated to come out later in October with no exact date set as of this review.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Man-Eaters #1

Sep 25, 2018

This book is clearly a labor of love for Cain who in past years left twitterdue to harassment following the release of her Mockingbird comic featuring a cover where Bobbi wore a shirt saying “Ask Me About My Feminist Agenda.” I personally loved Mockingbird and I love that this comic has roots in that situation. The industry needs strong voices like Cain's and I commend her for writing this and look forward to what the future holds.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #11

Sep 19, 2018

Yet again, King has knocked it out of the park and has created something both odd and immensely special. Mitch Gerads art has been solid throughout. The splatter effect through blood or illustrated white noise is used to further the story element at key points. I love that this team is committed to the nine-panel grid as a tribute to Jack Kirby. Despite this being the second to last issue I do not know how this story will end. There are a lot of questions left unanswered but I do know this book will be remembered as a must read for comic and literary fans due to its dark, existential, and philosophical themes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Poser #1

Sep 3, 2018

With Halloween on the way and everyone getting into the spooky spirit, this is the perfect book to add to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Poser #2

Oct 1, 2018

This continues to a very enjoyable spooky read that I highly recommend to any horror fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
3
Teen Titans (2016) #21

Aug 21, 2018

Overall, I hope as this series progresses the team dynamic gets better and feels less forced but I cannot in good faith recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Empty Man (2018) #1

Nov 6, 2018

I have never read the original The Empty Man but this issue not only excited me for the next one but makes me want to pick up the original volumes of the series. Additionally, the series has been tapped to become a feature film with 20thCentury Fox. If you enjoy horror comics or the horror genre consider picking up this highly engaging read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
The Unstoppable Wasp #1

Sep 20, 2018

Nadia is a fantastic role model for myself and younger readers. I think The Unstoppable Wasp #1 is a ray of infectious sunshine similar to the character herself and never takes itself too seriously. This issue is very dialogue heavy, and while moments feel like it could have been cut down, I still am a very big fan of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vampironica #3

Sep 6, 2018

The overall kooky story reminds me of Buffy or Evil Dead. This is a fantastic addition to Archie Comics' horror line and if you have not already I highly recommend picking up from issue 1.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vampironica #4

Oct 23, 2018

Vampironica continues to be one of my favorite comics on shelves right now. If you are a fan of horror comics, campy Halloween movies or the Archie Comics horror line this is right up your alley. The issue is out October 24, 2018, at comic stores everywhere and features an array of incredible variant covers.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

More