Jake Putnam's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: On Comics Ground Reviews: 17
8.2Avg. Review Rating

9
Hunt For Wolverine #1

May 9, 2018

This issue will whet or appetite of what we have been wanting for a very long time, and at the same time leave you begging for more. I loved every single minute of reading this comic book. The artwork was wonderful and helped to tell the story well. The dialogue was magnificent and built the characters nicely. If you haven't picked it up yet, run to your LCS and pick it and the second issue up as soon as possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
Suicide Squad (2016) #34

Jan 26, 2018

I would rate this book a 7 out of 10 it's not one of the greatest books that I have read but I feel like it has some good merit too it. The art is great, the storyline works really well with the characters. You see a lot of action throughout the entire story, you don't see a whole lot of character development with the key characters of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
Suicide Squad (2016) #35

Feb 20, 2018

I am looking forward to seeing what happens next, but the turn of events that take place throughout the issue was kind of dizzying and I didn't feel really attached to many of the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Suicide Squad (2016) #36

Mar 6, 2018

Hack continues to take control of Belle Reve only now Task Force X are put on trial as Zalika tries to determine who murdered her.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Suicide Squad (2016) #37

Mar 19, 2018

I didn't feel very invested in this chapter of Drain the Swamp. As the storylines conclusion, it was a fun read, I just didn't feel it as much as the previous issues leading up to this comic. It seems like every single issue the team dies, and then somehow is brought back to life and then dies and brought back to life.... over and over and over again. At this point it really feels tiresome.I really wish the comic would start to focus on character development more. Bring more heart into the series, everything feels like its on the surface when they could delve deeper into the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Suicide Squad (2016) #38

Mar 31, 2018

We see the capabilities of The Wall while he is being controlled by Rick Flag, only to have something go awry and have his control being usurped from his hands. We also find out that the team was not incinerated last issue. We do however find out that after the destruction of Belle Reve the team is disbanded and thrown to the four corners of the country. Only at the last minute do we find out that the country needs them more than they know. I love the cliffhanger at the end of this book and makes me yearning for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Teen Titans (2016) #16

Jan 29, 2018

Buy the book, if your any kind of DC fan at all who has ever either loved Starfire at one point or another or loved the Teen Titans in any way shape or form your going to love this inclusion into their mythos.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Teen Titans (2016) #18

Mar 31, 2018

Beast Boy doesn't fully realize what he's gotten himself into, after being seduced to the new online startup company of Nevrland by newcomer Joran he allows himself to be subjected to her newly created mind control device in the form of a small robot named Pixie which is injected into the body through the nose and mouth. While Gar feels like he's having the time of his life he doesn't understand that his new 'friend' only wants to use him for his shape changing abilities to be her personal pet..... so to speak. Hopefully the Teen Titans will have the ability to show Beast Boy the error of his ways before its too late.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Titans (2016) #19

Jan 15, 2018

This issue was amazing from beginning to end, the art was amazing and drew the reader in wonderfully but was only a compliment to the storyline, which was incredible it brought the reader in and helped you feel the world in the eyes of these characters.This book needs to be picked up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Titans (2016) #20

Feb 20, 2018

This is a great book, it brings the reader in completely. With the Titans being all but completely disbanded we still see that there is hope for a future in the team. The teammates are moving on for the time being and we are able to see the lasting repercussions of the mistakes that were made a couple of issues ago. Its definitely worth picking up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Titans (2016) #21

Mar 19, 2018

This book is a great read, clear, concise and makes me feel something while reading the book. Pick it up, you won't regret that you did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Titans (2016) #22

Apr 11, 2018

This is a Great Read, the Story is Great and I Feel Like it Pushes the Story in a Good Direction. I Felt Like if They Included More Members of the Titans and Fewer Members of Justice League it Would've Been a Better Read. But Its Still Worth Picking up. The Art Alone is Worth the Price on the Cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Men: Red (2018) #1

Feb 10, 2018

The world has not been the same without Jean Grey. How will the leaders cope knowing the one they feared the most is back? What will Jean do? Is she the only one to return from the dead?

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Men: Red (2018) #2

Mar 10, 2018

I can't say enough good about this book, if you haven't picked it up, even if you don't typically read an X-men book " You need to grab it. It's well worth the money and time to read it. It's the stuff that will help change the world to be a better place"

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Men: Red (2018) #3

Apr 16, 2018

This Issue is a Continuation of how Amazing this Entire Series has Been from the Beginning. This issue Delves Deeper into Cassandra Nova and the Chaos that she is Going to Bring into the Lives of our Favorite Mutants. We also see the Strength and Magnitude of Power that Trinary has at her Disposal, Gambit is back and Not a Moment too Soon as a New Mutants Life hangs in the Balance. This Comic is Amazing. Each Issue of Xmen Red Continues to Remind me Why I love the X-MenPick Up This Issue, Nuff Said!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
X-Men: Red (2018) #4

Jun 4, 2018

This issue was kind of a slow read. It wasn't bad though, we saw some great emotional moments between our characters and it is a great addition to the story arc we are currently facing. This series is turning into one of the best X-men series I have read in a decade. Pick up the issue. In fact do what I have done and get all four issues of the series from your local comic shop, don't forget X-Men Red Annual #1 is out now too! Pick them up!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
X-Men: Red (2018) Annual #1

Jun 4, 2018

This is a great addition to the X-Men Red storyline. I have loved seeing the development of Jean after her resurrection and this entire issue is devoted to her solely. I love how it has been able to touch on the heart of the character as well as express the woman that she hopes to be from this point forward. Great art, great story, GREAT COMIC!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

August

4th

July

More