Jeff Daily's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Nation Of Nerds Reviews: 10
7.7Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Batman (2016) #26

Jul 6, 2017

Ultimately, Mikal Janin's art is the reason to add this book to your pull. Previous arcs of this run have featured good and, at times, great art. Janin's work is better than that. With King's sometimes melodramatic Bat-narration and leisurely pacing, the art compels the eye to keep investigating and following along. The greatest rogues gallery in comics looks evil in the best possible sense.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman (2016) #27

Jul 19, 2017

The next Bat-chapter in the "The War of Jokes and Riddles" has arrived and it's an INTERLUDE??!?! Writer Tom King's Bat-opus is divisive with fans, to say the least, and this side story, "The Ballad of Kite Man, Part One" is unlikely to convert the disgruntled. I'm hanging on because for whatever twisted reason, I'm not hating this civil war...yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batman (2016) #28

Aug 2, 2017

Finally, for the first time in this story, Batman plays a substantive role. Catwoman too, making only a slightly shoehorned addendum to the tale, partially answers why Bruce might be telling Selina this story in the first place. "The War of Jokes and Riddles" continues to be a middle-of-the-road read for me, some good, some "meh" moments, all while featuring fantastic art from Mikel Janin.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batman (2016) #29

Aug 16, 2017

Finally, with last week's Mister Miracle #1 I'm personally over King's Batman and would love a new voice in the storytelling department. The art continues to be the main draw in the series as Janin is top notch, but the tale being forced upon us and characterization of Batman has become tedious beyond belief.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Redneck #5

Aug 23, 2017

Blood, gore, and FAMILY! A great series that is as much fun as it is smart.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wild Storm #6

Jul 19, 2017

Forecasters this week are calling for potentially dangerous weather ahead of 2017's sixth Wild Storm installment. Warren Ellis' re-imagining of the WildStorm universe continues his one of a kind storytelling and complex conspiracy-techno-sci-fi story that, for me, usually raises more questions than it answers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #26

Jul 12, 2017

"Heart of the Amazon" part one is a great start to a fresh arc, with wonderful art, emotion, fun, and dangerous adventures ahead. The new creative team on Wonder Woman have big shoes to fill following the last run, but if they keep this pace, I think we will all enjoy the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Wonder Woman (2016) #27

Jul 26, 2017

This is an energetic second chapter that moves the story along while always showing the dangers lurking and plotting against Diana. This arc has all the vibes of a superhero cartoon show, perfect for after school orSaturdaymorning (remember when that was a thing?). I love the pacing and characterizations Shea Fontana has written for Wonder Woman.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Wonder Woman (2016) #28

Aug 16, 2017

Shea Fontana seems to be aware of how her time as Diana's scribe is meant to be spent. This story will not live on top ten lists of the best Wonder Woman tales of all time, but it doesn't need to do that in order to be an enjoyable read. As "all ages" as this comic kind of started, I find myself happily reading each installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #29

Aug 30, 2017

Wonder Woman #29 is a conspiracy theory wrapped in a superpowered goddess. My chief complaint is with the "almost too easy" bit of plotting out a massive conspiracy. The art is probably the best out of this story's arc thus far. I loved the fight scenes and character interactions.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

September

August

More