Jim Miers's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics Bulletin Reviews: 9
8.1Avg. Review Rating

8
Big Max Comics #1

Apr 3, 2006

I would certainly buy this for my kids, and I would certainly watch it if they made a cartoon out of it, and I would buy a CD-based version of the comic, and I might buy the TPB if/when one becomes available, but I dont think I would buy this title for myself. Thats not to say its not a well-written and illustrated comic, but Ive got a pretty specific palette for my comic-buying dollars.

View Issue       View Full Review
7
G.I. Joe vs. Transformers: The Art of War #1

Apr 14, 2006

The artwork is very G.I. Joe Sigma 6-ish. Thats not to say that its bad or poor, quite the contrary. Even though Im not into the anime/manga-esque style of artwork, this worked out well. I wont give this issue anything higher than a because it really hasnt hooked me, but Ill have to say that I hope we see more of the Omega Red-inspired hand tentacles of our villain. As a last thought, I dont understand why a US military scientist would design armor that looked the way it did, but youll know it when you see it

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Hatter M: The Looking Glass Wars #4

Nov 21, 2006

Bravo to Beddor who has been able to craft one of the most interesting and creative universes Ive seen in a LOOONG time. I cant wait to see more!

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Jim Reaper: Week One #1

May 16, 2006

Very funny Marvel "Bullpen Bits" with a little bit of Gary Larsons Far Side and Dilbert, and youve got Jim Reaper. Im not going to rush out and buy the adventures of Jim Reaper in comic form because the format and story length is more for a newspaper comic strip or a daily email from the publisher, but I would probably check back on the publishers website for updates.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (1987) #205

Jun 15, 2004

An interesting twist at the end of the issue foreshadows trouble a-brewing

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Superman (1987) #217

May 23, 2005

We do however find that the Fortress of Solitude has been rebuilt to resemble ancient Mayan or Aztec pyramids. Also, I will say the interaction between two lovers who havent seen each other for awhile but also have to keep it a secret from Jimmy is pretty funny, especially the whole is my cape on right visual!

View Issue       View Full Review
7
The Venger: Dead Man Rising #1

Jun 24, 2005

Lets see what Ronin Studios has in store for us next ish.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Whisper #1

Nov 30, 2006

The artwork is sufficiently dark and moody for the rainy and introverted mood of the tale. The introspection adds to the character development and setting the mood. I do believe that the storyline and character are well on their way to becoming a 3-dimensional and multi-faceted character that deems further watching.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Wolverine (2003) #62

Feb 19, 2008

All in all, this issue provides a glimpse into the twisted and self-centered world that Raven has been in for the past century or more. She performs acts of terrorism and mass murder; She commits out-right personal murder, and she weaves a web of deceit boxing Wolverine into a corner hell have to fight his way out of. Wolverine is going to have a very tough time getting Mystique, especially in nine hours

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

September

More