Filip Vukcevic's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 16
8.3Avg. Review Rating

8
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #508

Jun 20, 2004

While Ezekiels revelation is somewhat contrived, this issue marks the conclusion of one of the longest planned arcs in the books history. Its not perfect, but it is good enough and a good act for John Romita Jr. to bow out on. Good-bye JRJR, youll be missed!

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #510

Aug 4, 2004

Another interesting twist the Sins Past storyline, however it appears that this entire arc could easily fall into boring and pointless ground. The issue is solid enough and does further the overall plot, however there really isnt anything that would attract the attention of a non-Spidey fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Astonishing X-Men #1

Jun 2, 2004

Are you an X-Men fan? Are you a Whedon fan? Are you a comic fan? Are you alive and breathing? If you answered 'yes' to any of these questions you have to pick up this book, no debates and no maybes. It is a great start to what will no doubt be a landmark X-Men run.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Astonishing X-Men #3

Aug 4, 2004

Another great entry in Whedon and Cassadays blockbuster book. While certain X-Man fans may have some problems with where they think the story is going, Id still recommend this to them as I think they will end up being surprised. As for casual comic book fans, this is an excellent time to jump into the world of the X-Men -- clear, concise, and entertaining. A great story that promises to lead to some big stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Astonishing X-Men #4

Aug 27, 2004

Great stuff all around. Excellent use of pace and mounting tension to convey some nicely compelling scenes. This books got it all, comedy, action, and a mystery that gets larger and larger with each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Conan #5

Jul 3, 2004

From the writing to the art to the respect this title shows towards the history of the character, there really isnt any better way to do a Conan book. If you are at all interested in the character, or just looking for a great adventure, pick this book up. You wont want to put it down.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Conan #6

Aug 4, 2004

Another great installment in one of the most entertaining titles out there. In this issue we get action, excitement, and loss -- if youre a fan of Conan, or simply adventurous storytelling, you should definitely try this book out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Conan #7

Aug 27, 2004

One of the best monthly books out there. It is already starting to cause some waves amongst readers and if Busiek and Nord can keep this up, look for those waves to reach tidal proportions in the future. This issue provides us with a gripping story of revenge, and an interesting peek at the next major arc. Pick this book up, you wont be sorry.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Conan #8

Sep 25, 2004

A great side-story that lets us witness the moment of Conans birth; a bloody, dirty, battle-marked day. This is an excellent issue that begins a six-part arc for the book that serves as a Conan origin story. The only bad part is that we will have to wait months for each new installment -- by Crom, cursed are we!

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Conan And The Daughters Of Midora #1

Oct 12, 2004

A very average book. Decent story, and decent artwork, but I wouldn't recommend it to anybody other than the hardcore Conan fans. Everyone else, stick to the monthly title -- it's significantly better than what we get here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
DC Comics Presents Green Lantern #1

Jul 27, 2004

While I wish theyd just given the whole thing to Azzarello, I am pleased with this issue overall. I would recommend picking it up, if only because it is something you rarely see from a comic book company: respect. It is touching to see that DC is doing its best to honor a man that helped create the company, and the worlds and characters we have all come to know and love. Ellison writes: He was a Living Legend. He told me so himself. And how could I doubt anyone I loved so much?

View Issue       View Full Review
8
DC Comics Presents Superman #1

Aug 8, 2004

This is, if nothing else, a great comic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Identity Crisis #2

Jul 18, 2004

The dialogue is crisp and the pacing quite cinematic. All in all, this series is turning out to be quite the pleasant surprise and I cant wait to see what we get next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Identity Crisis #3

Aug 15, 2004

Overall what Im really enjoying about IDENTITY CRISIS, other than the above-average art and writing, is the varied looks we get into these heroes lives. Personally, I dont know too much about the JLA and their wide assortment of associates and this is sort of like a history lesson and interesting story all in one. This issue isnt as good as the first, and is about on-par with the second. Nevertheless, it is still a very solid installment in this excellent summer event. Bring on issue #4!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Identity Crisis #4

Sep 19, 2004

Overall I would say that this is probably the weakest issue in the mini thus far, but that is still saying a lot. This is a very interesting and well-crafted series and now that were half way through I only hope the latter half of the story will prove to be as engaging as the first half

View Issue       View Full Review
6
Ultimate Spider-Man #62

Jul 13, 2004

An issue that is important solely for its last two pages, this one isnt very spectacular. Especially considering the fact that the first time Gwen died, it was a meaningful and painful death; this one is far too pointless and forgettable. RIP Gwen. See you in the pages of Amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

April

March

More