fdwhite's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 14
8.1Avg. Review Rating

9
Action Comics (2011) #31

May 14, 2014

Greg Pak perfectly captures a young Superman. He did it very well in the first arc of Superman/Batman, and now he's doing it again. We can understand his frustrations, and agree with him to a certain extent. This is essentially a kid trying to the Superman we all know and respect. What’s most important about this issue is how it could potentially make Doomsday relevant again. Forever stuck as the physical brute we’re now seeing him as an entirely different threat. This is a very exciting time for Doomsday fans. Superdoom awaits.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Afterlife With Archie #1

May 14, 2014

If you haven’t read this series yet, now is the time. The first arc is over. Pick up the old monthlies, pick up the upcoming trade paperback, just read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Black Science #6

Apr 29, 2014

Once again, the Black Science creative team knocks it out of the park with a fast, fun, and emotionally impressive issue. July really can't come fast enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Captain America (2012) #20

May 14, 2014

Remender’s run on Captain America seems destined to be remembered, or should I say “Remendered”? (I’ll see myself out.)

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Detective Comics (2011) #31

May 7, 2014

This issue really has it all for a Bat-fan: street level Gotham crime, actual detective work, close quarters combat, and an intriguing mystery. Let’s just hope that this series doesn’t try fly too close to the sun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Elektra (2014) #1

Apr 23, 2014

Elektra #1 is being released during a boom of strong female-led books including Ms. Marvel and Rat Queens, and it fits in nicely with them. It looks to be the start of something special with a large-scale, yet personal story, and mouth-watering art. This book has just jumped towards the top of my list in terms of most anticipated come next month. Now if you'll excuse me, I think I need to go read this again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Nailbiter #1

May 6, 2014

Overall, Nailbiter #1 is a wonderful start to a fresh new series, I'm eagerly looking forward to the reveal of the rest of the Buckaroo Butchers, and the intriguing mystery that's begun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Rat Queens #6

May 6, 2014

Issue #6 ends with a crazy moment that literally had my mouth drop. It's set up is familiar and you'll sense the creeping dread on the page, but when the reveal happens I expect you'll be just as surprised as I was. I can't wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Swamp Thing (2011) #31

May 8, 2014

Charles Soule and Jesus Saiz are doing something special here by expanding the already rich Swamp Thing mythology. It’s only a matter of time before this run becomes a classic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The New 52: Futures End #1

May 7, 2014

This is the first of 52 issues so it’s really hard to dig deep, and draw out a meaningful conversation about the book just yet, but that being said, I had a hell of a time reading it, and I’ll definitely be back for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The New 52: Futures End #2

May 14, 2014

Futures End from the start seemed to be a fun romp through the DC universe. Something that might not be incredibly thought-provoking, but nonetheless thrilling. Issue #2 is not fun, nor is thrilling. It’s a slog.

View Issue       View Full Review
6
The Wake #8

May 7, 2014

This is an issue for the long game. It’s not entirely satisfying by itself, but it will hopefully be necessary to wrap up the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Uncanny Avengers #19

Apr 23, 2014

F.D. White is a beard with hands. You can follow him on twitter @fdwhite19

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Uncanny Avengers Annual #1

Apr 30, 2014

This is a book that doesn't require any actual reading of the Uncanny Avengers series so I'm recommending this to anyone and everyone. This is something I'd expect from an Indie publisher, not Marvel. This issue is a biting stab at what probably reflects some of their own past, and possibly present, practices.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

July

6th

June

More