HWR's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Anime UK News Reviews: 19
8.1Avg. Review Rating

7
Ms. Koizumi Loves Ramen Noodles #1

Oct 13, 2019

Overall, if you enjoyed the anime adaptation or have a passion for ramen noodles and fun character interactions then Ms. Koizumi might just satisfy your hunger, though I do wonder how much progression the storys premise can bring.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Nicola Traveling Around the Demons World #1

Nov 17, 2019

The first volume of Nicola Traveling Around the Demons Worldprovides an episodic journey through a world I hope to see more of, and offers a fun and engaging read for readers of any age, especially fans of fantasy and magic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Saint Young Men #1

Jan 3, 2020

Read an extract from Saint Young Men Volume 1 at the publisher's website here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Silver Spoon #10

Sep 15, 2019

Overall, Volume 10 is a lot of fun, as is expected for Silver Spoon, and maintains the quality in story and characters established by mangaka Hiromu Arakawa so far. We get some character development for Hachiken and Komaba, get to witness the production and sale of sausages and meet a colourful new character in Shingo's Russian wife Alexandra. I can't wait for Volume 11!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Silver Spoon #11

Dec 16, 2019

Overall,Silver SpoonVolume 11 houses some notable progression for Hachikens post-high school career and delivers typically well-timed laughs but also more serious and poignant discussions, all capped off with some great moments for the supporting cast.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Silver Spoon #12

Feb 4, 2020

Overall, it's satisfying to see the intertwining plots and character traits coming together as Silver Spoon continues to impress, thanks to the tight writing and character progression.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Silver Spoon #13

Feb 28, 2020

Volume 13 also marks the beginning of the end for the series, with only one volume left to review for the time being.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Silver Spoon #14

Aug 14, 2020

To conclude, Silver Spoon Volume 14 is a wonderful continuation to the story with some great humour and emotional highs balanced with the continuing themes of future prospects – both educational and from a job perspective.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Silver Spoon #15

Oct 15, 2020

Overall,Silver Spoonhas had some great development over its final volumes and though the story may now be over for us as readers, its all just begun for this loveable cast of former students.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
The Daily Lives of High School Boys #1

Aug 30, 2020

My overall first impressions of the first volume of The Daily Lives of High School Boys are very positive as it delivers a unique brand of humour which has left me enthusiastic for the next volumes worth of laughs and bizarre scenarios.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tokyo Ghoul: re #12

Oct 1, 2019

Overall, Tokyo Ghoul: re Volume 12 presents an emotional turning point for several of its key players and I found Ishidas storytelling to be as engaging and gripping as ever, though Mutsuki and Auras subplot felt a bit over-the-top in places.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Tokyo Ghoul: re #13

Oct 25, 2019

Overall, Tokyo Ghoul: re Volume 13 builds upon the conflicts and tension that had been building since Kaneki defeated Arima and Furuta became Bureau Chief. Unlike Tokyo Ghoul, wherein Chapter 143 and its poignant ending offered a glimmer of hope, all there is here is a sense of loss and impending devastation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tokyo Ghoul: re #14

Jan 7, 2020

Overall, with just two volumes to go Tokyo Ghoul: re is seeing various forms of change, though will the newly formed alliance be able to save Kaneki in time, or will it all be for naught as V stalk from the shadows?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Tokyo Ghoul: re #15

Mar 2, 2020

Overall, Tokyo Ghoul: re Volume 15 is straightforward yet engaging in its story as Kanekis friends desperately fight to save him from the Dragon, confronting their comrades along the way. The subsequent events and reunions are also emotionally satisfying. With only one volume to go, the end of Tokyo Ghouls story draws nearer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Tokyo Ghoul: re #16

May 29, 2020

To conclude, Volume 16 delivers the finale of Tokyo Ghoul: re with some impressive action and emotional highs, and though the epilogue leaves some questions unanswered and the story features some questionable character reappearances, it does provide a sense of satisfaction finally seeing these characters with genuine happiness in their lives and a genuine sense of hope and progression.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wave, Listen To Me! #1

Jul 24, 2020

Any fans of the anime will want to pick this up too, as mangaka Hiroaki Samuras artwork and characterisation shine through.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wave, Listen To Me! #2

Oct 1, 2020

In summary, Wave, Listen to Me! Volume 2 is a great continuation that continues to focus on Minares personal developments whilst also shining a light on the goings-on for some of the supporting characters and their situations that I hope will see more developments soon!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wave, Listen To Me! #3

Oct 29, 2020

In summary, Wave, Listen to Me! Volume 3 continues to balance out bizarre situations with touching character moments as the ever-flawed yet likeable Minare tries her best to get story inspiration for a new radio play.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Wave, Listen To Me! #4

Nov 28, 2020

In summary, Wave, Listen to Me! Volume 4 builds upon some of the developments found in #3 and sets up events that should be interesting to see play out, hopefully with the unique humour and character weve come to know so far from the series.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

January

December

More