Ethan Coney's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Watch Reviews: 21
8.6Avg. Review Rating

8.6
Adventureman #1

Jun 12, 2020

I recommend picking this one up, it has my full attention for whats gong to happen in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
American Vampire: 1976 #1

Oct 6, 2020

I already mentioned that returning fans will love this new chapter and as a lover of the horror genre I would recommend this book to new readers to the series, Scott and Rafael are genius creators, this one will be special!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Catwoman (2018) #25

Sep 17, 2020

I didn't realize coming into this title how much I'd enjoy it. The book oozes style from the first page. Its a special team of artists here in one special to have every page achieve the status of a page-turner if somehow the exceptional direction of Ram V's opening story alone isn't enough to lure new and current followers of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Crossover (2020) #1

Oct 12, 2020

I now completely understand why Image, the creative team and many big-name writers and artists are pushing and raving about this title constantly. What Donny Cates, Geoff Shaw, Dee Cunniffe, and John J Hill have created with this comic is phenomenal, genre-changing and arguably nothing short of perfection!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
DCeased: Dead Planet (2020) #1

Jul 8, 2020

Tom Taylor continues where he left off bringing us the most gory, insane yet breathtaking DC series we will possibly ever see. The artwork from the 4-man team is exceptional and completely grasps the horror feel needed. The ending will be the huge talking point among fans and now drives the anticipation further in the next issue to see the ramifications.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
DCeased: Dead Planet (2020) #2

Aug 4, 2020

This is a must on every DC fan's pull list! The action and gruesome scenes are some of the best you will see in any comic nowadays. An addicting read that has fans wanting more every time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
DCeased: Dead Planet (2020) #3

Sep 1, 2020

A solid issue throughout wrapped up with another cliffhanger ending that will open exciting possibilities for the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Immortal Hulk: The Threshing Place #1

Sep 30, 2020

There will always be a level of fear when a successful character/book falls into a different creative team's hands but not only does Lemire and Del Mundo show this title justice, they have left me wanting so much more! Whether you're a Hulk or horror fan it's an absolute must to pick this issue up!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Justice League (2018) #46

Jun 10, 2020

This issue is the common mid-arc issue it was very fast paced and straightforward with plenty of action shots which Xermanico and Robson Rocha illustrate superbly! I hope to see them on this book more. Venditti continues to build a nice premise here with some entertaining moments threw in keeping the book very engaging for the reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Justice League (2018) #47

Jun 26, 2020

Writer Robert Venditti draws this gripping action filled arc to a satisfying close.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League (2018) #48

Jul 10, 2020

Overall an impressive set-up issue for a new Justice league Sci-Fi venture.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Justice League (2018) #49

Jul 15, 2020

We got a lot of more dialogue compared to action in this latest installment. With that being said, this is a superior issue compared to the previous, which is a big statement from myself as I usually thrive for the action within these titles. Si Spurrier does a brilliant job intensifying the plot in this issue to set up an intriguing finale that will keep us guessing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Justice League (2018) #50

Aug 8, 2020

The writing for this finale is done expertly by Spurrier, even if the twists are familiar. It gives the reader a great, easy-to-follow and inspiring ending to this arc that demands to be admired. Whilst it was short, I found the arc a diverting, memorable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Something is Killing the Children #7

Jun 11, 2020

This is another stellar installment from the team again. The art is consistent and shines the most when it comes to action in my opinion. Tynion continues to keep me theorizing on the beasts and the Slaughterhouse and on top of that now I'm looking forward to seeing how Erica and Aaron's story play out in the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Something is Killing the Children #8

Jul 8, 2020

A great issue steering on momentum furthering the plot whilst brewing more intrigue and hype for the next installment of this addicting series!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Something is Killing the Children #9

Aug 12, 2020

One of the best issues so far, this comic continues to climb my most anticipated book each month. This issue manages to push how dark this title can actually become and is now a must on every horror fans list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Thor (2020) #5

Jun 25, 2020

Another phenomenal action packed issue from Cates and Klein that is sure to have everyone talking!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Thor (2020) #6

Aug 21, 2020

If youre a fan of Thor you must get on this series. If youre a fan of comics, you must read this series. A mythic, cosmic spectacle with some of the most jaw-dropping moments in recent years packed into just six issues that solidify that Thor is the strongest Avenger! This is not to be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
We Only Find Them When They're Dead #1

Sep 2, 2020

It's obvious Al Ewing has a well thought out story to tell and the first issue will hype up readers with many teases of sub and main plots including that big plan reveal at the end that will surely have numerous comic fans set to pick up the second issue. An intriguing beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Wonder Woman (2016): 1984 #1

Sep 30, 2020

A title aimed purely at the more hardcore Wonder Woman fanbase or possibly casual readers who will look for a fix around the time of its release! Whilst its not a wonderful book, it does have nice charm and minor thrills for fans!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Wynd (2020) #1

Jun 18, 2020

An impressive introduction to an intriguing new world with a compelling cast which will have the reader craving more!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More