John Aguilera's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders Reviews: 9
7.9Avg. Review Rating

10
Batman (2016) #52

Aug 1, 2018

Tom King has crafted an incredible story. The visuals by Weeks and Breitweiser are masterful. Every part of this book is top-notch and I cannot wait to see where this goes. This is an absolute must-read for any fan of Batman or comics in general. 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Hops #1

Aug 6, 2018

This book is pure heart from start to finish. The ability to create such an incredibly entertaining and honest story out of such an objectively ridiculous premise is mind-blowing. This is a book anyone can, and should enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8
Farmhand #2

Aug 8, 2018

The artwork by Guillory is, well, Guillory. If you read Chew, you know what you're getting. It worked for those books, and it works here too. The colors by Taylor Wells are well done. I particularly enjoy the strange purple and red hues he gives the graft plants. It's unsettling and perfect. Farmhand is shaping up to be a really fun series, check it out. 4 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Kick-Ass (2018) #6

Jul 24, 2018

I'm in love with Patience Lee and once you check out this series, you will be too. Put down whatever you're doing and go get this right now. 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Man of Steel (2018) #6

Jul 11, 2018

Whether you love Superman, or just action comics, this book is for you!

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Medieval Spawn / Witchblade (2018) #3

Jul 9, 2018

The artwork is gritty and superb. Haberlin and Geirrod VanDyke managed to capture the 90's spirit of McFarlane Spawn, while adding an extra layer of almost Frazetta-like visuals. I could very easily see this iteration of Spawn take on the classic "death dealer" pose and pull it off magnificently. It's an action-packed, visually appealing treat that I highly recommend. 4.5 out of 5!

View Issue       View Full Review
1
Rise of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #0

Jul 18, 2018

How IDW keeps getting the licenses to beloved franchises after books like this is baffling. If you love the turtles, do yourself a favor and read literally anything else. If you love calarts and word salad, by all means enjoy. This gets a .5 because I love the turtles. .5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9
Spider-Man/Deadpool #36

Jul 23, 2018

Overall it was a fun story, with lots of action and humour. This is the kind of output I expect from Marvel. Looking forward to more Spidey and Deadpool.

View Issue       View Full Review
5
The Curse of Brimstone #4

Jul 17, 2018

It's a dark book for a dark series. It's fun in some parts, but otherwise, it's a bit of a slog and will leave you with way more questions than answers.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for the Week of...

December

November

More