Garth the Geek's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Bin Reviews: 29
8.7Avg. Review Rating

9.5
All-Star Western #1

Sep 29, 2011

The story thus far is engaging - Palmiotti and Gray deliver, as Ive come to expect from them. The artwork is impressive. And while I rarely look to see whos responsible for the colouring, Gabriel Bautista deserves a special shout out for his amazing palette choices. For a while I was cursing DC for waiting until the final week to release this book. I finally figured out why: they were saving the best for last.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
All-Star Western #2

Oct 28, 2011

With that said, I did have one initial complaint: I wasnt ready for a back-up story. I was having so much fun with Hex and Arkham that I wasnt ready to leave them, or have THEIR story cut short to make space for anothers. Of course, its hard for me to stay mad at a story involving zombies and demons in the Old West, so even my one complaint evaporated. But... is it just me, or did the demon look a lot like Zorro?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
All-Star Western #5

Jan 29, 2012

In short, the issue was adequate, but poor artistic representation - and a few problems with plot - made All Star Western #5 much less enjoyable than it should have been.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-Star Western #10

Jul 2, 2012

I'm going to sum up this review by saying if you enjoy great comics, or if you aspire to write comics, then you should be picking up "All Star Western", because "All Star Western" is a perfect example of what a great comic should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Animal Man #2

Oct 6, 2011

I highly recommend picking this issue up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2011) #1

Sep 28, 2011

In short, Im in awe at how good this comic is, and will be adding it to my pull list without hesitation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aquaman (2011) #2

Oct 26, 2011

Long story short: I dont know how long Johns can keep up this pace, but Ive officially been converted. No longer do I view Aquaman as a joke; he kicks ass, and Im telling anyone who will listen. Hell, I even picked up the second printing of issue one today with the sole purpose of lending it to my friends and saying, Here, read this, and then go buy your own.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2011) #3

Nov 25, 2011

In short, what began as a joke purchase three months ago has turned into my favourite new series. I cant recommend it enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2011) #4

Jan 1, 2012

Honestly, one can't ask for much more from an ongoing series. This is one of the reasons I'm happy to be buying comics again.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2011) #5

Jan 27, 2012

I've said this before, and I'm bound to say it again: 'Aquaman' is everything one could hope for in an on-going series. I can't recommend it enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2011) #6

Feb 29, 2012

As always, I can't recommend this series enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2011) #2

Oct 12, 2011

In short, I love Simones ability to tell stories. I understand she used to be a hair dresser. I have no idea how she was discovered, but have come to the following conclusion: DC should have hired more hair dressers for their reboot.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batgirl (2011) #3

Nov 12, 2011

In other words, this issue is darn good. Ive already read it through twice, and will probably read it one more time before the night is out. If youre looking for a fun, character-driven series, I definitely recommend picking it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batgirl (2011) #4

Dec 17, 2011

In conclusion, if youre looking for a well-written, character-driven story that gives you value for your $2.99, pick up Batgirl #4.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batgirl (2011) #5

Jan 15, 2012

In short, there's a lot going on here. Simone packs a lot of story (and great writing) into her 20 pages. Oh, and Bruce Wayne makes an appearance.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Before Watchmen: Silk Spectre #1

Jun 15, 2012

In short, great artwork is brought down by an average story, and while I WILL return to see what happens next, this decision is based solely on Amanda's involvement rather than any real interest in the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Flash (2011) #1

Sep 29, 2011

Overall, it was a decent first issue with an unfortunately weak ending. The artwork was amazing, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Flash (2011) #2

Oct 29, 2011

Long story short, if I were judging 'The Flash' based on the artwork alone, it would be getting a 10 out of 10. But I'm not. And sadly, no matter how great Manapul's artwork may be, it just can't make up for the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Magic: The Gathering #1

Feb 3, 2012

Overall, unless you're a die-hard Magic fan who NEEDS the card included with the comic, do yourself a favour and buy something else.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mind the Gap #1

May 11, 2012

This was the perfect first issue for Mind the Gap. The story was well-paced and introduced a lot, and needed those 46 pages to do so. And the low price made the comic more enticing to readers, like me, who may have otherwise passed it by. I don't know if the creators spent a lot of time debating this or just wanted to put out a good comic, profits be damned, but hopefully it will pay off for McCann and company. I, for one, will be returning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Pathfinder #1

Aug 15, 2012

But aside from my anal nitpicking, this comic was a lot of fun and I eagerly await issue two. I would highly recommend 'Pathfinder' to anyone who enjoys fantasy, or just a good read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Penguin: Pain and Prejudice #1

Oct 7, 2011

Its the strength of the final five pages that saved this comic for me. They took a story which, until then, had been good but forgettable, and turned it into something much greater.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Queen Crab #1

Mar 22, 2012

Is this book for everyone? No. This isn't exactly the kind of story I'd give my mother to read, and if you're the kind of person who takes offence to sex, nudity or swearing, stay away. But for the rest of you, look for it in your local comic store. If you don't see it, ask for it. For the $12.99 cover price, it's hard to go wrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Spider-Men #4

Aug 10, 2012

Long story short: the marketing attracted my attention, but it's the creative team of Bendis and Pichelli that really pulled me into this comic and I will definitely be coming back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Suicide Squad (2011) #6

Feb 10, 2012

Despite this, I can't stress enough what a pleasant surprise this comic ended up being. It's almost a shame, after issue 7, that I'll probably go back to avoiding it. At least until Harley stops looking like she's trying to promote her straight-to-DVD release, "Clown Whores Gone Wild".

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Guild: Fawkes #1

May 24, 2012

All-in-all, I was pleasantly surprised by the direction this one-shot took. It would have been easy for Day and Wheaton to feed into the "Fawkes is a villain" theme and present a bad guy who does bad things. Someone we all love to hate. Instead, they remembered that Fawkes is a "real" person, and the end result was a great comic that reminded us that all is not as it seems.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Guild: Zabo #1

Jan 1, 2012

In shorter: BRILLIANT.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ultimatum #1

Jan 1, 1970

As always, I cant recommend this series enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2011) #7

Apr 20, 2012

All in all, it was a good first foray into Wonder Woman, and Azzarello and Chiang have intrigued me enough that I will probably return for issue 9.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

October

September

More